PDA

View Full Version : Time Skip



Jason Bourne
11-03-2004, 10:06 PM
is it just me or does the current ingame time skip seem useless. I used it maybe 3 times untill i found out that 8x speed actually seems to make it go by faster. so maybe if they made it like EAWs old time skip, where it skipped DIRECTLY to the next way point/encounter, it would be worth using.

LEXX_Luthor
11-03-2004, 11:04 PM
Time Skip is useless in this sim. EAW used Instant HyperSpace Jump. That won't work in this sim because AMD/Intel must calculate AI aircraft and surface activity during your flight.

I assume AEW just had AI pop up out of nowhere at your position when you entered normal space, like the Shadow ships in Babylon~5, or Internet Explorer pop~ups.

It may interest you that the more aircraft and surface units in a mission, the more immersion, and the more AMD/Intel choke on keeping up with all that AI activity, and the less you can use Time Compression. That's why they limit TC to 8X only.

LEXX_Luthor
11-03-2004, 11:41 PM
I would like to add that if you are having "difficulties" in enjoying the missions or campaigns, some fixes are in the works. Patches should help the campaign, kinda late though, and czech out the Mission Builder forum for 3rd Party missions. FB series has never been mission builder friendly, but its possible.

Jason Bourne
11-04-2004, 08:31 AM
not saying i dont enjoy them, but its kinda hard to play alot when i spend most of the time even with the black screen time skip just waiting to get somewhere. I played for 2 hours yesterday and onlly actually engaged the enemy on 1 of 3 missions....

Typ356
11-04-2004, 08:39 AM
I hear you - had the same problem flying USN or USMC campaigns - Boooring flights to nowhere... SAme deal in a bomber campaign last night, I flewa round for an hour and never saw a target...

Try the Ozzie RAAF P40 based in Port moresby. Action action action, not a dull moment ! ;-)

rioo1946
11-04-2004, 02:14 PM
I agree the F4F Missions are {yawn}really boring and the time skip is way to slow. I hope the Patch helps.

plumps_
11-04-2004, 03:11 PM
Don't say time skip is useless. I tested a five hour A-20 flight, it took me about five minutes with time skip on my 2.6 Ghz P4.

Of course there was only one aircraft and two sleeping ships in that mission. Adding more AI units or a slower processor will slow it down.

plumps_
11-04-2004, 04:13 PM
Conclusion: To get faster time skip in campaigns be careful with the DGen settings you choose in the conf.ini:

NoAirfieldHighlight
; adding this may reduce the number of AAA units and improve the performance

AirIntensity=
; Valid entries are: Low, Medium, High (Medium is default)

GroundIntensity=
; Valid entries are: Low, Medium, High (Medium is default)

'Low' intensity => faster time skip.

Jason Bourne
11-04-2004, 06:34 PM
hmm...For me it skips at the same speed no matter how many enemies/allies are on map

Athosd
11-04-2004, 06:47 PM
Though time skip isn't generally as fast as many would hope it does have a couple of advantages.
It stops when you hit a waypoint or encounter enemy planes (not sure about being fired on by AAA) - and the AI controlled aircraft apparently will not run into each other or the terrain as often.
With timeskip I get to read as well as play PF (no mesmerizing dancing x8 planes on the screen - just soothing blackness) http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Cheers

Athos

LEXX_Luthor
11-04-2004, 06:54 PM
Not for realistic Pacific campaigns, but a series of missions can be made that do not require you to fly for more than 20-30 minutes and you always encounter some very hot combat, enemy head on, enemy above you, coming from behind, from below if the enemy is set to take off too late (it happened), etc... Czech out mission builder forum. Am thinking of making carrier attack mission against Japan Homeland map and player can Choose to fly Ussian bomber or escort--Hellcat or Corsair (only SBD available though), or Choose Japp intercept with ~all~ the AI Japanese fighter types represented in various intercept flights but you can Choose any that is Flyable--J2M and N1K2 hopefully soon Flyable over the FP. Even Ki~43 if you feel Brave, as I believe they had to still use it late in the WAR (actually, Oleg said that over at simhq webboard). I just have to learn the new Features available in FMB and learn the carrier ops. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif ...and learn that huge Japan map.