PDA

View Full Version : I have a Conning Tower?????



Forbidden1
03-26-2005, 01:46 PM
After a week and a half of gameplay I found I have a conning tower. Only one mention of it in the manual under "moving around the U boat". It's there mostly for effect I guess. Does anyone use it during battles? I eat my meals there now, it's not as crowed as the other parts of my sub. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Forbidden1
03-26-2005, 01:46 PM
After a week and a half of gameplay I found I have a conning tower. Only one mention of it in the manual under "moving around the U boat". It's there mostly for effect I guess. Does anyone use it during battles? I eat my meals there now, it's not as crowed as the other parts of my sub. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

u2336
03-26-2005, 01:54 PM
good morning ! Breakfast in the bed sir ?

u2336
03-26-2005, 01:54 PM
good morning ! Breakfast in the bed sir ?

blue_76
03-26-2005, 02:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Forbidden1:
After a week and a half of gameplay I found I have a conning tower. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

blue_76
03-26-2005, 02:02 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Forbidden1:
After a week and a half of gameplay I found I have a conning tower. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

quillan
03-26-2005, 02:09 PM
I use it sometimes, because it's got one of two sets of manual toggle switches for the torpedo tube doors. I can glance at the switch bank and immediately tell which doors are open and which are closed. The other is at the weapons officer's station, and you have to have an officer in that spot to access them.

quillan
03-26-2005, 02:09 PM
I use it sometimes, because it's got one of two sets of manual toggle switches for the torpedo tube doors. I can glance at the switch bank and immediately tell which doors are open and which are closed. The other is at the weapons officer's station, and you have to have an officer in that spot to access them.

S VIIC_41
03-26-2005, 02:15 PM
What IS the point of being able to open and close a torpedo tube door? I mean, since it automatically opens when you need to fire a torpedo from it...

S VIIC_41
03-26-2005, 02:15 PM
What IS the point of being able to open and close a torpedo tube door? I mean, since it automatically opens when you need to fire a torpedo from it...

CaptainRadish
03-26-2005, 02:30 PM
So you can fire them fish faster!!!!!


Kind of like quick drawing your XXI.

CaptainRadish
03-26-2005, 02:30 PM
So you can fire them fish faster!!!!!


Kind of like quick drawing your XXI.

WolfK33
03-26-2005, 02:30 PM
Opening the doors takes a few seconds,so if you don´t open them before firing your fish your shot will be less accurate, often missing behind your target. Took me a while to find out.

Also, if you open doors with the q-key,move on to the next tube and open that too with the q-key, the other one will be closed again, by using the switches they stay open. Good for "rapid fire"...

WolfK33
03-26-2005, 02:30 PM
Opening the doors takes a few seconds,so if you don´t open them before firing your fish your shot will be less accurate, often missing behind your target. Took me a while to find out.

Also, if you open doors with the q-key,move on to the next tube and open that too with the q-key, the other one will be closed again, by using the switches they stay open. Good for "rapid fire"...

panthercules
03-26-2005, 02:43 PM
Cool - just started trying out the manual TDC stuff after my first couple of missions using auto settings - been wondering what the point of going into the coning tower might be - thanks for the info - can't wait to try out opening the tube doors - One Q though - after you fire, do you have to go manually close the doors again so you don't flood the torpedo rooms when your crew tries to reload the torps?

Now - can anybody tell me what the point of the "Captain's bed" might be? I can lie down or get out, but there doesn't seem to be anything else that works in there - whatever happened to the weather chart (calendar with moon phases and rise/set times) and logs you used to be able to check from your captain's room in SH-2, IIRC?

panthercules
03-26-2005, 02:43 PM
Cool - just started trying out the manual TDC stuff after my first couple of missions using auto settings - been wondering what the point of going into the coning tower might be - thanks for the info - can't wait to try out opening the tube doors - One Q though - after you fire, do you have to go manually close the doors again so you don't flood the torpedo rooms when your crew tries to reload the torps?

Now - can anybody tell me what the point of the "Captain's bed" might be? I can lie down or get out, but there doesn't seem to be anything else that works in there - whatever happened to the weather chart (calendar with moon phases and rise/set times) and logs you used to be able to check from your captain's room in SH-2, IIRC?

WolfK33
03-26-2005, 02:55 PM
The doors are beeing closed automatically after firing.
Also, when you open them using using the switches after some time they are sometimes closed again. I already threatened my Weapons Officer with a court martial for doing that,but he doesn´t seem to care. So, if you open the doors while nearing a convoy or contact to be ready for a quick shot you should check the switches again quickly before shooting if you have the time,as you unfortunately aren´t informed of them beeing closed again.

About the Captain´s bed, I´ve wondered myself, clicked everywhere in there but found nothing.
So I suppose it´s a gimmick for extreme-realism-freaks who play patrols in real-time, so they don´t have to sleep in the control-room or on the NO´s map http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

WolfK33
03-26-2005, 02:55 PM
The doors are beeing closed automatically after firing.
Also, when you open them using using the switches after some time they are sometimes closed again. I already threatened my Weapons Officer with a court martial for doing that,but he doesn´t seem to care. So, if you open the doors while nearing a convoy or contact to be ready for a quick shot you should check the switches again quickly before shooting if you have the time,as you unfortunately aren´t informed of them beeing closed again.

About the Captain´s bed, I´ve wondered myself, clicked everywhere in there but found nothing.
So I suppose it´s a gimmick for extreme-realism-freaks who play patrols in real-time, so they don´t have to sleep in the control-room or on the NO´s map http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif