PDA

View Full Version : Who has prop pitch mapped to a slider?



Choctaw111
08-01-2007, 10:25 AM
I have a CH Fighterstick and Pro Throttle but I am wondering who here has this same setup and where they have their prop pitch mapped. I currently have mine mapped to a hatswitch on my throttle but I would REALLY like to have it on a slider that I can easily get to without taking my hands off any of the controls. The only slider that I have available now is the "throttle wheel" on the right side of the Fighterstick, but again I have to take my hand off the stick or the throttle to get to it. Maybe I can add a slider somehow. There are times where I would really like to jam my prop pitch down to ZERO in an instant without stepping down in increments of 5 and without taking any hands off the controls . I just need some ideas. Thanks.

Choctaw111
08-01-2007, 10:25 AM
I have a CH Fighterstick and Pro Throttle but I am wondering who here has this same setup and where they have their prop pitch mapped. I currently have mine mapped to a hatswitch on my throttle but I would REALLY like to have it on a slider that I can easily get to without taking my hands off any of the controls. The only slider that I have available now is the "throttle wheel" on the right side of the Fighterstick, but again I have to take my hand off the stick or the throttle to get to it. Maybe I can add a slider somehow. There are times where I would really like to jam my prop pitch down to ZERO in an instant without stepping down in increments of 5 and without taking any hands off the controls . I just need some ideas. Thanks.

R_Target
08-01-2007, 10:29 AM
I have it on the wheel of my CH Combatstick. I'm also using an X-52 throttle. It's a pretty short trip from the throttle to the stick and back.

TgD Thunderbolt56
08-01-2007, 11:18 AM
There's always the custom market. Here is a link to a picture 531_Ghost took of his own little creation called the Franken-potato that is a modified CH Pro Throttle to include a couple rotaries and switches: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/531Ghost/100_0109.jpg

I'd say if you're interested, go to the CH-Hangar ( http://www.ch-hangar.com ) and look around. Some knowledgable and helpful folks over there who will be glad to help you figure something out.

That's the same place I found the guy to make my custom Lefty-HOTAS. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


TB

stathem
08-01-2007, 12:31 PM
X-52 here, PP on the slider. Couldn't fly (Tempests) any other way now.

Choctaw111
08-01-2007, 01:10 PM
WOW!!! I LOVE that custom CH throttle. That would give me everything I need. How do I get in touch with the creator?

TgD Thunderbolt56
08-01-2007, 01:18 PM
Go register at the CH-Hangar (see the link in my post above) and send him a PM or simply post an inquiry in the open forum.

If you use CH Products, you MUST have Revvin's site bookmarked...be sure.


TB

T_O_A_D
08-01-2007, 01:55 PM
I do, X-45 index rotary, Thumb rotary id elevator trim.

Bearcat99
08-01-2007, 02:03 PM
http://star.walagata.com/w/bearcat/myrig.jpg

I use a multistick setup ^

http://star.walagata.com/w/bearcat/X-45mod_0.jpg <-with a modified X-45.


I have my pitch on the throttle of my MSFFB2, thumb on the modified X-45 is elevator trim, index is aileron trim, rudder trim is the knob just above the X-45 hat plate and the pot on the side of the throttle is for flaps.. I also have flaps on the rocker.. I like that because now when I deploy flaps I look down at the handle. I think once I figure out how to get good lasting detents on that side knob so I can control the deployment better Ill do away with the flaps on the rocker arm and save that for something else. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif .

Jabout
08-01-2007, 02:50 PM
Bear, can you post a slightly larger picture of the throttle, say just large enough to read the numbers on that blue credit card?

ruby_monkey
08-01-2007, 03:23 PM
I treated myself to a CH Pro throttle quadrant. Anything that can go on a slider, has gone on a slider.

I can recommend it highly. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

flox
08-01-2007, 03:30 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Choctaw111:
There are times where I would really like to jam my prop pitch down to ZERO in an instant without stepping down in increments of 5 and without taking any hands off the controls . </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Out of curiosity, what situations would call for that? Personally, I can't think of any. I never drop my pitch below around 80%.

horseback
08-01-2007, 04:15 PM
I use one of the axes from my CH Throttle Quad. The way I have my controllers set up, it's a quick reach over for my Pro throttle hand.

Before that, I assigned a button on my Pro Throttle to PP0% and PP100%. That worked pretty good too.

cheers

horseback

VMF-214_HaVoK
08-01-2007, 04:40 PM
I have an X-52 and have my elevator trim on my slider and prop pitch is on one of the rotarys which is very effective and is recognized in IL2 control setup without the need to profile it.

S!

Choctaw111
08-01-2007, 05:18 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by flox:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Choctaw111:
There are times where I would really like to jam my prop pitch down to ZERO in an instant without stepping down in increments of 5 and without taking any hands off the controls . </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Out of curiosity, what situations would call for that? Personally, I can't think of any. I never drop my pitch below around 80%. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

When you want to slow down in a hurry! Sure you can quick pull throttle to zero and even engage flaps, but few people will use their prop pitch as a brake. It takes a LONG time to hit a button 20 times to get your prop pitch to zero and then another 20 times to get it back to 100%. Having it on a slider you could do that in a split second. I will definitely look into getting my Pro Throttle modded. That looks GREAT!

MrMojok
08-01-2007, 05:57 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stathem:
X-52 here, PP on the slider. Couldn't fly (Tempests) any other way now. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

yeah, ESPECIALLY the Tempest http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Ken-Ghost-King
08-01-2007, 06:30 PM
Hey! That Franken-Potato looks pretty cool! Wish I had one! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

T_O_A_D
08-01-2007, 07:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jabout:
Bear, can you post a slightly larger picture of the throttle, say just large enough to read the numbers on that blue credit card? </div></BLOCKQUOTE> http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

Bearcat99
08-01-2007, 08:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jabout:
Bear, can you post a slightly larger picture of the throttle, say just large enough to read the numbers on that blue credit card? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif Thats not a credit card.. it's one of those cardboard things they send you in the mail when they want you to get a credit card. I don't own many credit cards...... just 3.

GreyBeast
08-02-2007, 12:20 AM
...so that's a no, you're NOT going to give us the numbers?

TgD Thunderbolt56
08-02-2007, 08:22 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ken-Ghost-King:
Hey! That Franken-Potato looks pretty cool! Wish I had one! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey Ken! Do you still make those for special peeps?

PM me if so. We can talk. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Ken-Ghost-King
08-02-2007, 08:56 AM
LMAO Can't figure out how to PM here in the UBI World! But yer more than welcome to PM me there at the Hangar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

WhtBoy
08-02-2007, 09:39 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Choctaw111:
When you want to slow down in a hurry! Sure you can quick pull throttle to zero and even engage flaps, but few people will use their prop pitch as a brake. It takes a LONG time to hit a button 20 times to get your prop pitch to zero and then another 20 times to get it back to 100%. Having it on a slider you could do that in a split second. I will definitely look into getting my Pro Throttle modded. That looks GREAT! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Setting 0 prop pitch will NOT slow you down quicker. Setting 0 pitch will actually REDUCE your rate of deceleration. For the prop to act as a brake you want full pitch. To dive away and make full use of gravity, you want less than full pitch.

The engine RPM drops at 0 pitch which can make you think that you are slowing down but all you are doing is REDUCING the drag of the prop. That's why the engine slows down. Maximum slowage (that's a technical term) occurs when the engine RPM is highest at the lowest throttle setting. The incoming air is deflected the most at 100% prop pitch which forces the engine to turn faster than the throttle setting would normally and also creates the most drag.

The analogy between prop pitch and the gears in a car is poor IMO. I prefer to imagine a car that has a single gear, no brakes, no clutch, and a driver controlled throttle along with a "magic" tire traction control lever. 100% prop pitch would correspond to minimum traction and 0% prop pitch would be the maximum. To slow down with such a car, you would go to idle throttle and maximum traction control.

--Outlaw.

Choctaw111
08-02-2007, 05:17 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WhtBoy:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Choctaw111:
When you want to slow down in a hurry! Sure you can quick pull throttle to zero and even engage flaps, but few people will use their prop pitch as a brake. It takes a LONG time to hit a button 20 times to get your prop pitch to zero and then another 20 times to get it back to 100%. Having it on a slider you could do that in a split second. I will definitely look into getting my Pro Throttle modded. That looks GREAT! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Setting 0 prop pitch will NOT slow you down quicker. Setting 0 pitch will actually REDUCE your rate of deceleration. For the prop to act as a brake you want full pitch. To dive away and make full use of gravity, you want less than full pitch.

The engine RPM drops at 0 pitch which can make you think that you are slowing down but all you are doing is REDUCING the drag of the prop. That's why the engine slows down. Maximum slowage (that's a technical term) occurs when the engine RPM is highest at the lowest throttle setting. The incoming air is deflected the most at 100% prop pitch which forces the engine to turn faster than the throttle setting would normally and also creates the most drag.

The analogy between prop pitch and the gears in a car is poor IMO. I prefer to imagine a car that has a single gear, no brakes, no clutch, and a driver controlled throttle along with a "magic" tire traction control lever. 100% prop pitch would correspond to minimum traction and 0% prop pitch would be the maximum. To slow down with such a car, you would go to idle throttle and maximum traction control.

--Outlaw. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I certainly typed without thinking on that one. Just a little embarrassing. You've made a good point. I do believe though that in game there is an optimum prop pitch for braking and I don't believe it is 100%. I just may do some tests on my own and see what I come up with.

Bearcat99
08-03-2007, 09:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ken-Ghost-King:
LMAO Can't figure out how to PM here in the UBI World! But yer more than welcome to PM me there at the Hangar http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Upper left corner....GO&gt;Personal Zone&gt;Private Messaging&gt;New Private Message... You will have to add to your buddy list.. then once you do that you can send them a PM.. it's pretty intuitive once you get there.

Ken-Ghost-King
08-03-2007, 12:14 PM
Thanks Bear, Got it.

Choctaw111
08-03-2007, 01:51 PM
I have bought a brand new Pro Throttle and sent it to Ken-Ghost-King and he is going to add 6 new switches (for 12 new functions) and two (count them, 2) new rotaries! There is ample room for everything. The first rotary will be operated by the pinky finger (located between the third button and the end of the handle) and the second rotary is located in place of the 4-way hat switch in the front of the PT which is then moved to where the 1st button in the front used to be. The first button is then moved to the back of the handle and placed just left of the 8 way hat switch and will be operated by the thumb. The six 2-way switches are placed on the centerline on the back on the PT. I do not believe that there are any photos of his latest version of the Franken Potato Part Deux but when I get it back sometime next week I will definitely take some photos of it and post it in these forums.
Oh, and for those that don't know, that will give my Pro Throttle a total of 36 functions plus three sliders, plus the microstick (which has no relevance in Il2, at least not for me. Some clever people out there have figured out how to use it for panning their view I have heard). The PT in addition to my Fighterstick and Pro pedals gives me a total of 67 mapped functions in all (that aren't on the keyboard... and that includs rudder, elevator and ailerons. I am very pleased.

TgD Thunderbolt56
08-07-2007, 10:47 AM
Just sent my lefty-throttle to him too Choctaw. Dunno why I didn't do it last year.

Let us know how it works for you. A sort of update/review if you will.

TB

TheGozr
08-07-2007, 11:54 AM
I like the Bear Throttle . http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Good work

TgD Thunderbolt56
08-09-2007, 12:07 PM
bumpage...Tell us Choctaw. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Ken-Ghost-King
08-09-2007, 12:56 PM
What do you want him to tell? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Will be testing this afternoon in CM...
http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/4231/1000683fj0.jpg

http://img164.imageshack.us/img164/5139/1000682jn9.jpg

Choctaw111
08-09-2007, 01:21 PM
Ghost just called me 10 minutes ago and we talked about it and about the simpit I am going to start (my simchair just doesn't satisfy me any more http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif). He is testing it now and will send it to me tomorrow. When I get it I will tell everyone about it.

Ken-Ghost-King
08-09-2007, 10:29 PM
Just finished testing in CM v4.20 and all is ready to ship. Looking forward to the "review" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Aaron_GT
08-10-2007, 02:54 AM
Behringer (and some other companies) do various USB interfaces with differing configurations of sliders, knobs, and buttons on for use with sequencers, software synthesisers and so on. Does anyone know if there is any way to make them work for flight sims? If so they would be quite a bargain for mapping things to sliders, knobs, and indeed, dedicated buttons.

Examples:

http://www.behringer.com/BCR2000/index.cfm?lang=eng

More knobs than you could shake a (joy) stick at.

And with sliders:

http://www.behringer.com/BCF2000/index.cfm?lang=eng