PDA

View Full Version : Bare essentials for online flying

XyZspineZyX
06-05-2006, 09:28 AM
Ok

I have began the online experience, now this is what I currently use to fly with.

Basic non twist joystick
Keyboard for rudder, coms ect
Mouse for looking around.

I am going to buy a comlink set up so I can teamspeak, do I need to get a sound card? How much more effective is it flying with a twist joystick as opposed to with out?

Dont discuss rudder pedals, not an option
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Capt.LoneRanger
06-05-2006, 09:49 AM
A rudder is not needed, but recommended. When I started playing online I had 2 Joysticks plugged in: One for flying, with multiple programmable buttons (A CH Fighterstick) and the second, a very simple 2axis 2 button stick. I fixed it on the table and used the vertical axis for throttle, the other for rudder. As odd as it may sound, but this rudder was the most precise I ever had.

A headset is definitely recommended, but you usually don't have to buy an extra soundcard to use it. If you play with sound, you allready have plugs for headset and micro somewhere - that is perfectly enough for a starter.

Teamspeak is the most common tool for communications, but be sure to download Teamspeak-Overlay (TSO) from here: http://www.teamspeakoverlay.com/

Set up is easy, you just have to enter the nickname you use in Teamspeak. The tool will then automatically check what channel you're in and will display the speakers into the game. Very helpfull and recommended for starters and pros. (You can also display time, FPS, etc) - works with most games, btw.

If you stick with it and find it worth investing some money, I recommend a programmable Stick + Throttle, maybe some rudder-solution (X45 and X54 have rudder-levers).

For complete immersion I recommend TrackIR - it senses your head movements and moves the view in the game accordingly (what you do with your mouse now)

LEBillfish
06-05-2006, 11:16 AM