PDA

View Full Version : Voice Comms Question



XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:36 AM
Now that I finally have FB I'm thinkng about voice communication. Typing and 'Enter'ing text is cumbersome, especially if I want to do Co-ops or join a squad. So,

Teamspeak or Roger Wilco or......? Why? Which is used by the majority? Can you use RW and interface with someone using T-Speak?
I heard that Teamspeak is free. T/F?

Spend a lot on a headset (headphone(s) w/mic attached) or not? Why? How much (beyond the obvious 'you get what you paid for it') does cost matter?

P.S. I like links!

(Not saugsage you silly goose!)



*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:36 AM
Now that I finally have FB I'm thinkng about voice communication. Typing and 'Enter'ing text is cumbersome, especially if I want to do Co-ops or join a squad. So,

Teamspeak or Roger Wilco or......? Why? Which is used by the majority? Can you use RW and interface with someone using T-Speak?
I heard that Teamspeak is free. T/F?

Spend a lot on a headset (headphone(s) w/mic attached) or not? Why? How much (beyond the obvious 'you get what you paid for it') does cost matter?

P.S. I like links!

(Not saugsage you silly goose!)



*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:46 AM
Both programs are free.

Teamspeak has more options but Roger Wilco seems to run better on lower end systems.

Headsets with mic's work fine but I find them uncomfortable to use for long sessions and see no improvement over speakers and a cheap desktop mike.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:48 AM
RogerWilco,Teamspeak2,Ventrilo, and Battlecom are the four main voicecoms. RW is used the most. ventrilo is probably the most clear phonelike sounding and stable.

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of the 11 time Champions Team AFJ. 6 Years Flying http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/p47-22.jpg 47|FC=

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:54 AM
S! all

Standing by for more info here as well. RogerWilco used to be the standard..less resources and worked for most fairly well but BattleCom was better for those with more bandwith but it is no longer supported as far as I know. I hear some speak of Teamsound but no nothing about it.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 02:13 AM
My squad use TS. We have found it the best for quality out of RW, BC and TS.

I use a cheap headphones/mic combo..only costs about 10. I find it real comfortable, and it doesn't pick up as much background noise as a desktop mic.

<center>http://www.geocities.com/welshdaz_uk/190.txt



http://www.join.jzg23.de

"Ich bin ein Würgerwhiner"

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 02:22 AM
Uh-oh... RBJ should be here shortly!! Now you've done it!

Ronnie

<center>http://www3.sympatico.ca/corporon2001/First_Kill.jpg </center>
<center>Woot! First online Kill!</center>

"The proletarians have nothing to lose but their chains. They have a world to win."
-Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, "The Communist Manifesto"

"In the souls of the people the grapes of wrath are filling and growing heavy, growing heavy for the vintage."
-John Steinbeck, "The Grapes of Wrath"

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 02:33 AM
Thanks for the input everyone.

Did I really summon the RBJ? Can you put voice comms on a slider too?

*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 03:05 AM
Here's what I've found so far.

Battlecom site does not list Creative/Soundblaster cards in it's supported card list. IL-2 & FB are not on their supported games list.

Ventrilo's site is hard to navigate. I couldn't find a supported cards/games page.

Teamspeak2's site says that TS2 is still in development. (If people are using it does that means they are using a beta version?)

Roger Wilco site made it seem to be the way to go. Pleanty of info to be found.

Before I make the plunge I'll keep watching this thread. If you've had any experiences with any of these or other voice comm products, good or bad, let me know.

I am running FB on a marginal system, (P4 1.7, 512Mb PC800 RDRAM, Soundblaster Audigey).

At this time RW looks best for the system w/o causing big online lag.

*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 03:14 AM
RW is fine Teamspeak RC2 works good for our squad so far, no problems, lag is not an issue on either comm software, we have run these comms since they came out.

As far as Headsets, your answer is Yes any cheap pair will do, and sound just fine. the question you need to ask yourself when buying a set is how much do I want to pay, and can I replace them easily if I throw them down for getting mad at my system lol.

I suggest you dont spend alot of money on headsets or microphones. Get yourself a cheap labtec set of headphones for arround $14 US. dont throw them and you'll use them for years.

<table style="filter:glow[color=blueviolet, strength=3"><tr><td> <font color="FFCC66">Colonel Eagle
Commanding Officer
31st Fighter Group
Blue Dragons ~

"Return With Honor"</font></td></tr></table>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 03:24 AM
Best advice?

Grab all of them. Unless you are a member of a squad that uses one program and one only. I keep all of them avalible, as you never know which any group might use at the same time.

As they are free. you have nothing to lose by downloading them all.

That way you know you have whatever is needed. instead of getting ready for a game, and having the other players ask you to join one you don't have.

Cess-Lorak

http://home.triad.rr.com/lmcgarvey/lorak.jpg (http://www.Cess-Patrol.com)
Cess-Patrol: Where the flying really stinks!

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 04:46 AM
Voice comms are great if you don't mind lagging the server to hell.

These just something about turning the server into a walkie talkie that just ruins the purity of the game.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 08:20 AM
we used to use Teamspeak but now weve switched to ventrillo. its much clearer and uses less bandwidth.

flying online as 25th_Inmate



http://www.vfa25.com/sigs/inmate.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 08:54 AM
Looks like the thing to do is get 'em all and use whatever is being used on the server.
The one question that wasn't answered (at least directly) was the ability to hear someone on say Teamspeak if you are on say Roger Wilco. Something tells me this isn't possible.

Thanks again to everybody. The information you provided was useful and timely.

P.S.
RayBanJockey wrote:

- These just something about turning the server into a
- walkie talkie that just ruins the purity of the
- game.

This isn't a WW I sim!
Tell me Ray, what is "impure" about using radio comms in a WW II sim? I don't think that they yelled at each other over the roar of the plane!/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif



*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 09:31 AM
i tend to agree....

not that i want to offend anyone (who would proly put me in the dirt), but i dont see what is impure, about it.

text, is deffinately not the way to go, cept for quick urgent messages.

granted, i do believe there should be a "lead man" for radio transmissions. not everyone i think should blab. unless there is something imperative to say. otherwise keep it clean, short , and sweet.

like posted before, (although curious) im sure that the offered programs are proly not compatible with each other. and...since i havent used any yet other than the one with game, have another question.
lots of times i try using "stock" radio. and it usually garbled recieving at first, then clears up after 5 or so minutes.....is this a "proximity" thing like aces high, (or warbirds..not sure) where only local planes in a certain area hear you (visual?) or is it just a bad program that was thrown in, but never really tweaked out?

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 09:38 AM
RayBanJockey wrote:
- Voice comms are great if you don't mind lagging the
- server to hell.
-
- These just something about turning the server into a
- walkie talkie that just ruins the purity of the
- game.

Oh, you just said that to get people angry. You know as well as anyone that a lot of servers run plenty of bandwidth. You just gotta look for them a bit.


SSgt Tim Schuster
8MXS Inspection Section
Kunsan AB, Korea

-Defend the Forums!
-Accept Follow-on Patches and stuff!
-Take the Fight Online!

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:19 AM
Yes,

But RanBan (I'm sad to say) does have one point.

If and when possible don't run your voice server from the same machine hosting the game. Can cause bandwidth problems if your running big games. Much better for another member to host voice while someone else host the game.

And no, the diffrent voice comm software doesn't work together. It is why I suggest grabbing them all, so you will have the one you need when you need it.

Cess-Lorak

http://home.triad.rr.com/lmcgarvey/lorak.jpg (http://www.Cess-Patrol.com)
Cess-Patrol: Where the flying really stinks!

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 12:12 PM
RayBanJockey wrote:
- Voice comms are great if you don't mind lagging the
- server to hell.

And yes, you can have an other server (the old obselete one) running the comsystem, which won´t lag your game at all.
I think the talking is half the game, when in coop there is!
www.f19vs.tk (http://www.f19vs.tk)

http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Gazoo-IDCard-sm.gif

Message Edited on 08/10/0312:15PM by F19_Gazoo

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 12:22 PM
Or if you use TS the TS can host the server for you. Sound quality is a lot better than RW. But it can have troubles if more than 15 persons is on the same channel.
My former OFP clan (www.21vb.dk (http://www.21vb.dk)) uses it and have discarded RW because of it. The TS forum is very active and the product is alive. RW hasn't been upgraded the last couple of years.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 12:24 PM
Check out Ventrilo! Much nicer to k56:s. Better sound RW, but not as TS.

www.f19vs.tk (http://www.f19vs.tk)

http://www.gbg.bonet.se/bjorta/F19-Gazoo-IDCard-sm.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 12:59 PM
I'm using RW (as all my squad), but I like to give you an advice based on my own experience. If your OS allows you, use two sound cards. I do the same (on XP). My both cards are SB, the most advanced is for the game and the second one is for the communication device. I'm also using combine headphones with microphone. It is very realistic.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:16 PM
Our Squadron uses Battlecom and it's truly awful.Sound is bad, dumps players out at random etc.I haven't tried Ventrillo yet, but the best version of Roger Wilco is the last resounding version (Mk1c mod 1) not the spyware Gamespy version.
You can get it here: http://resounding.com/

-----
In memory of 'The Few'
<img src=http://www.lima1.co.uk/Sharkey/spitfire.jpg>
The Tangmere Pilots - http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk/
Know your enemy and know yourself; in a hundred battles, you will never be defeated.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 01:27 PM
RayBanJockey wrote:
- Voice comms are great if you don't mind lagging the
- server to hell.
-
- These just something about turning the server into a
- walkie talkie that just ruins the purity of the
- game.

shows how much you really know about things RBJ.


these voicecomm programs will *NEVER* interact with the serving host, as long as it's a dedicated one.

If you do have one (dedicated), voicecomm programs will *NEVER EVER* lag the server.


that's your basic internet principles 101. you should have stayed awake during class my friend

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 03:44 PM
I would suggest spending a little extra money to puchace a usb headset with mic. With this setup one can isolate the voice comms in the headset and hear the normal game noises on the speakers. The headset I'm useing is the one that came with the PS/2 game U.S. Navy Seals. Lousy game, but very nice earphone mic combo. Works fine on a PC. As for a program, my squad uses TS, but theres no harm in downloding them all.

<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig05.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 06:26 PM
OK. So I'm looking through the manual because in another post/thread I recall seeing a mention of using the voice comms in the game.
I know there are buttons to activate voice comms, but this isn't a voice comm program is it? You still need to have a program (RW, TS, Ventrilo etc.) up and running first, right?

(Sorry if this seems to be a dumb question, but I've overlooked so many obvious things in the past I just thought I'd check.)

*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 09:51 PM
to answer your question

YES! FB has its own program to use voice. no other set-up is needed .

but it some cases it sounds very "synthesized" like a familiar tall, black cloaked man with a certain light saber light saber is behind you...

i scared the crap out some guys...when i said "check six" out of the blue, after keeping quiet for a few hours... next thing i knew, all this chatter came up "voices!..ANYONE HEARING VOICES!.." "im alone..and i heard this voice!..is it the game???? both sides reporting in of the "VOICE"


lol it was great

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:03 PM
Get this
http://www.ventrilo.com/download.php


Get a host
http://www.ventrilo.com/hosting.php

& get a pair of sony headphones & a Highend Labteck mic

Headphones are around 100$
Mic is around 15$
Ventrilo is Free
A Ventrilo host is around 10/12$ a month

Sounds like you talking on the Phone
------------------------------------------------------------

The cheepest Headphones I found were 70$ @ radioshack
you might find a great bargain on the internet somewhere tho
Surf around...

cheepest mic is around 5$

Get ventrilo if you have a fast pc if not get R/W dont get a host just host it yourself each time you fly...

Dosent sound like your on the phone breaks up alot very frustrating asking Come back multiple times....



<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">
I am He who lives, and was dead
and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:04 PM
Thanks GAU_8. I might give it a try.



*****Only left handed people are in their right minds.*****

<center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/wing.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:10 PM
RayBanJockey wrote:
- Voice comms are great if you don't mind lagging the
- server to hell.
-
- These just something about turning the server into a
- walkie talkie that just ruins the purity of the
- game.
-

Thats why you pay for a 3rd party host Ray there is no lag caused by v-comms if you use 3rd party hosting.

Another thing Id like to mention is the fact that a Known Cheat/Exploiter is Speaking of the Purity of the Game LMAO you are Whakedddddddd in the Head Ray !!!

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">
I am He who lives, and was dead
and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:15 PM
Cougar_DK wrote:
RW hasn't been
- upgraded the last couple of years.
-

A new version of R/W came out very recentaly R/W is very much alive

TeamSpeak is much nicer than r/w

Ventrilo smokes them all

Need a higher end pc imo for Ven...



<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">
I am He who lives, and was dead
and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 10:28 PM
Lorak wrote:
- Yes,
-
- But RanBan (I'm sad to say) does have one point.
-
- If and when possible don't run your voice server
- from the same machine hosting the game.


Yes this much is True If the Server is Hosting FB & playing On that same PC & hosting R/W or Ventrilo theres going to be lag you can bet on it... LOTS OF IT!!!

