PDA

View Full Version : Where is the troops...peeps...etc.



Oldcrow1129
02-04-2006, 04:13 PM
Hi folks,

I just got PF and have yet to see troops or people other than the gunners on ships who are glued to their weapons.

Are there any mobile troops on the ground in this game?

Is this something to enable in the config?


IN RB3, Janes, etc., you can buzz running troops. Not here?

Sorry if this is a newbie question, I just got a new PC worthy of new sims..been a while.

Chuck_Older
02-04-2006, 04:21 PM
No ground troops

If you shoot up a truck column, little men run for their lives. And yes, you can kill them

But no ground troops as mobile units. Some soldiers are available in the FMB, but they are static.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/deddedded.jpg

Zeus-cat
02-04-2006, 04:23 PM
There are a few gun crews on specific guns, but this has to be enabled in the config file as it is a frame rate killer on most machines. If you strafe the German truck convoys you will see a few people run. Not sure if that happens with Japanese, American and Russian. Some of these objects will not be available in PF alone version.

Chuck_Older
02-04-2006, 04:26 PM
Russian troops have met their maker in the pic above

Check the truck types http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Skycat_2
02-04-2006, 05:49 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/RuningMen402b.jpg

The only other troops I know of are the mortar teams (which can be placed as a static object) and the GIs riding in the US halftracks, LCVPs and AMTRAKs.

Most of the pre-PF artillery pieces aren't coded to include human figures; it's somewhat disconcerting to watch artillery batteries and flak guns firing unattended.

One of the inherent problems with the running troops in Jane's WWII Fighters was that those guys would take off in a direction and never stop. Can you imagine an assault force of Marines hitting the beach at Iwo Jima, crossing the island in five minutes and running out into the ocean on the other side like lemmings off of a cliff? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

HotelBushranger
02-04-2006, 08:47 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Malahl1
02-04-2006, 11:11 PM
seriously, how cool was it to see the running ground crew your first time firing on a column.

wow.

tagTaken2
02-06-2006, 04:18 PM
Framerates, people, framerates.

Much as I'd love to be able to skin the running troops with the mouth-breathers that I work with, let's focus on the bigger picture.

Lewicide
02-06-2006, 06:37 PM
Don't forget the evil pirate/ninjas (pinjas) in black, manning the evil fishing boats http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

RC_Beastly
02-06-2006, 07:01 PM
I have never seen any troops in Pacific Fighters.

Oldcrow1129
02-06-2006, 07:16 PM
Framerates, people, framerates.

Much as I'd love to be able to skin the running troops with the mouth-breathers that I work with, let's focus on the bigger picture.

**
Dude, no offense, but I fail to see how this item isn't part of the "bigger picture." I see no difference between troops as an available target and the many targets that are included in the game. Tanks, trucks, buildings, huts, etc. all represent targets with troops within them. So, we can target what they are in, just not them.

IMO, troops are certainly as important to immersion in a combat sim as say realistic clouds, trees, water, etc. While I can go to the config file and alter ground detail, trees, clouds, and many other items to help framerate, even going so far as to not include many things in the game, I cannot add a line to display troops.

I say give me the option to include troops via the config file to match my machine's capabilities. If my individual machine cannot handle illustration of troops, I'll turn them back off or buy a better machine.

PF is absolutely the best looking sim I've every played, with a great flight model. The lack of troops is the one thing that stands out as a pretty glaring ommission to complete immerision in my opinion.

What fun is it flying down low over ghost towns...er..ghost world. Pearl Harbor has no confusion during the attack, only stoic gunners waiting for their turn to fire. Give me the troops, I'll figure out how to build a machine that will handle them.

Skycat_2
02-06-2006, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by RC_Beastly:
I have never seen any troops in Pacific Fighters.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/US_Strafe.jpg
Friendly fire won't get you promoted, but the photographic evidence proves that there are troops in the US trucks also. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Not surpising, however, considering that the US vehicles are basically the original Russian vehicles from IL-2 Sturmovik; they are repainted but the troops jumping out are wearing Soviet uniforms.

This strafing run was built on the Hawaii map. The Soviet markings on my P-47 weren't intentional; I simply didn't change the nationality from default. BTW, I did the same test for the Japanese convoys (all three types) and I didn't see any troops run out of the vehicles no matter how many times I hit them.

tagTaken2
02-07-2006, 02:27 AM
Originally posted by Oldcrow1129:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Framerates, people, framerates.

Much as I'd love to be able to skin the running troops with the mouth-breathers that I work with, let's focus on the bigger picture.

**
Dude, no offense, but I fail to see how this item isn't part of the "bigger picture." I see no difference between troops as an available target and the many targets that are included in the game. Tanks, trucks, buildings, huts, etc. all represent targets with troops within them. So, we can target what they are in, just not them.

IMO, troops are certainly as important to immersion in a combat sim as say realistic clouds, trees, water, etc. While I can go to the config file and alter ground detail, trees, clouds, and many other items to help framerate, even going so far as to not include many things in the game, I cannot add a line to display troops.

I say give me the option to include troops via the config file to match my machine's capabilities. If my individual machine cannot handle illustration of troops, I'll turn them back off or buy a better machine.

PF is absolutely the best looking sim I've every played, with a great flight model. The lack of troops is the one thing that stands out as a pretty glaring ommission to complete immerision in my opinion.

What fun is it flying down low over ghost towns...er..ghost world. Pearl Harbor has no confusion during the attack, only stoic gunners waiting for their turn to fire. Give me the troops, I'll figure out how to build a machine that will handle them. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'd like the option to have been included too, but bear in mind the game engine is more than 5 years old... even with today's hardware, I suspect putting even a few hundred people on the ground would drag most machines down. I'd prefer to have more planes in the air.

Sturm_Williger
02-07-2006, 02:50 AM
Yeah, but some more static guys ( as normal FMB Object ) would be really handy - there's only so much you can do with a mortar team to simulate ground crew on airfields etc.

Although there are some pretty nifty ideas people have come up with. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

AFJ_Locust
02-07-2006, 03:16 AM
Originally posted by Oldcrow1129:
Hi folks,

I just got PF and have yet to see troops or people other than the gunners on ships who are glued to their weapons.

Are there any mobile troops on the ground in this game?

Is this something to enable in the config?


IN RB3, Janes, etc., you can buzz running troops. Not here?

Sorry if this is a newbie question, I just got a new PC worthy of new sims..been a while.

Fly Coops attack convoys, I see troops runing for there life all the time :0

Hoatee
02-07-2006, 05:13 AM
Originally posted by tagTaken2:
Framerates, people, framerates.

Much as I'd love to be able to skin the running troops with the mouth-breathers that I work with, let's focus on the bigger picture.

FPS having to do with it is doubtfull. In that other thread regarding paratroopers, I forgot to mention that Warbirds III has them also - what's more, they fight (one up for Warbirds).

tagTaken2
02-07-2006, 05:33 AM
Originally posted by Hoatee:

FPS having to do with it is doubtfull. In that other thread regarding paratroopers, I forgot to mention that Warbirds III has them also - what's more, they fight (one up for Warbirds).

Really? Huh.
I was taking an uneducated guess that frames would be affected.


- what's more, they fight (one up for Warbirds)
Actually, that's the last thing we need, thousands of lethally accurate smallarms firing from the ground... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Hoatee
02-07-2006, 05:55 AM
Who said 'they' had to be 'lethally accurate'?

Skoshi Tiger
02-07-2006, 11:57 PM
So if we get troops jumping out of trucks when they get shot up, why can't we get a few jumping in the water and swimming away after a ship get sunk! That would be cool!

Maybe it'll get into Battle of Britain for the convoy strikes.

Skoshi Tiger
02-08-2006, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by Hoatee:
Who said 'they' had to be 'lethally accurate'?

Well it would bring out the weakness of Fighters like the P51! One .30 cal bullet through a radiator would be all it would take! Enough to take the smile off any mustang jockey with the nerve to shoot up troops on the ground!

tagTaken2
02-08-2006, 09:07 AM
Originally posted by Hoatee:
Who said 'they' had to be 'lethally accurate'?

We'll need this in conf.ini... MaxTroopSkill=0.

Perhaps you don't recall being snuffed by tanks' main guns? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif