PDA

View Full Version : Indicator for locked tail wheel?



llaneilian
01-02-2008, 09:03 AM
Is there any way of knowing whether my tail-wheel is locked or not when flying the Spitfire - or indeed any other aircraft? This is especially important when coming in to land.

dbillo
01-02-2008, 09:09 AM
Just toggle it and see what the HUD message says.

BrotherVoodoo
01-02-2008, 11:07 AM
If you don't see the HUD, go into your conf.ini file and make sure that NOHUDLOG=0.

llaneilian
01-02-2008, 01:50 PM
Thanks for that guys, but I usually fly with the HUD off. I was rather hoping that there was some sort of indicator on the "dashboard" to tell you if you had the tail-wheel locked or not.

Still, maybe in BoB SoW................?

FA_Retro-Burn
01-02-2008, 02:56 PM
nope.

VW-IceFire
01-02-2008, 03:28 PM
I'm not sure where in each plane the indicator is for a locked tailwheel. Where is that if anyone knows?

Be pretty hard to represent if its a teeny tiny little toggle switch hidden away somewhere.

TAW_Oilburner
01-03-2008, 04:09 PM
Most planes I've seen the indicator was the lever itself. None of the planes in IL2 have the lever movement modelled (although a majority of the cockpits have it in there, it just doesn't move).

bolox00
01-04-2008, 02:04 AM
if you fly offline, it is possible to display this information on a second monitor screen using device link
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/7201027043/p/14

most of the 'pits' made for this include a t/w lock indicator. the 109 on the 'stalk' next to u/c indicator, the spit the light just below same (t/w down indicator light in r/l late war spits).

edit... just tested on multiplay server created on my game rig and some parameters are available in this mode, tail wheel, wep, trim position, brakes, dive brake and flaps seem to work. all 'normal' instruments, asi,alt, engine gauges, ah don't work.