PDA

View Full Version : Random Mechanical Failures

HANS-57
11-11-2004, 09:05 AM
My grandfather was an aircraft mechanic in the USAAC in England during WWII. He used to tell some interesting stories about pilots and actually going down, or limping back due to various random mechanical failures without ever even engaging in combat.

I noticed in LOMAC there is a feature that allows you to turn on a feature which will add various random electronic or mechanical failures. I think this really adds to the realism of the simulation.

I was an Avionics technician for the USAF, I am keenly aware of the inevetablility of failures in flight. IL2 is probobly challenging enough for most people without the added worries of mechanical failures, but would I love the challenge.

What do you think?

Nige_Reconman
11-11-2004, 09:18 AM
Sensational idea! It would add a whole new element to the game.

rummyrum
11-11-2004, 09:34 AM
They use to be around but seem to have disappeared as IL2 has progressed.

269GA-Maxmars
11-11-2004, 09:34 AM
If it was random it would annoy me to no end, but if it was related to how you use the crate, then it would be super. We always play and yank the stick as if the plane was indestructible!

Daiichidoku
11-11-2004, 09:44 AM
Yes, this would be nice, but given the nature of workmanship and/or material quality for either early war russian craft, or late war japanese stuff, there would be a hue and cry that would make 190 view restrcted drivers cringe

I would like to see a set of components that would or could randomly fail on ALL types of aircraft

Like gunsight bulb failures, which happened often enough IRL, and would necessitate implementation of the ring and bead sights

Too bad FB/PF could not be tied to RW or Ventrilo use, then there would be ability for random radio failures, another RL not uncommon occurence

Spy17
11-11-2004, 09:53 AM
Good idea!

Gato__Loco
11-11-2004, 12:47 PM