PDA

View Full Version : Having a TeamSpeak Server Startup With Windows-Possible?



-HH-Quazi
08-01-2006, 09:10 PM
I am just curious if this is possible because I do restart from time to time and sometimes forget to crank up the TS servers I run for the HH & DD squadrons. And on days that there are scheduled flight sessions, this can be a thorn in the side, especially when there are 15 to 20 m8s trying to participate on these scheduled flight sessions. Plus, we have alot of impromptu get togethers. If I could get the TS server to crank up when Windows starts up, then this will be an issue I will no longer need to concern myself with. A squadm8 said something about asking someone to create a Macro to do just that. This word or file is something I do not know about or even understand how to implement. But if anyone has any idea on how to get a TS server to crank up when Windows is restarted, I'd appreciate it very much, as will the m8s with the HH & DD squadrons.

FoolTrottel
08-01-2006, 11:57 PM
This should be possible, and me thinks not too difficult, though I do not know how to start TS Server!

How do you start it?

(If it's as simple as an icon to dblclick: Copy the icon to the 'Startup' folder in your start-menu. Right click the start-button, choose Explore and browse to Start Menu, Programs, Startup... and paste the icon there.
But, it'll probably be a bit more complex...)

-HH-Quazi
08-02-2006, 12:28 AM
WOOHOO!!! Something as simple as this explanation. Far out m8! Myself and my m8s thank you very much FT!! I love this place!

I know it doesn't or might not seem like a big deal, but being responsible for remembering to crank up the TS servers after I restart has been a pain and actually hard to do, especially when I am in the mood to tweak and oc a bit. On Thurdays, Saturdays & Sundays, there are alot of m8s looking to connect and get some flight time in. If we all showed up for both squads, that would be nearly 50 people looking to connect to their respective TS server. Most of the time it is only 15 to 20 m8s, and sometimes a few more.

Now, I have the peace of mind knowing that my memory will never be the cause of anyone in the HH & DD not being able to connect and use their TS server(s). Man this is great!

FoolTrottel
08-02-2006, 12:54 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

JG52Uther
08-02-2006, 04:33 AM
WOW can you do the same thing with TiR I wonder? I am always forgetting to turn it on.
I love this forum (The community help bit anyway http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)

x6BL_Brando
08-02-2006, 05:21 AM
can you do the same thing with TiR I wonder

Yes definitely http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif In the GUI, under Options, check Run at Startup.

@ Quazi: Hi http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I'm surprised you don't run an old rig as a file-server for storage & also hosting your TS server. Almost anything will do the job, using passive cooling, and can be available 24/7 to the squad. You can stash every last piece of data you value, all your photos, movies etc; and use Acronis or some other back-up program to preserve your main rig settings.
You need a good router, but that's all to the good http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Just a thought,

B.

-HH-Quazi
08-02-2006, 06:43 AM
Actually, I have put alot of thought into that Brando m8. I am already setup with a router as I have my sons Dell (my old gaming rig) hardwired and my wifes laptop wirelessly connected. Of course my son, being the teen he is, tends to pick up a few nastys from time to time, so I have a few anti-spyware programs running actively along with NIS 2006. I guess I could use the Dell to run our servers as easy as my own rig. We do keep our rigs running 24\7 barring a thunderstorm or leaving for vacation for any length of time. I just feel more comfortable having the TS servers running on my rig for some reason. Plus, and I don't know if this would be relevent, but even though we are networked, the fact that he does pick up spyware from time to time has prompted me to shut down all networking through my NIS 2006 between our two computers. I am not interested in any of his browsing habits making their way onto my rig or my wifes laptop. Even with Spyware Doctor, SpySweeper, and CounterSpy all running in real time to try to prevent him picking up any nastys, they still do mange to find their way onto his rig. And if the servers were being hosted on his rig, that would mean that myself, as well as my m8s, would have to directly connect to his rig and I feel this opens the door for that junk to travel between his rig and anyone connecting to it through open ports. Maybe I am wrong in my thinking and maybe this isn't a possibility. But it just makes sense to me that the possibility for unwanted programming or spyware to possibly infect others' rigs, my own included, is there. At least with the TS servers being hosted on my rig, I know m8s are relatively safer connecting to my rig. Plus, it really isn't that much of a resource hog as one might think. I can host both servers, even when they are as full as they get, and I don't see any side effects from it as far as my online flying is concerned. I can join missions or host missions and all goes as smooth as silk. And now that FT has shared the information with me to have the TS server to crank up with Windows, and the fact I leave my rig up and running anyway, it just made\makes sense for me to run the TS servers on my rig.

