PDA

View Full Version : newbie....trying to learn all this



smokestack1947
04-14-2007, 05:59 AM
wow!!! after all the problems i had starting 1946 and getting everything to work, i am just now starting on zeus-cat's training campaigns. it's gonna take me close to FOREVER to learn how to land. i cannot keep on a straight course long enough to land. i have a saitek st290 pro stick. any help will be greatly appreciated. thx to EVERYBODY for all the help http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

-HH-Quazi
04-14-2007, 06:36 AM
Learn how to trim your rudder using the keyboard if you do not have a pot on your stick that you can dedicate to rudder trim. Lean how to trim your elevator also. Trimming your rudder will help you fly straighter while on approach.

I believe I have a little bit of time today. If you have no problems connecting to a TeamSpeak server and you have a headset & mic that works just fine, we can hook up & I can maybe lessen the learning curve a bit. At this moment, my free time depends on what my wife wants to get into today. If it is baking & cooking, I will be free to work with you some.

It's easier going one on one with someone rather than trying to type information & instructions. At least it is for me.

But someone else will be along here and may help get you straightened out enough to land allot easier before then.

DooDaH2007
04-14-2007, 08:56 AM
Whatever you do, DO NOT GIVE UP..!

I went from not beeing able to land, to landing 4 consecutive times the next day, to 16 consecutive landings the day after... I did nothing else but practise, practise, practise landing...

After that came landing on an aircraft carrier...

It's a rather steep learning curve, but once you land your bird for the first time... joy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I suggest you take -HH-Quazi up on his kind offer to help you learn 1 on 1...

-HH-Quazi
04-14-2007, 12:28 PM
Hey SmokeStack. Looks like the wife is in the mood for baking & cooking so I do have some time this afternoon. I am not going to force the issue. So if you are interested send me a PM & I will give you the TeamSpeak connection information so we can hook up in real time.

Bearcat99
04-15-2007, 01:39 PM
Originally posted by smokestack1947:
wow!!! after all the problems i had starting 1946 and getting everything to work, i am just now starting on zeus-cat's training campaigns. it's gonna take me close to FOREVER to learn how to land. i cannot keep on a straight course long enough to land. i have a saitek st290 pro stick. any help will be greatly appreciated. thx to EVERYBODY for all the help http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Practice Smokey.... thats what it takes. I also recommend that you upgrade your stick. Dont get me wriong the ST 90 is an OK stick.. but you need something with more controls on it to really do this sim justice. Make sure you have rudder trim mapped if nothing else... thern male sure that as you fly you have the ball centered.... the ball is that little dot that rolls left & right (in some planes it is a needle) when you turn. It needs to be centered at all times and your trim will be effected by your throttle settings...

Crash_Moses
04-15-2007, 01:55 PM
And you might want to look into some rudder pedals to go along with that there rudder trim. I could never get the hang of using the keyboard keys for my rudder...

S!

VR_Swampy
04-15-2007, 02:29 PM
quote:
And you might want to look into some rudder pedals to go along with that there rudder trim



As he said, you really need rudder pedals to go with your joystick, or you need a new joystick with a twist handle to use as the rudder. Pedals are the best, but also the most expensive.

Joining a squad (hint, hint) could also make a big difference, as flying with others is the fastest way to learn and have fun.

smokestack1947
04-15-2007, 06:41 PM
whew!! thanks to all of that responded. -HH-QUAZI, having just started with all this, i do have a mike, but no headphones, and i am like you, some days i don't have very much time, depending on the wife. as soon as i get a headset with a mike, i will take u up on your offer. thank you very much. also to "BEARCAT". i have a ST 290 PRO stick, and it DOES have a twist handle for rudder control.

grifter2u
04-16-2007, 02:05 AM
you dont really need the headset, just the mic is enough (if you set it for "push to talk")

the other persons voice will be heard via your pc speakers with the plane noises, works fine.

smokestack1947
04-16-2007, 05:33 PM
swampy, i'm not real sure if anybody would take a brain dead rookie like me to get in everybody's way, but thx for the suggestion

VR_Swampy
04-16-2007, 06:58 PM
Smokestack, all the posts above should tell you just how wrong you are on that count... Maybe not every squad wants to deal with a newbie, but most would gladly take you. Most anyone will tell you that being in a squad greatly increases the fun you'll have flying online, and it really is the best way to learn.

http://www.vultures-row.com/

Crash_Moses
04-16-2007, 08:23 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

We were all (still are?) brain dead rookies at one time! And squadrons are always looking for new members.

In fact, many of the servers on Hyperlobby are hosted by squadrons. Most...if not all...are happy to let rookies fly around and ask lots of questions. Make's 'em feel good. They get all tingly inside...

So you can try before you buy. When you find one that suits your tastes...join up!

The only caveat is the time requirement (meetings, training, events, etc.)

I highly recommend the PacificConflict server hosted by AG-51 (www.airgroup51.com).

S!

-HH-Quazi
04-17-2007, 01:33 AM
Whether you get into a squad or not, sign up for this Junes Joint-Ops Basic Flight School at www.joint-ops.com (http://www.joint-ops.com) I help teach the BFS classes along with several other m8s that are all about helping a m8 learn how to fly and play this sim. Actually there are several m8s here that are involved with JO in one form or another. BFS is designed to take a m8 that has never flown a flight sim before in his life through the basics. We just had one go through BFS this time around. Only had the sim for a couple weeks before he started BFS classes. He has come along way. He can actually land his ac now. And he has shot down a couple of Bf-109's in the A6M2 1940 Zero. Just a thought. Just another way to get online and get the help you need to lessen the learning curve of this sim.

TC_Stele
04-17-2007, 12:08 PM
A little off topic, but I'm glad to see a bunch of new pilots coming to this sim, since IL21946 was released. All I can keep saying is practice, practice, practice. It took me close to 3 months to flying decently. If I was in a squad it might have been sooner.

smokestack1947
04-19-2007, 02:17 PM
-HH-QUAZI, i just completed my registration form for the Basic Flight School. wait and see what happens. in the mean time, i will be practicing as much as i can...thx

M2morris
04-19-2007, 04:24 PM
Crawl, walk, run.
I'm still walking.

-HH-Quazi
04-19-2007, 11:04 PM
Originally posted by smokestack1947:
-HH-QUAZI, i just completed my registration form for the Basic Flight School. wait and see what happens. in the mean time, i will be practicing as much as i can...thx Glad to hear it m8. Yes, and in the meantime, you keep practicing.

Dumbo_AK32nd
04-20-2007, 06:38 PM
Originally posted by Crash_Moses:
And you might want to look into some rudder pedals...

Yes, rudder pedals are an absolute MUST in this sim...for landings AND take-offs!

And TrackIR...mustn't forget that! (Check it out here (http://www.naturalpoint.com)). Not only does this nifty little device improve your immersion 100%, it also improves your kill ratio and makes running the race-track pattern in a carrier landing a helluva lot easier.

Welcome to the greatest sim of all time as well as the greatest excuse for hardware upgrades every invented http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif.

This is a great community...everybody here was new once, too...just like you!

smokestack1947
04-20-2007, 07:20 PM
practice...practice...practice. whew! ican safetly say that it is paying off. at least i can land on grass now. WHEWWWWWW!!!!! another nube question, plz. right in the middle of flying, the game will mimimize to the task bar. what's up with that. THX AGAIN to all that have helped me. what a community 1946 ha http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Dumbo_AK32nd
04-20-2007, 08:40 PM
Originally posted by smokestack1947:
another nube question, plz. right in the middle of flying, the game will mimimize to the task bar. what's up with that.

Hmmmmm...that's definitely NOT a newbie question...that's a problem, I'm afraid. That's never happened to me in the the three years I've been flying this sim. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

-HH-Quazi
04-20-2007, 11:10 PM
It happens when something in Windows is working. For example, if my anti-virus program decides to update itself while I am in game, the game will minimize and will go to the desktop. That is one reason why most everyone here make sure they are only running what needs to run while in game. The other reason m8s like to shut down un-needed processes & services while they are gaming is because these processes & services take resources(memory) to run and this takes away memory that could be used for the sim while you are playing it. Before you crank the game up, look down in the task bar beside the clock and shut down the programs that do not need to run by right clicking on the icon and selecting "Quit" or "Exit". That is a start. There are other processes that are running that do not show up in the task bar. BlackViper had a web site that explained what processes are safe to turn off and how to go about doing that. Not sure if it is still around or not.

Yea, it is:

http://www.blackviper.com/

Take a look on that site and see what processes & services are safe to turn off.

smokestack1947
04-21-2007, 06:27 AM
almost forgot to add to my small problem: when it goes to the taskbar, i can left click on it and it does restart where it left off....thx to all

smokestack1947
04-21-2007, 06:32 AM
_HH_QUAZI, I checked out the "black viper.com" site and found some really helpful info. thx again to u for ALL your help

-HH-Quazi
04-21-2007, 10:45 PM
Yes sir. Glad to be of assistance.

