PDA

View Full Version : Any PPC or ultralight pilots in here?

slappedsilly
10-05-2006, 04:08 PM
Does anyone in here fly any ultralights? Fixed wing, ppc's, trikes?

p-11.cAce
10-05-2006, 06:01 PM
I was a hang gliding instructor for two years http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif I've got a few hours in trikes and 20 or so in a Moyes Dragonfly (ultralight tow plane). Do you fly or just interested in giving it a go?

slappedsilly
10-05-2006, 06:40 PM
I fly a ppc. Its a Destiny 2 seater. I've flown for about 4 years. I dont get to fly near as much as I'd like, but I'll take what I can get. I'm struggling with the Sport Pilot rules and wonder if I had any company hear. (I'm in the United States.) The rules will force me to pay about $1000 to learn how to fly what I have flown for 4 years. It's really got me bummed.

p-11.cAce
10-05-2006, 07:05 PM
I always thought PPC's looked like a lot of fun...how wind limited are they really? Can you fly in any wind at all? What is it like flying in mid-day conditions? Have you ever had or know of anyone who had issues with partial collapses or other difficulties during flights? Most people think flying HG is crazy but they are truly some of the safest aircraft as fas as I'm concerned. I think the paraglider guys are nuts though http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Philipscdrw
10-05-2006, 07:11 PM
I fly gliders. One of the challenges facing my club is to convince the freshers that gliding is not hang-gliding, paragliding, microlights... they are the rock-climbing, we are the hill-walkers!

slappedsilly
10-05-2006, 09:10 PM
P-11, ppc's can't fly in wind very well. About 15 mph is max. Someone could push it a little more, but the fun stops at about 8 mph IMO. I've flown in about 12 mph and its nothing but work, correcting constanly. I fly in the late afternoon.