PDA

View Full Version : ti4600: graphic problem (solved)



antifreeze
01-09-2005, 10:57 AM
90% of the time since I installed Pacific Fighters, for the first one or two minutes of each mission, I have the 'pattern' shown below 'overlayed' onto the rest of the graphics. It is 'static', so when my viewpoint changes (Eg. external views) the landscape scrolls by, but the pattern remains where it is.
After a couple of minutes, the graphics suddenly return to normal.

Has anyone else seen this type of thing?
Any idea as to the cause?

What I've tested so far:

Different drivers tested (for Geforce ti4600 128mb: Official Nvidia, ForceWare and Detonator drivers)
Different combinations of in-game and setup.exe settings tested.
Dowloaded RivaTuner, and tested different settings using that.

Is there any command I can run from the RCU file to 'flush the graphics cache', or something technical like that?

http://www.9thawacs.com/modules/My_Uploads/user_folders/9th_Antifreeze/graphic01.jpg http://www.9thawacs.com/modules/My_Uploads/user_folders/9th_Antifreeze/graphic02.jpg

antifreeze
01-09-2005, 10:57 AM
90% of the time since I installed Pacific Fighters, for the first one or two minutes of each mission, I have the 'pattern' shown below 'overlayed' onto the rest of the graphics. It is 'static', so when my viewpoint changes (Eg. external views) the landscape scrolls by, but the pattern remains where it is.
After a couple of minutes, the graphics suddenly return to normal.

Has anyone else seen this type of thing?
Any idea as to the cause?

What I've tested so far:

Different drivers tested (for Geforce ti4600 128mb: Official Nvidia, ForceWare and Detonator drivers)
Different combinations of in-game and setup.exe settings tested.
Dowloaded RivaTuner, and tested different settings using that.

Is there any command I can run from the RCU file to 'flush the graphics cache', or something technical like that?

http://www.9thawacs.com/modules/My_Uploads/user_folders/9th_Antifreeze/graphic01.jpg http://www.9thawacs.com/modules/My_Uploads/user_folders/9th_Antifreeze/graphic02.jpg

meh_cd
01-09-2005, 11:00 AM
I have that off and on with my 4600 and I was wondering what the heck it was. I haven't had it recently, though. It seems like when I turn on AF it does it, though.

So yes, I've seen the exact same thing as you, just off and on - not every time, which is odd.

TX-Zen
01-09-2005, 11:08 AM
Something like this came up a month or so ago and if I remember, Oleg said it was not a bug. I have a Ti4600 and get this also, but only with perfect water. I believe this is because perfect water is optimized for the newer graphics cards, but hopefully one of the video card pro's can clarify.

antifreeze
01-09-2005, 11:17 AM
Thanks. Just knowing I'm not alone helps. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Tully__
01-09-2005, 09:04 PM
I had it on my Ti4200 when attempting perfect mode. As I'm fps marginal on perfect mode anyway, I backed it off to excellent and haven't seen it since.

AFJMantis
01-10-2005, 01:06 AM
I only get this effect if i have texture compression enabled, disable that and it disappears.

BelaLvgosi
01-10-2005, 06:00 AM
Yups, that's a normal compression artifact on some cards.

antifreeze
01-11-2005, 11:52 AM
> Yups, that's a normal compression artifact on
> some cards.

OK, I solved the problem and it is to do with compression, but (on the ti4600 at least) it isn't 'normal' or 'default' behaviour.
It was caused by an undocumented OpenGL setting called 'intellisample'. I accessed this setting via a tweak program called RivaTuner, and had turned intellisample from its default setting to 'performance' in an effort to increase fps. To solve the problem (illustrated in the original post) I put 'intellisampling' back to default.
'Intellisampling' uses different algorithms dependent on the drivers, and I guess the way it is utilised is also game dependent, which is maybe why it started when I installed PF?

Anyway, thanks for your answers; they helped.