PDA

View Full Version : Trouble hosting a game over in game IP connection

judgerw
03-20-2007, 08:14 PM
Hey all. I'm brand new to trying this, but I've trolled these boards over the last couple days to try and figure it out.

I'm trying to host a game through the in game Multiplay option. I've got port 21000 persitently forwarded, I've got the Windows firewall down, I've got anti-virus off. The guy I'm trying to play with is still unable to connect to me to play a game.

We tried through Hyperlobby also, and he can't connect to me if I'm hosting a game there either. We can play together on a server in Hyperlobby, but I'd rather play with just the two of us (at least for a while).

When I host the server I give him my external IP address (the one I get from whatismyip.com), I start the server, load the mission, choose an aircraft, and hit "Fly" (the first time). I've then waited there and looked for his name to show up in the player list. He tries to connect using my IP followed by the :21000 and just times out. We've tried without the :21000 as well, still with no luck. So, I'm stuck.

I'm using a Microsoft MN700 wireless router. Any ideas?

hshmulik
03-21-2007, 08:28 AM
Had a similar problem with a different router/firewll box. Since I couldn't get it to do static forwarding, a friend suggested that I configure the router to put the hosting PC on the DMZ - this is the only way I managed to succeed. Only thing is, when you're in the DMZ, your PC is protected only by the Windows firewall. Not sure how safe that is.

Also, for IP forwarding, you must use a static IP address, and not the one you're getting from the router's DHCP.

judgerw
03-21-2007, 08:46 AM