PDA

View Full Version : tech stuff

krsinex
11-19-2003, 11:14 PM
Ok, so I am a newbie after all. I need to upgrade my Ram, I only have 64 MB, talk about a slow computer to get through these worlds.

So, my question, what is the best brand to buy for my older computer?

Bought it in '99, has 9.51 GB drive, 2.6 left open after URU. Pentium 3 processor. Gateway Essentials.

Thanks in advance.

krsinex
11-19-2003, 11:14 PM
Ok, so I am a newbie after all. I need to upgrade my Ram, I only have 64 MB, talk about a slow computer to get through these worlds.

So, my question, what is the best brand to buy for my older computer?

Bought it in '99, has 9.51 GB drive, 2.6 left open after URU. Pentium 3 processor. Gateway Essentials.

Thanks in advance.

Kwartha
11-19-2003, 11:33 PM
http://www.crucial.com

The above site is the best place to go for ram upgrades. They have a very easy selection tool that suggests what type of ram is suited to your motherboard, and their ram is top quality. Unless you can order an upgrade straight from the manufacturer of your computer, or through a local store (which will install and test it for you), I would buy from Crucial.

Kawartha

krsinex
11-20-2003, 12:28 AM
Thanks so much, Kawartha. I checked it out and it is an easy to use site. I wonder, is ram easy to install?? I just installed my first video card upgrade this week, so I am pretty new to this.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Kawartha:
http://www.crucial.com

The above site is the best place to go for ram upgrades. They have a very easy selection tool that suggests what type of ram is suited to your motherboard, and their ram is top quality. Unless you can order an upgrade straight from the manufacturer of your computer, or through a local store (which will install and test it for you), I would buy from Crucial.

Kawartha<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

maztec
11-20-2003, 12:32 AM