PDA

View Full Version : PF as benchmark at THG



tjaika1910
05-24-2005, 02:02 PM
Tomshardware guide used PF as benchmark in a PCIe roundup. Here (http://graphics.tomshardware.com/graphic/20050524/vga_charts-07.html) is a link.

Interesting that PF is one of few games that really benefits from SLI. No specific details was given for the PF test, only "high quality" and the res./AA/AF. Track was beau_torp.

tjaika1910
05-24-2005, 02:26 PM
Just for the heck of it I testet my own rig. Never used other than black track as benchmark before.

1024*768/32 no aa/af I got

"high" avg 101 min 57
"excellent" avg 82 min 35

Not bad with a 9600 pro I guess, compared to THG. My tweaking has paid off. Not sure if I disabled the AA. With CCC 5.5 it seems not easy to turn off, if not "let the application decide" means it is off with our game.

tjaika1910
05-24-2005, 03:00 PM
Tested again with my online settings, which is 1024 32 bit and excellent with all set on quality on catalyst. 2*AA and triliniar filtering.

average was 79 and minimum was 36. The minimum was when the ship sank, before that min was about 50-60. Either you cant turn off AA with cat 5.5 or it doesnt have much inpact on my settings.

I am anyway very pleased with my 9600 pro. Thanks to all the info from this community, I´ve got my computer tweaked around this game.

Tallyho1961
05-24-2005, 03:00 PM
tjaika1910, to the best of my knowledge those are honking big numbers for the BD track and a 9600PRO. What is the rest of your rig like?

tjaika1910
05-24-2005, 03:19 PM
Not black death, beau torp.

I dont know why THG used that, but so did I to compare. In black death I get 38-42 depending of tri or bilinear filering.

I did found out that AA indeed was disabled when not specifically set. With 2*AA the average sank to 72 in beau torp.

tjaika1910
05-24-2005, 03:29 PM
Btw: rest of gig is a xp-m 2500+ currently set at 2.2 GHz. Can oc up to 2.5 GHz (some reported 2,7 GHz with good cooling) and 1 Gb 3200 Corsair ram.

Anyway the 9600 is the bottleneck but I recommend the post "Il2-setup explained" for everybody with not a state of art GPU.

Tallyho1961
05-24-2005, 03:49 PM
I'm gonna try Beau Torp just for fun. You can see what I'm using in my sig. I know it's not top drawer, but it's a decent set up. I've read and re-read every tweaking/optimization guide there is and I'm still convinced I'm a few frames short of what my equipment should be capable of.

PS - I just installed the Cat 5.5's and picked up about 1.5 FPS over the 5.4s. Others have gotten 4-5 FPS increases with these Cats which is as good as a pretty decent hardware upgrade.