Rammathorn_
04-21-2007, 11:37 PM
Rudder control is very important for staying centered as well as making heading adjustments at the end of the landing. I personally have rudder pedals, but find them only a little better than a twist stick, which I highly recommend.

Zeus-cat
04-23-2007, 06:20 PM
A big mistake a lot of rookies make is trying to force the plane to do something when they would be better off letting the plane fly itself. I mention this in the campaign.

I gave my copy of PF to a friend of mine. I watched him throw the plane all over the sky in an attempt to land. He reacted to a slight turn in the wrong direction with a violent turn in the other direction. He then threw the plane violently back the other way. Again and again he threw the plane around. I kept saying stop, the plane practically flies itself when properly trimmed. Gentle, steady inputs will correct your flight path.

To trim your aircraft:
Get your plane in the air. Center the joystick. Put your throttle at 70% or so. Now let go of the joystick. The plane should stay on course, not climbing, diving or turning (at least not very much). If it is not staying on course, then check the joystick to make sure it is centered. If it is centered, adjust the trim until the plane stays on course.

NOTE 1: Make sure the trim adjustment is working the way you expect. I have actually set the trim up backwards on a few occasions (oops!).

NOTE 2: Give the trim time to work. It takes a few seconds on most planes for the trim tabs to react. It is NOT instantaneous.

smokestack1947
04-24-2007, 08:10 PM
HELP!!!! Zeus-Cat. i have had your "straight from the farm" training folder installed for almost 2 weeks and have been practicing, at least, 1-1 1/2 hours daily. now, today, all the takeoff missions start already in the air, both from grass and carrier deck. HELP!!!! PLZ!!!! thx from a bottom of a newbie's heart. almost forgot.....downloaded hyperlobby client and installed it, but cannot find any usegroups..only forams..thx again

DooDaH2007
04-26-2007, 08:38 AM
Originally posted by smokestack1947:
HELP!!!! Zeus-Cat. i have had your "straight from the farm" training folder installed for almost 2 weeks and have been practicing, at least, 1-1 1/2 hours daily. now, today, all the takeoff missions start already in the air, both from grass and carrier deck. HELP!!!! PLZ!!!! thx from a bottom of a newbie's heart.

Sounds like you have disabled "takeoffs and landings" in the difficulty options somewhere down the line...
Turning it back on will fix that...


And I am not sure what you mean with the hyperlobby question...

I do know that, in hyperlobby, you have to choose "forgotten battles" as the game and point it to your 1946 il2fb.exe file...
(that is, if you have 1946)

Zeus-cat
04-26-2007, 03:52 PM
DooDaH2007 is correct. You have turned off Takeoffs and Landings.

smokestack1947
04-27-2007, 05:02 AM
to Doo-Dah & Zeus-cat, yes, that's what i did. corrected the problem and everything is bad to normal. ready for lots more practicing. thanks to both of u. also, when i log in to Hyper-lobby, i cannot go to a usesite or chatroom. there is no option to do anything other than check out the forums. i downloaded and installed the 3.o pro version. thx again

DooDaH2007
04-27-2007, 08:57 AM
also, when i log in to Hyper-lobby, i cannot go to a usesite or chatroom. there is no option to do anything other than check out the forums. i downloaded and installed the 3.o pro version. thx again


Well, after I logged in, chose forgotten battles as the game and pointed it to my il2fb.exe, I see a big list of servernames to the left...

clicking on any such server will bring up a screen with the settings and players on that server...
On the left/bottom of that screen, I can press a 'join game' button and my game loads up into that server...

If this doesn't answer a question or gets you playing, then again I did not understand the question...

smokestack1947
04-27-2007, 12:07 PM
DooDaH, your explanation was PERFECT! however, it will NOT let me choose a game to go into. it does give me a list of surported mgames at the right, but i cannot click on any of them. oh well, maybe one of these days. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif thx very much

smokestack1947
04-27-2007, 12:24 PM
DooDaH, i went into program files in my comp and found the correct file for the game. made a desktop shortcut and it definitely works...many thx again

DooDaH2007
04-27-2007, 01:06 PM
Originally posted by smokestack1947:
DooDaH, i went into program files in my comp and found the correct file for the game. made a desktop shortcut and it definitely works...many thx again

Cool http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

See you between the clouds http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

M2morris
04-27-2007, 03:24 PM
Originally posted by Bearcat99:
QUOTE]

Practice Smokey.... thats what it takes.

Thats right baby, and don't ever quit, this place is not-for quiters.
Crawl, walk, run.


It's not like I am at the "run" stage myself, maybe jogging. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif