PDA

View Full Version : What CPU Do You Use?



LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 02:13 PM

VMF-214_HaVoK
11-21-2004, 02:18 PM
AMD 2500 Barton 512 L2 cache
Default speed is 1.87ghz Im currently overclocked to 2.31ghz. Zalman heatsink/fan cooler in place.

NORAD_Zooly10
11-21-2004, 02:52 PM
P4 2.8, i have no idea what cache it has.

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 02:52 PM
Norad, it has 512 of cache.

NetDaemon
11-21-2004, 02:54 PM
AMD64 3200+ here @2,2Ghz default and dinamically overclocked while in-game to 2,42Ghz.

And running PF in WindowsXP x86-64 beta2!

NetDaemon
11-21-2004, 02:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Norad, it has 512 of cache. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lookout Luckydude, there`s Prescott Pentium4s with either 512 o 1024K cache too. Only northwood P4s come with 512k cache guaranteed.

Same thing with AMD64s in either socket939 or 754, some come with 512 and other with 1024k cache. Only AMD AthlonXPs with barton core come with 512k cache guaranteed too. Older cores have less cache.

And another thing too, AMD likes to say that their 512k cache chips actually have 640K cache in total, when adding the L1 cache (512k) to the 2 L2 caches (64k each).

Confusing, ain`t it?

georgeo76
11-21-2004, 02:58 PM
I use the Athlon XP 2200+ @ stock speed.

VMF-214_HaVoK
11-21-2004, 03:00 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
AMD64 3200+ here @2,2Ghz default and dinamically overclocked while in-game to 2,42Ghz.

And running PF in WindowsXP x86-64 beta2! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Is that a version of Longhorn?

NetDaemon
11-21-2004, 03:05 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VMF-214_HaVoK:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
AMD64 3200+ here @2,2Ghz default and dinamically overclocked while in-game to 2,42Ghz.

And running PF in WindowsXP x86-64 beta2! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Is that a version of Longhorn? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Nope, it`s WindowsXP for 64bit processors, due to release in Q1 next year.

It`s exactly the same as the regular XP professional edition, but this one runs in 64bit processors like AMD`s 64 and Opterons and IntelāĀ“s upcoming P4s with EM64T (AMD64 rip-off) enabled; and takes advantage of all their features.

JG52Uther
11-21-2004, 03:13 PM
P4 2.7 gig 512 cache (so says CPU-Z http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif)

NTESLA
11-21-2004, 03:15 PM
Intel P4 3.4 Northwood Core 512 Cache

Maple_Tiger
11-21-2004, 03:20 PM
AMD 3000 Barton rocks!

AMD won the war!

VMF-214_HaVoK
11-21-2004, 03:23 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VMF-214_HaVoK:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
AMD64 3200+ here @2,2Ghz default and dinamically overclocked while in-game to 2,42Ghz.

And running PF in WindowsXP x86-64 beta2! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Is that a version of Longhorn? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Nope, it`s WindowsXP for 64bit processors, due to release in Q1 next year.

It`s exactly the same as the regular XP professional edition, but this one runs in 64bit processors like AMD`s 64 and Opterons and IntelāĀ“s upcoming P4s with EM64T (AMD64 rip-off) enabled; and takes advantage of all their features. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

RGRT thanks for the info. I got a few friends that have AMD 64s is there any way to get ahold of the beta? Or do you have to be a tester? I know MS has public betas but dont advertise them much like SP2 was. But if you could help Im sure I could make a few people very happy.

=S=

Capt.LoneRanger
11-21-2004, 03:23 PM
AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ - watercooled

NetDaemon
11-21-2004, 03:28 PM
@VMF-214_HaVoK:

Actually, itāĀ“s a public beta. Anyone can download it from Microsoft`s site or order it on CD and pay shipping only.

Tell your AMD64 friends to head for http://www.microsoft.com/windows and click on the "WindowsXP 64bit edition" to find it.

It`s a pretty stable beta at the moment, so I`m using it for normal work and gaming after having tested it throughly.

@Luckyboy1: Sorry for hijacking your thread, I`ll stop now.

Tully__
11-21-2004, 04:18 PM
P4 2.0GHz with 512kB L2

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 04:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Norad, it has 512 of cache. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lookout Luckydude, there`s Prescott Pentium4s with either 512 o 1024K cache too. Only northwood P4s come with 512k cache guaranteed.

Same thing with AMD64s in either socket939 or 754, some come with 512 and other with 1024k cache. Only AMD AthlonXPs with barton core come with 512k cache guaranteed too. Older cores have less cache.

And another thing too, AMD likes to say that their 512k cache chips actually have 640K cache in total, when adding the L1 cache (512k) to the 2 L2 caches (64k each).

Confusing, ain`t it? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, good point, but to paraphrase Georgeo...

Well, I, uh, don't think it's quite fair to condemn a whole thead because of a single slip-up, sir.

x6BL_Brando
11-21-2004, 04:47 PM
Barton 2800+ @ 3200+ @ 400FSB. I was lucky & got one before they locked 'em. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

NetDaemon
11-21-2004, 04:49 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Well, I, uh, don't think it's quite fair to condemn a whole thead because of a single slip-up, sir. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL!

I`m not critizicing you, don`t worry. Just wanted to point out that when it comes to processors, it`s a jungle out there.

adlabs6
11-21-2004, 05:01 PM
I use an AMD XP 2000+ which I think has 256k of cache.

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 05:34 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Well, I, uh, don't think it's quite fair to condemn a whole thead because of a single slip-up, sir. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL!

I`m not critizicing you, don`t worry. Just wanted to point out that when it comes to processors, it`s a jungle out there. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I know, I was just making a joke... such as it was I guess!

Rogodin
11-21-2004, 05:58 PM
AMD 64 1mb of Cache
3200+

Rogo

Bsnakeman
11-21-2004, 06:02 PM
Intel P4 3.2GHz Northwood
Cache L2 512KB

ginger_cat
11-21-2004, 06:35 PM
Athlon xp 2600+ with 256kb L2 cache.

I entered a competition to win a FX55 today - if I don't win it, I plan to win the lottery instead! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

RobertNighthawk
11-21-2004, 06:36 PM
Athlon 64 3400+

My first venture with AMD and it is swell.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

LuckyBoy1
11-21-2004, 06:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by RobertNighthawk:
Athlon 64 3400+

My first venture with AMD and it is swell.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's great to see people with an open mind. Just think, if RobertNighthawk went the fanboy route, he'd miss out on a great gaming experience! Who cares if it's AMD or Intel?! As long as you ge the mostest for your money, I could care less who makes it!

Bearcat99
11-21-2004, 07:18 PM
XP3200.... 512 Cache....

RobertNighthawk
11-21-2004, 07:50 PM
Thanks, Luckydude. This game is mucho CPU dependant and that and the ASUS mobo brought me into the land of 40 fps perfect with my hot-running http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif old 9700 Pro which was the cat's pajamas during the Il-2 days.

Actually, I owe a debt of gratitude to all you guys who taught me what I know about computers. My quest for this knowledge started right here and I, like most of you have bought upgrades and stuff because of my love for this game. This is my third computer in as many game releases and I do not regret any of it. Thank you all.

Likewise, some guys like to re-live Christmas morning with their friends, enjoying it all again...that's Bearcat. It is really heartening to see guys who have been flying sims for a long time, stop flying for a minute to write some instructions and stuff for the new guys. Very thoughtful, Santa Bear. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Much love and respect to you all.

S!

steve_v
11-21-2004, 08:12 PM
AMD 2500+, 512MB L2

repoman11
11-21-2004, 09:16 PM
XP2500 mobile @2,356 (11.5x205).

RocketRobin__
11-21-2004, 09:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Norad, it has 512 of cache. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lookout Luckydude, there`s Prescott Pentium4s with either 512 o 1024K cache too. Only northwood P4s come with 512k cache guaranteed.

Same thing with AMD64s in either socket939 or 754, some come with 512 and other with 1024k cache. Only AMD AthlonXPs with barton core come with 512k cache guaranteed too. Older cores have less cache.

And another thing too, AMD likes to say that their 512k cache chips actually have 640K cache in total, when adding the L1 cache (512k) to the 2 L2 caches (64k each).

Confusing, ain`t it? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Also, socket 754 AMD have a 64 bit wide memory controller and socket 939/940s have a 128bit wide controller.

sunflower1
11-21-2004, 10:02 PM
P4e 2.8/800 1mb L2. 35idle, 45 peak @72F. No more Easy Bake Oven!

Jasko76
11-22-2004, 02:32 AM
XP2400+, that's 256k cache, right? Once upon a time it was very fast, now it's just very stable and dependable. Anyway, I'm buying a 64 bit 3200+ soon, should be quite an improvement!

CARBONFREEZE
11-22-2004, 02:37 AM
P4 3.4EE LGA775 @ 3581mhz. 43C idle, 56C load. 2048mb DDR-2-667 @ 561mhz currently on D915PBL.

9 seconds into windows desktop from pressing power button.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

Weeeeeee

bazzaah2
11-22-2004, 02:46 AM
amd 2400+.

L2 cache is a measly 256k.

This chip is not long for this world and it will soon be replaced by a socket 939 AMD3500+ and some other stuff.

Nubarus
11-22-2004, 03:23 AM
AMD64 3700+ 1MB Cache

carguy_
11-22-2004, 03:46 AM
AthlonXP2000+256cache

sobolan
11-22-2004, 04:39 AM
P-4M 2.4GHz, moving soon to a Athlon64 3500+ Winchester (new comp...Xmass). Unbelievable LOW power consumption this Winchester...

RAAF_Edin
11-22-2004, 05:10 AM
Intel Pentiumā® 4 3.4GHz "Nortwood"

B16Enk
11-22-2004, 06:04 AM
Barton 2500+ @ 11*200 on air. Zalman Cu keeps it down to 51C tops http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Udidtoo
11-22-2004, 06:28 AM
P-4 3.2E 1MB L2-cache 800MHz FSB Prescott.....when not gaming we use it to toast marshmellows and /or forge suits of armor.

Hunter82
11-22-2004, 06:36 AM
FX 53 .... soon to be FX 55 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

TgD Thunderbolt56
11-22-2004, 06:46 AM
P4 3.4 Northwood @ stock speed

JaBo_HH-BlackSheep
11-22-2004, 06:54 AM
AMD AthlonXP 2500+ (Barton)

rfap
11-22-2004, 10:51 AM
XP 2500+ @ 3200+ using an Antartica to keep it nice and cool

1.JaVA_Razer
11-22-2004, 11:08 AM
AMD 2500+ (barton core) @ 2300 MHZ (11.5x200) at 1.8 Vcore. (PSU can't handle 12x200 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif )

Von_Zero
11-22-2004, 11:14 AM
P4 3.0 1mb L2 cache, after hanging around in a Duron 1100 this one is a rocket http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Worf101
11-22-2004, 11:31 AM
AMD Athalon FX-53, I gig of OCZ 3500 RAM
Da Worfster

Eagle_361st
11-22-2004, 11:54 AM
AMD 3000+, it may a little long in the tooth now, but still does quite nicely.

Kasdeya
11-22-2004, 11:55 AM
P4 1.6, is it the slowest here, yet? close.

ausmondo
11-22-2004, 02:03 PM
AMD 2800+ (Barton)
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JR_Greenhorn
11-22-2004, 11:51 PM
I play PF on a 1.4GHz P4. Its not mine, so I don't know much else about it. At least it beats Kasdeya for the slowest so far.



And now, if you all don't mind, I've a few questions:

Those of you with liqiud cooling, do you recommend it?
I'm slowly learning about PC hardware, but as an enthusiast in just about anything with an engine, I tend to think of air cooling as kind of silly for a performance application (especially a stationary one!).

Can the other heatsinks and fans be replaced with liquid cooling blocks, like on the video card? Can every offending heatsink and fan in the case be replaced with liquid cooling, so that the case can be sound insulated to get some peace and quiet?

When remote mounting a heat exchanger, is there a rule of thumb to put an estimated value on the heat it needs to reject?

Can the heat exchanger be placed in the toilet tank, providing a large volume of cold water at every flush, eager to absorb that evil heat?

RocketRobin__
11-23-2004, 01:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JR_Greenhorn:
I play PF on a 1.4GHz P4...
Can the heat exchanger be placed in the toilet tank, providing a large volume of cold water at every flush, eager to absorb that evil heat? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've heard that type of cooling rig is most effective when combined with a beer keg on your computing desk.
On the other hand, the urinal type liquid cooling systems are generally less effective.

JG52MadAdler
11-23-2004, 02:19 AM
Home Network

AMD XP3200 Barton 512k
AMD XP2700 256k
AMD XP2400 256k
2 NVidia 5600's
1 Nvidia 5700's
2 (W) 512 PC400
1 (W) 1024 PC400
2 (W) XP Home
1 (W) 98SE
BTW: 98SE I get kick @ss FPS



All handle PF great!

As with any half decent system your preformance
will depend on how good your system is tweaked.
Some out there with monster machines have problems others with modest machines run perfect.
Garbage in Garbage out!

TheGozr
11-23-2004, 03:31 AM
Amd 3700 1mb cache running at a relax speed of 2.7

ASM 1
11-23-2004, 05:57 AM
3.0E here 1MB cache - thermalright SP94 cpu HS with vantec 92MM tornado fan. yes it can get noisy when I crank things up but surprisingly it isnt too bad.

Was going to ask if anybody has a P4 3.4 Extreme (socket 478 or 775) but apparently CARBONFREEZE does http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif lucky sod!

ah well will hopefully be building an FX 55 at some point in the next few months - until then this'll do me quite nicely thank you... once I get some decent ram to replace my cheap stuff that is well and truly knackeredhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif.

modeler
11-23-2004, 08:32 AM
Athlon64 3400+ 512KB L2 cache overlocked to 2600 MHZ

ddsflyer
11-23-2004, 09:30 AM
Northwood, see below.

Cajun76
11-23-2004, 09:40 AM
AMD 64 bit 3200+ w/ 1MB cache and 2 Gig of PC3200 and an OC'ed 9700 Pro 128Mb @ 420/375

LuckyBoy1
11-23-2004, 10:52 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Eagle_361st:
AMD 3000+, it may a little long in the tooth now, but still does quite nicely. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

A big negative on that long in the tooth thing! That's fine CPU and unless you are upgrading to a AMD 64 939 pin rig, and I mean the one with 1 MB of cache, you'll not get a whole lot more for your money. Hang in there and wait is what I would do on that one until like Feburary of 2005 when prices will drop like a rock!

bazzaah2
11-23-2004, 10:57 AM
interesting. Why Feb 2005? I'd like to upgrade to a socket 939 3500+. Reckon it's worth holding on?

westcoastphil
11-23-2004, 02:31 PM
AMD 64+ 3000 with 512k cache. Nice CPU hopefully will get started on OCing it once I make sure my new mobo passes its stability probationary period http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

tankeriv
11-23-2004, 03:13 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1Mb S754.
Own it for a year now. Rock and rock stable.

Very low temps.

26C idle 29C stressed. (not during summer and hot days.) but this is what ASUS System doctor tells me.

-HH- Beebop
11-23-2004, 07:43 PM
P4/3.2GHz Northwood (512 Mb cache) because it's cool(er) than the (1 Mb cache) Prescott. And, it can give me 40-70 fps with the right video drivers. (Cat 4.12 beta in an ATI 9800XT).

Hunter82
11-23-2004, 07:59 PM
Prices are not going to drop like a rock especially on 64 bit CPU's ...they may drop like 5% after the holidays but in reality that's pennies. With XP 64 bit on the near horizon 64bit CPU's will be in higher demand and will not have the need to drop much.

Memory $ flucuates daily.... HD's and some CPU's just went up yesterday. Video cards will not drop until the next releases and then it will be very slight as the price points are reaching near the $600 US MSRP so the current prices WILL fall in line with steppings.

Not until the newer dual core CPU's come out or even some type of monster seller will others drop in a range greater than 10%.

Usually end of 1st qtr is when the price drops slightly but as seen in the current market getting good yields has steadied the price and for the most part increased it.

My vendors I've spoken to do not believe pricing will be droppng as it has in the past years unless good yields start to be more frequent.

HunterZer0
11-23-2004, 11:25 PM
Pentium III 700MHz. LOL. I need a new computer...

- HZ

LuckyBoy1
11-24-2004, 01:08 AM
Hunter82 told us the same thing about the 9800 Pro cards. He was of course, wrong, but then again, if they are truly stretching out the capabilities of silicon, maybe the technological jumps... yes, they are slowing... and with that, price drops slow as well. Yes, if you check prices just after X-mas, you'll see about a 5% drop, which by the way... those "pennies" add up to $10.00 on a $200.00 CPU with a 5% price drop. The parts manufacturers know that many will wait until just after X-mas. Then, most are dumb enough to think prices won't drop so they lose patients and buy then. After that bump in sales is over, sales fall flat in January as credit card bills from the holidays start coming in. At this point, there is usually a brave announcement by both Intel and AMD that prices will stay where they are. Wait three weeks after that announcement and see what happens! Their production lines will get better at cranking out parts at a time when nobody's buying. If you wait until mid-Feb. you'll see more like a 15-20% price drop over what you'll pay now.

Also, I hate to break the news to the 512 MB of cache crowd, but after you reach a certain clock speed, you start getting the same result from the 512 MB cached chips as you did when you overclocked your 256 cached chip. I'm not saying it doesn't help, but it is a diminishing return. This statement is based on actual performance with eye candy settings turned up and pushing a 16 pixel pipeline card. After all, the human eye has never been clocked seeing the screen as anything other than seemless past 60 frames per second. Most see the screen as seemless well before 40 frames per second. so the battle at this point is not so much for more frames per second, but for more eye candy and still have a decent frame rate. This is where the extra cache comes into its own.

tankeriv
11-24-2004, 02:18 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by -HH- Beebop:
P4/3.2GHz Northwood (512 Mb cache) because it's cool(er) than the (1 Mb cache) Prescott. And, it can give me 40-70 fps with the right video drivers. (Cat 4.12 beta in an ATI 9800XT). <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Why didn't you buy an Athlon 64 then?
Those things operate at lower temps.

MoeLarryCheese
11-24-2004, 03:33 AM
You left off the P4 EE chip with 2 megs cache.
that is what I run.
It eats Athalons for breakfast.

MLC

HexAngel
11-24-2004, 04:15 AM
AMD Barton overclocked to 2,4 GHz while running IL2 stable under 50ā?C http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

bazzaah2
11-24-2004, 05:21 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LuckyBoy1:
Hunter82 told us the same thing about the 9800 Pro cards. He was of course, wrong, but then again, if they are truly stretching out the capabilities of silicon, maybe the technological jumps... yes, they are slowing... and with that, price drops slow as well. Yes, if you check prices just after X-mas, you'll see about a 5% drop, which by the way... those "pennies" add up to $10.00 on a $200.00 CPU with a 5% price drop. The parts manufacturers know that many will wait until just after X-mas. Then, most are dumb enough to think prices won't drop so they lose patients and buy then. After that bump in sales is over, sales fall flat in January as credit card bills from the holidays start coming in. At this point, there is usually a brave announcement by both Intel and AMD that prices will stay where they are. Wait three weeks after that announcement and see what happens! Their production lines will get better at cranking out parts at a time when nobody's buying. If you wait until mid-Feb. you'll see more like a 15-20% price drop over what you'll pay now.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Cool, thanks Hunter and Luckboy. Good to buy in a time of oversupply. Think I'll hold on a bit especially as I've managed to tweak halfway respectable performance out of my distinctly unfashionable machine recently. And, as you say, even 5% would be better than 'owt.

I feel like building the new rig myself and that will give me some time to buy a screwdriver or two. Let this be a warning to you all - spend too much time on community support wondering about RAM timings and BIOS settings and you'll end up building a new rig from scratch, lol.

It opens up some amazing possibilities if you've got a little money to play with. Best in my machine than someone else's pockets I say.

LEXX_Luthor
11-24-2004, 08:49 AM
Last nite just put together my new "FB" computer. Upgraded from...

Athalon 1700+ ~~~> socket 754 Semperon 3100+ (AMD64 2800+)
256MB SDRAM ~~> 1Gig DDR
ATI~9200 ~~> ATI~9200 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
will upgrade to 9800Ultra or whatever mainstream card next year)
:

FPS is unchanged--when flying alone on the map. But in QMB dogfight with 32 aircraft in shooting combat, and I in Autopiloted cockpit, I get double or more time compression available before fps starts to drop. 8x time speed still chokes, but 4x is smooth. That's about the same as 32x4 or 128 aircraft in combat. With the old Athalon 1700+ and 256MB SDRAM, I could use 2x time compression and still lost some fps.

Thanks Luckybuy1 about the cache, my Semperon 3100+ is only missing 64bit capability (uh...okay) and 256 out of 512 L2 cahce. For math intensive stuff, L2 cahce is not too important, except for matrix calculation benchmarks designed to neatly fill the L2 cache between 256MB and 512MB. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif I have seen hardware sites use this kind of matrix bench, and they use it to say AMD64 full cache crushes Semperon.

On my old Athalon 1700+ and my older 133MHz Pentium, I could disable L2 cache in BIOS and not notice any difference in my FORTRAN compiled space combat sim and only very slight difference in FORTRAN compile time. However, turning off L1 cache is Brutal. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif Its funny, I compile my old FORTRAN software in DOS 6.22 Ramdisk, and my old 133MHz Pentium took 18 seconds to compile my space sim. My Athalon 1700+ did it in 3 seconds. My new Semperon 3100+ does it in 1.5 seconds. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

When I finished installing Semperon 3100+ I test by booting up in my smallest backup hard drive--old 125MB drive with DOS 6.22. So, basically, I am using 64bit chip (well, originally made for 64bits http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif) to run 32bit DOS Extender and 32bit FORTRAN on 16bit DOS operating system. Of course, the full real test was installling Windows on new hard drive. That's always scary.