PDA

View Full Version : About Perfect mode. Surprising to me at least



Chuck_Older
01-15-2006, 09:24 AM
So now that I am running Perfect mode...the sim looks better, runs smoother, and in general performs better than it did with exactly the same PC and hardware, and software. When I am not in perfect, it runs well. But when I am in Perfect, it runs better

Was "perfect" optimised for best use of resources or something? Usually when I turn all the graphics all the way up, I see less performance, not a marked improvement! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

So...this was what everyone was talking about with Perfect water?!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/newstuff.jpg

To top it off, this is in 1024x768!

And all this time I was thinking I didn't care if my water was perfect or not! How wrong I was!

This pic shows the rich Anglos getting ready to evacuate Rangoon in late 1941. Getting the floatplane to be stationary with the engines off is a trade secret http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

If you haven't seen the sim in Perfect, and you were like me, and didn't think it was needed, you might want to reconsider. PCI E is out, and the AGP cards like my new 6600 are pretty cheap. I only added 512 MB RAM to the system, and I can run at 8X compression with smooth scrolling in Perfect. Time Skip works properly now too, it's faster than 8X compression- at last! Worth the small investment

Low_Flyer_MkII
01-15-2006, 10:00 AM
Niiiiiiice! Looking forward to upgrading my rig soon.

VW-IceFire
01-15-2006, 10:51 AM
Interesting...

I have run into instances where performance is improved by increasing detail. Not sure on why but I've seen it.

At the moment I'm running in Perfect mode because my computer crashes in Excellent mode. It always has...regardless of reformatting and upgrading drivers.

carguy_
01-15-2006, 10:52 AM
Well,Oleg is not a comp geek I think but it`s his own game so I may quote him saying that running trillinear and stencil buffer or 16bit only decreases the performance.

Recently I fiddled some with me old hardware and got much prettier/effective look than earlier with 5fps loss.

heywooood
01-15-2006, 11:05 AM
the 6600gt is an underrated card. Very capable for not alot of $$

The screen shot looks great - from a new campaign Chuck?...

knightflyte
01-15-2006, 11:31 AM
Glad you got your new card Chuck.
I CAN'T go back to excellent mods either. I know a flight sim/ game isn't about I candy, but there's just something about looking out of your cockpit and seeing the water 2 or 3 that really adds to the immersion factor.

Have you beefed up your terrain detail in the config file?

knightflyte
01-15-2006, 11:31 AM
Glad you got your new card Chuck.
I CAN'T go back to excellent mode either. I know a flight sim/ game isn't about I candy, but there's just something about looking out of your cockpit and seeing the water 2 or 3 that really adds to the immersion factor.

Have you beefed up your terrain detail in the config file?

Chivas
01-15-2006, 11:58 AM
I've also noticed that Perfect runs better than Excellent on my PC. I also installed the new DLL's and water 2 is quite nice, although you do need a good Processor, Memory, GPU combination to run it effectively.

I think most people don't realize how graphically beautifull this game is. I'm always astonished at people who think the graphics of this game sucks. My only guess is they are run excellent or below settings.

slkcrab
01-15-2006, 12:48 PM
WOW! That's amazing. I've got perfect mode selected but it doesn't look anywhere near that good. Specs: P4 3.2E, 2Gig PC4400, Ati X800Pro. Any tips appreciated.

Chivas
01-15-2006, 02:59 PM
In the ini.conf you can scroll to the bottom and find water=? with the ? options of 0,1,2,3. Even 4 if you have download the beta graphics dll's. I find water=2 especially good with the beta dll's.

Try each one until you find the sweet spot for fps and quality. Water 0 being the best framerate, but lesser quality. Subject to user preference.

Looking again at your specs. I don't think that your model of ATI card has 3.0 mode, although I think the beta dll's may have addressed some of these issues. The later Nvidia cards have this mode and have been able to display the water in IL-2 alittle better. Again the beta dll's may also have improved the water with earlier ATI cards but I don't know for sure.

Hurricane_320
01-15-2006, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
Getting the floatplane to be stationary with the engines off is a trade secret http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


TRADE secret? TRade for what?

SeaFireLIV
01-15-2006, 03:14 PM
Once upon a time, Perfect mode was a whimsical dream...

Even with my upgrades, I know that the main work on improvements have been done through the devs. I remember the days when I used to get constant slowdowns, weird graphic anomolies, long load times and much frustration and this was just on good or excellent 800X600.

But now I run 1024 X768 (would be higher, but I can`t see dots as clearly) on Perfect graphics, EVEN with a little AA and the sim is wonderfully smooth and great AI. The new DLLs is the icing on the cake. Olegs made the simple upgrades I`ve made worthwhile.

VMF-214_HaVoK
01-15-2006, 03:23 PM
I run perfect mode in 1280x960@85hz with 4xAA and now that you mention it, it runs about the same as it does in excellent. Maybe a small decrease in FPS if any but hardly enough to warrent running anything less then perfect. I suggest everyone try perfect mode and give it time and try a few config.ini tweaks like putting water=0 or maybe forest=1. Especially if you fly a lot of PTO. It will help you id planes over the ocean and also keep you from crashing into it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Chuck_Older
01-15-2006, 03:32 PM
Originally posted by heywooood:
the 6600gt is an underrated card. Very capable for not alot of $$

The screen shot looks great - from a new campaign Chuck?...

Nah. Old one http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif WTCF 2.0

Will have it's own campaign branch, custom rank, medals, menu music, etc. New missions, and additional locales, hopefully some new a/c as well. Actually it already has some new a/c. I am holding out for the update for new stuff though. Most of the new stuff like the new campaign branch (it won't be run from the USAAF branch anymore) is up and functional on my PC. That pic is about 99% how it will be in 2.0

Won't be done for a while. Look for Obelix's update on his own very nice AVG campaign in the meantime. he needs English/French translation help, by the way, if anyone is interested.

His campaign update will be quite good, I've seen some screens. He's quite a good skinner as well, and many new custom skins should be in it. I talked with him briefly about something you may- or may not- see while flying. I think he'll do it, I know I am going to, heck it's already in-game on my PC. That's all I'll say. It's a surprise. Folks will see it first in his campaign, I had to suggest it. I would have liked to be first, but he's so close to being done, I figured why not

Here's all I'll post in GD about my own update- I have added thousands of objects to the maps in general. I think one of my templates has 6,000 objects. More than half are trees, I'd say. I have made a 'jungle' effect that I think will work out well, but it is time consuming. theya re in some general locales, and also interspersed with the 'stock' trees to more accurately represent Burma in places like Rangoon. I see no performance hit with this stuff, it's the planes that do it. Here is my new Magwe, just a small taste of the effect (this is with my old card, I saw no perceptible performance hit even then):
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/mag.jpg

And these are new medals. I will do just a touch more work to them
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/Fixed.jpg

And that's all I'll post about it in GD until I announce it's release. Well, maybe I'll re-do the Magwe pic in Perfect just to post it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

slkcrab
01-15-2006, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by Chivas:
In the ini.conf you can scroll to the bottom and find water=? with the ? options of 0,1,2,3. Even 4 if you have download the beta graphics dll's. I find water=2 especially good with the beta dll's.

Try each one until you find the sweet spot for fps and quality. Water 0 being the best framerate, but lesser quality. Subject to user preference.

Looking again at your specs. I don't think that your model of ATI card has 3.0 mode, although I think the beta dll's may have addressed some of these issues. The later Nvidia cards have this mode and have been able to display the water in IL-2 alittle better. Again the beta dll's may also have improved the water with earlier ATI cards but I don't know for sure.

Thanks chivas!

slo123
01-15-2006, 06:49 PM
well dange i run perfect and its realy skippy and jumpy and the trees look like telephone poles

LEXX_Luthor
01-15-2006, 07:58 PM
Chuck::
To top it off, this is in 1024x768!
Why? Some nice Perfect Pond Water there (first screenshot), but the the flying boat in the screenshot looks terrible at that resolution compared to what it could be at higher resolution.

You can try higher resolution which you should be able to handle with 6600 (not sure though under Perfect Mode with the Pond water enabled). Then at high resolution, the other aircraft you see during a mission have far more detail visible at the same distance, or the same detail at farther distance. Its great for immersion, but as SeaFire posted, you can't see aircraft Dots at high resolution, but I choose to suffer the Dots by refusing to use Text Icons. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I always sacrifice Perfect Pond Water for better detailed looking aircraft that you see during a mission. Try it, you may get higher res with 6600 under Perfect Mode. As for the water, I don't know why the PF Devs copied the Pond water from the PC shooter games for a flight sim. Ocean water does not look like that.

I ran 1280x960x32 Perfect Mode with a primitive ATI-9800Pro, at 45fps except over Berlin and Lenningrad which have all the little Building Objects that kill performance.

My 9800Pro broke so I am using my even older -9200, so I am forced to run FB/PF at 1152x864 Excellent Mode if I play it. I will have to waste money on another gamer video card someday. But not today.

major_setback
01-15-2006, 07:59 PM
Excellent forrest/jungle there Chuck. It gives the impression of being varied and dense...as it should be. I'm looking foreward to seeing it when it's ready.
It's really good to know that this amount of objects can be handled without any problem (as we've also seen from the Plus-Wave add-ons). I hope we'll get to se even more 'detailed' campaigns in the future.


Nice flying boat in that first picture BTW! Is that supposed to be a Sunderland?

Tully__
01-15-2006, 09:17 PM
I don't know about optimised for perfect, but it is optimised for 1024x768.

pourshot
01-15-2006, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by Chivas:
I've also noticed that Perfect runs better than Excellent on my PC. I also installed the new DLL's

Same here, I do get the feeling Oleg has optimised the game to run perfect.

Hawgdog
01-15-2006, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by Tully__:
I don't know about optimised for perfect, but it is optimised for 1024x768.

Tully, whats optimized? The game engine or....??

regards

Tully__
01-16-2006, 12:18 AM
Originally posted by Hawgdog:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tully__:
I don't know about optimised for perfect, but it is optimised for 1024x768.

Tully, whats optimized? The game engine or....??

regards </div></BLOCKQUOTE>As I understand it the basic graphics calc in the game is done for 1024x768 and then scaled if you're running a different res. Mind you I'm just guessing based on some vague hints about how it's done by Oleg some time ago.

D-Humphrey
01-16-2006, 01:01 AM
Can my PC run in perfect or do I need to upgrade anything? If I can are there vid card settings that I need to adjust to get the most out of my card?

- 2g CPU
- ATI Radeon 9200 vid card
- 768 RAM

Thanks!!

lowfighter
01-16-2006, 02:23 AM
Beautiful forest scenery Chuck http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

alert_1
01-16-2006, 03:30 AM
U used to play at ECELLENT settings because I thought my lowely AMD XP2000, 1024MBDDR and GF4Ti4200 couldt cope with PERFECT. NAfter reading this I just switched to PERFECT and so far everything's good: fps the same but scenery much better http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Chuck_Older
01-16-2006, 06:00 AM
Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
Chuck:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">To top it off, this is in 1024x768!
Why? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

So I can see enemy aircraft a few miles out http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

~edit-

oh, i also forgot, as far as the floatplane looking bad goes, don't forget this pic is resized to about 70% original and is a little squished

Chuck_Older
01-16-2006, 06:01 AM
Originally posted by major_setback:
Excellent forrest/jungle there Chuck. It gives the impression of being varied and dense...as it should be. I'm looking foreward to seeing it when it's ready.
It's really good to know that this amount of objects can be handled without any problem (as we've also seen from the Plus-Wave add-ons). I hope we'll get to se even more 'detailed' campaigns in the future.


Nice flying boat in that first picture BTW! Is that supposed to be a Sunderland?

It's supposed to be a generic Civilian airliner, a 'China Clipper' sort of thing. Can't recall where I got the skin, but I like it a lot.

Glad to hear positive feedback on the jungle. It's a bit of a pain to make, but it's worth it I think

Chuck_Older
01-16-2006, 06:06 AM
Originally posted by D-Humphrey:
Can my PC run in perfect or do I need to upgrade anything? If I can are there vid card settings that I need to adjust to get the most out of my card?

- 2g CPU
- ATI Radeon 9200 vid card
- 768 RAM

Thanks!!

I should think it can, according to the manual (I finally looked http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif) you just need a shader capable card stencil buffer on, and at 32 bit color on your resolution. Your Raedon should be able to do it. RAM might be a bit low though, but who knows? not me. try it