PDA

View Full Version : Question about jumping



b-busher
10-01-2007, 08:26 AM
I have read alot of things about the control system,but I still dont understand free running.When you want to jump do u just hold A(xbox 360) or x(ps3)and point in the direction or can you measure how far you want to jump by holding A for different amounts of time?Do you just press A and point in a direction and Altair will just keep free running?(I hope its not like that)

ProneNL
10-01-2007, 08:36 AM
From what I've heard the game uses auto jumping, not sure though.

chikkenstorm
10-01-2007, 09:04 AM
From what I've understood, you hold that 'free-run button' and it'll jump automatically. If you press the 'intensity' button at the same time, you'll sprint, or walk up a walk/object. Sound wierd all, but it'll probably works fine when you play it.
Not sure though...

ScytheOfGrim
10-01-2007, 09:06 AM
the jump button exists.
you can see it in the gameplay vids.

i think the jumping will be PoP style, you're near an edge, therefore you can jump.

chikkenstorm
10-01-2007, 09:08 AM
Jumping is automatically. Jade said it in some E3 2007 demo http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif And that's good, since you have tiny edges where you have to jump that. It would require very good timings, which takes all the action away, IMO

Faylinks
10-01-2007, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by ProneNL:
From what I've heard the game uses auto jumping, not sure though.


i hope not, i hope it is challanging and interactive to do cool stuff, so when you do them it is an acomplishment.

b-busher
10-01-2007, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by ScytheOfGrim:
the jump button exists.
you can see it in the gameplay vids.

i think the jumping will be PoP style, you're near an edge, therefore you can jump.

I hope the jumpings like pop,but I think I heard something about automatic jumping too,but I hope I,m wrong and it will be like pop

jonavoly
10-01-2007, 09:17 AM
nothing = walk
trigger = jog
trigger + A/X = Free run (Jump automatically)
A/X = Standing Jump (Not automatic but usually not used for jump, mainly for leap of faith)

the_assassin_07
10-01-2007, 10:43 AM
nothing = walk
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

...

What?

altairiscool
10-01-2007, 10:47 AM
Originally posted by the_assassin_07:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">nothing = walk
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

...

What? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>if you dont hold anythin and u just move around then u dont run u walk

Magnus_LTD
10-01-2007, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by jonavoly:
nothing = walk
trigger = jog

What's the "Trigger"? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

altairiscool
10-01-2007, 10:49 AM
ps3= r2
360= they call it the trigger

the_assassin_07
10-01-2007, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by altairiscool:


Originally posted by the_assassin_07:


nothing = walk

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

...

What?

if you dont hold anythin and u just move around then u dont run u walk
Oh. I was confused for a moment lol.

ScytheOfGrim
10-01-2007, 12:07 PM
chikkenstorm, you are wrong. look at any of the recent gamepaay vids and watch the button mapper carefully. you will see jump everytime he is close to the edge of a ledge. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

chikkenstorm
10-01-2007, 12:27 PM
Originally posted by ScytheOfGrim:
chikkenstorm, you are wrong. look at any of the recent gamepaay vids and watch the button mapper carefully. you will see jump everytime he is close to the edge of a ledge. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif Well, I'm sure that there's auto-jump too. Unless they made a quick change, to make parkouring very hard (see the Talar chase, or the free-running in the X06-demo). But probably there's manual jumping too (probably the free-run button http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif , so I'm still right)

ScytheOfGrim
10-01-2007, 12:34 PM
(probably the free-run button , so I'm still right)

but only partially! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

jonavoly
10-01-2007, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by ScytheOfGrim:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> (probably the free-run button , so I'm still right)

but only partially! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Also posted by ScytheOfGrim:
hmm... well, i still could be right!*

*(See 'Best combat ever' thread)
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>Look whos talking! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif

kppgno80
10-01-2007, 01:30 PM
Its better if its automatic because then the game can auto-determine how far or long you have to jump.. right? like in most games, when you want to jump onto another ledge you have to make sure your standing in the right spot before you jump to make sure you dont jump past the ledge.

A.B.O.Y
10-01-2007, 01:36 PM
I think when you hold the freerun button it activates the jumping if you dont hold the button who knows what happens? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

yehonatan.roth
10-01-2007, 01:42 PM
Originally posted by kppgno80:
Its better if its automatic because then the game can auto-determine how far or long you have to jump.. right? like in most games, when you want to jump onto another ledge you have to make sure your standing in the right spot before you jump to make sure you dont jump past the ledge.

there is a video clip showing that the dude playing the demo misses the ledge but keeps going twords the wall and grabs after a floor and i belive it means no automatic and i rather it be like that... no?

the_assassin_07
10-01-2007, 01:42 PM
Lol. You crash into the wall and wake up in prison.

Lmao.

kppgno80
10-01-2007, 01:50 PM
Originally posted by yehonatan.roth:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by kppgno80:
Its better if its automatic because then the game can auto-determine how far or long you have to jump.. right? like in most games, when you want to jump onto another ledge you have to make sure your standing in the right spot before you jump to make sure you dont jump past the ledge.

Hmm, actually i think its kind of auto, but not auto.... like, when your holding down the free run button and you reach a ledge, doesnt it change to jump? and your still holding down the button, which makes you jump
there is a video clip showing that the dude playing the demo misses the ledge but keeps going twords the wall and grabs after a floor and i belive it means no automatic and i rather it be like that... no? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>