PDA

View Full Version : how to play multiplayer



mattep74
05-18-2006, 09:37 AM
i bought this game today and now i want to fight online. But i cant connect. I dont know what adresses to search for servers and it say 21000 in the adressfield and when i search for local servers i come up blank. Please help me so i can duke it out with the best of you

Low_Flyer_MkVb
05-18-2006, 09:48 AM
Welcome!

Most of the chaps here use Hyperlobby
http://hyperfighter.sk/

However, before you jump in somebody's going to ask you what version of the game of you've got. Have you got FB/PF merged? The original Il-2 or just P/F standalone? It's really not as confusing as it might seem, but you will need to make sure you're playing someone with the same version. I'm a bit new to this online lark, so treat this as a bump while we wait for a regular expert to show up.

mattep74
05-18-2006, 10:00 AM
i bought the complete edition consisting of FB, AEP and PF

rnzoli
05-18-2006, 10:19 AM
I am not a regular expert, since my post count is only 3 digit long, so I can only recommend you to check this:

http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm#034

the version number is always written in red on the lower left corner of the start-up screen of il2, it should say v4.04m for you

download the hyperlobby client and use the Forgotten Battle lobby to meet ~300-1000 players at any time

NB. some of them already use v4.05m, meaning the paid add-on. never mind, there are others who still use v4.04m

...and mentally prepare for a lot of good players out there....

Taylortony
05-18-2006, 02:36 PM
Originally posted by mattep74:
i bought this game today and now i want to fight online. But i cant connect. I dont know what adresses to search for servers and it say 21000 in the adressfield and when i search for local servers i come up blank. Please help me so i can duke it out with the best of you


Matte

I take it you are trying on ubicom, the problem could be the ip address

in windows go start
all programme files
ubisoft folder
last window of that click on setup
in that click on the network tab look for a window called IP with the word default in it and click on default and select the lower number.
close try again....... not all have this option btw

if not come back and ask again, there is an add on called PE2 that is downloadable and a one you buy, this takes it to 4.05M version, some of the games online will be running this so look for version 4.04M games... the M is for merged BTW as in FB AEP and PF http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hashmark13
05-18-2006, 03:18 PM
No, he's using the ingame option, which is only for LAN (hence LOCAL servers) only.

Troll2k
05-18-2006, 03:23 PM
You will need to patch up to at least 4.04m to play at HyperLobby.

mattep74
05-19-2006, 02:55 AM
apperantly i had v 4.04 already because i played on hyperlobby yesterday. I think i need to train some more offline. Why? Because when i turn like i usually do in flightgames the engine stalls

Xiolablu3
05-19-2006, 06:22 AM
Stalls as in the engine stops??

It shouldnt do that, if you take a Spitfire,Zero or 109 up for a spin you should be able to bank without the engine stopping.

Troll2k
05-19-2006, 08:38 AM
Some of the early war planes did not have fuel injection.When you did a negative G manuever the carburetor would starve for fuel.

The 1939 Hurricane,I-153,I-16 come to mind.I am sure there are others.

rnzoli
05-19-2006, 08:47 AM
it is normal that you need practice before going online

here is a good thread (previously it was a sticky), with literally tons of good advice: Practice tips for newcomers

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m...901086932#8901086932 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/8901086932/r/8901086932#8901086932)

Xiolablu3
05-19-2006, 09:20 AM
Ahh I forgot about negative G cutout on early war planes. I think this will be what you are experiencing.

Try some later war planes with fuel ingection or Miss Shillings orifice.