Now if my concerns about using the Dell are unfounded and non-existant, then I very well may just use the Dell to host both TS servers. So from what I have said and explained above, am I thinking rightly? Or do my concerns have merit?

JG52Uther
08-02-2006, 08:20 AM
LOL Brando! you mean that big button with 'run at start up' that I have never noticed in 2 years of TiR2 use http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

x6BL_Brando
08-02-2006, 09:09 AM
I have never noticed in 2 years of TiR2 use http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Easy on the hammer, bro - you have to cosset the little grey cells http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Quazi

I have three PC and a printer permanently rigged through the router. This (the battle) rig, my wife's workstation downstairs with the printer, and a house-server. All the rigs run SP2, Avira (http://www.avira.com/) , Spywareblaster (http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/) , and I regularly use this scanner (http://www.emsisoft.com/en/kb/articles/news060628/)

Other than that I rely on the hardware firewall of my router for protection, and the server partition with the OS is concealed.

So what I meant was find any other old box and add it on (if that doesn't gobble up all your router sockets) and run your TS from it. Maybe an Apache server too, and maybe run the whole shebang on Linux http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif Your network won't be affected by it, and Windows/Linux works fine that way with TS (and Apache). I guess CPU cycles aren't an issue with dual-core?

B.

-HH-Quazi
08-02-2006, 05:01 PM
You know, that isn't a bad idea. It wouldn't take but a few more spare parts and then I could just build my own box. I have always wanted to build a server box anyway. Something to think about m8. Thanks!

Urufu_Shinjiro
08-03-2006, 09:21 AM
I have several roomates and we have a file server and love it. Anything we want to share we stick on the file server (programs, songs, video's, backups, etc.) and there's no nead to share folders on our personal rigs. We even went so far as to get a gigabit ethernet switch and gbit nics (for the pc's that didn't already have it) to speed up file transfer rates. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BBloke
08-04-2006, 03:58 PM
Instead of running something at startup check it out below as a service.

Teamspeak forum service FAQ (http://www.goteamspeak.com/index.php?page=faq&id=4&item=46#q46)

S!

FoolTrottel
08-04-2006, 05:14 PM
as a service

Lol, that would've been my next suggestion, should the startup folder not work! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gifWhy not post this service thing into the 'User fixes that may help others' thread?

BBloke
08-06-2006, 03:53 AM
It would seem better.. Startup stuff requires you to log on.. not good if your machine reboots and you dont happen to be near it!

-HH-Quazi
08-06-2006, 07:32 AM
Great point BBloke. And if I actually had to log on or off, I would definately set TS up as a service. But seeing as I am the only user on my gaming rig, I never see the log on\off screen. It just logs straight into Windows.

I must say, this is some great info for those like myself that take it upon themselves to run a TS server for their m8s. It sure does save the expense of renting space for a TS server, and it really doesn't seem to bother my online gaming in the least.

Doubletap of the DD put on a FBD map rotation on Friday and we split up sides Allied & Axis to fly against each other trying to win the map. There were nearly 30 m8s at some point connected to TS and yakking like a bunch of kids. I didn't have any issues flying online and the m8s didn't have issues communicating. I considered this day as I big test for me and my connection. It handled it beautifully. And with TS cranking up when I restart, my friends will never be without a place to congregate and fly with real time comms.

And btw, that for the link to the TS FAQ. There are a few more implementations I would like to do after reading through it. I never thought to read the FAQ. Tis something I should make more of a habit doing when running or using programming.

BBloke
08-06-2006, 08:29 AM
Thanks Quazi. Teamspeak as a service was something that bugged me as Ventrilo comes with it as standard and I dont like having things in the startup folder plus my PC sometimes runs a server and it needs the log on for security! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Having so many in on TS is a good testiment to your cable connection. I've had 12 on my server and 4 on Ventrilo with no problems but 30 is going some.

FAQ's are great and often overlooked so's the readme files but not everyone wants to read them either. Its been a slow change from CD's with 5 no 2" manuals to CD's with electronic manuals to software with Quick Install Guides and User Wizards and then there's PnP... old are the days when you had to move jumpers for IRQ's, DMA and update your own config.sys.. boo hooo!! I miss them!!!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif