PDA

View Full Version : Some questions on cockpit flying, gunnery practice, and online

rettungferris
11-19-2009, 03:01 AM
I'm new to IL-2. So far I can land. Take off. Working on carrier landings w/ the wildcat.

Thanks to bearcat / skycat for that huge thread. I read that for a week and got on HL, and flying about in IL-2.

Also I fly with all real flight effects checked, because bearcat said its the best way.

Some questions:

Whats the best way to practice gunnery? Any tips? I got my convergence worked out (150 machine guns, 300 wing cannons, 400 m nose anything)

I usually go FMV and go 1 vs 1 ace AI zero or rata's because they manuever so well.

Or I put 16 ratas on empty, go unlimited ammo and and try to hit them (by using bursts, not waterhose).

The no cockpit view is weird. It's like True™ MAX (like Ruben H ) but I crash if ground pounding, takeoff, or landing. The carrier ops are funny. Wrapping myself around the island . . .

However I do notice you can time, track, and gun things down easier but the crashing when I'm around 300 meters off the ground, take off or landing . . . and losing orientation of position in night missions isn't worth it.

Also online I tend to ram opposing fighters, or clip them because depth perception is zero with no cockpit frames. I wish ramming wasn't a kickable offense, I mean I died and so did they, so its no big deal.

I don't like padlocking because the view sticks and then I'm flying at some weird angle or kissing the floor.

So I'm flying cockpit with externals. Any tips to keep track of fighter planes? I bombers and transports are fairly easy. But fighter planes slip in and out of view and I can't see, and we all know what happens after that.

Also any advice for lead and deflection? (in full cockpit) In some planes, such as the FW 190, its hard to track shots, and flying upside down is hard since its easier to pull up than push down.