That is why you never do that.. Instead you pay the 12 bucs a month to a 3rd party host who hosts a ven/ts Server for you then you can give your friends the IP & the passwords that you create

Game dosent lag

Voice coms dont stutter & breakup

Its realy worth the 8/10/12 bucs per month

also its lots less hassel geting conected too your friends
Instead of Playing R/W tag for 30 minuts before your inital flight you can simply connect too your v coms & join a game
when your friends come on they do the same thing you never have to sit around in h/l passing out IP numbers to everyone
especialy if you have a dynamic Ip, Static ip's on cable this is not much of a hassel

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ-M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</font>

<center> http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/ah_109_1059752328.jpg </center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">
I am He who lives, and was dead
and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.[/i]</font>

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 11:18 PM
TyCha_777_AVG wrote:
- I would suggest spending a little extra money to
- puchace a usb headset with mic. With this setup one
- can isolate the voice comms in the headset and hear
- the normal game noises on the speakers. The headset
- I'm useing is the one that came with the PS/2 game
- U.S. Navy Seals. Lousy game, but very nice earphone
- mic combo. Works fine on a PC. As for a program, my
- squad uses TS, but theres no harm in downloding them
- all.


Would you please explane how you isolate the voice comms? I have a usb logitech and when its plugged in i can't even get my speaker to work.

XyZspineZyX
08-10-2003, 11:55 PM
GAU 8 wrote ...YES! FB has its own program to use voice. no other set-up is needed .
i havent tryed it...but why arent people using it?

http://bellsouthpwp.net/l/o/lordoliver/forum_misc/StG77Ober.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 12:01 AM
To isolate the voice comms;
First go to the control panel and open up "sound speech and adio devices". Next select the "change sound scheme" funtion. You can also click on the sound device icon. Now go to the audio tab and make sure that your primary sound device is selected for sound playback, recording and MIDI. Next go to the voice tab and select you usb headset for voice playback and voice record. I don't know which voice program you use, but in TS open up options in the settings menu. Then select the headset as the input and the output device. This sould do it for you, (works for me). I am by no means an expert on this kind of stuff. Let me know if you have any other questions.
JG27_Gundog wrote:
-
- TyCha_777_AVG wrote:
-- I would suggest spending a little extra money to
-- puchace a usb headset with mic. With this setup one
-- can isolate the voice comms in the headset and hear
-- the normal game noises on the speakers. The headset
-- I'm useing is the one that came with the PS/2 game
-- U.S. Navy Seals. Lousy game, but very nice earphone
-- mic combo. Works fine on a PC. As for a program, my
-- squad uses TS, but theres no harm in downloding them
-- all.
-
-
- Would you please explane how you isolate the voice
- comms? I have a usb logitech and when its plugged
- in i can't even get my speaker to work.
-
-
-
-
-



<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig05.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 03:33 AM
STG77.

the reason that i know of (correct me if i am wrong here, i could very well be!) is that its just a simple program in the game so that you can tecnically say "oh yeah, if you have a squad online, you can talk instead of text!"

ive tried using it a few times at UBI...most people tell me to get off!. about the only ones who really like it are the ones who havent heard it before, and didnt know it came with the game.

im too lazy to go thru all the trouble to d/l all of the other chat programs. so i just use stocker. i doesnt bother me "too much" that it bothers others when i use it. until i get with a squad, ill kep using the stock one....game shipped with it! im gonna use it! (except OC3, and TX) i repsect their servers. good guys them.

talk to ya soon!

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 04:19 AM
Hmmm, I think some of you are incorrect about Comms not causing lag.

Even if you are paying for a third party server, Someone that has a 56k connection is using bandwidth each time he keys his mic. He is sending packets of voice streams which takes bandwidth and can induce lag. It depends on which codec is being used and how much bandwidth it will take for that codec.

My squad has experimented with every voice comm mentioned in this thread. The 56k users are the ones we have to base our server around due to limited bandwidth. We are very careful to use the most efficient codec to get the best quality for the least bandwidth.

When we recently tested Ventrilo, We started a server on my 1500/350 pipe and one of the other squad mates hosted a DF server. We tested the default codec with a 56k user and saw definate pauses and ping spikes while he was xmitting. After lowering the codec to the lowest available, it was fine. The sound was still better than RW and BC.

As far as high/low end machines, Any machine that can run IL2 can also run a voice proggy. It takes very, very little cpu cycles to run one. Its all about the bandwidth!

PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 05:21 AM
TyCha_777_AVG wrote:
- To isolate the voice comms;
- First go to the control panel and open up "sound
- speech and adio devices". Next select the "change
- sound scheme" funtion. You can also click on the
- sound device icon. Now go to the audio tab and make
- sure that your primary sound device is selected for
- sound playback, recording and MIDI. Next go to the
- voice tab and select you usb headset for voice
- playback and voice record. I don't know which voice
- program you use, but in TS open up options in the
- settings menu. Then select the headset as the input
- and the output device. This sould do it for you,
- (works for me). I am by no means an expert on this
- kind of stuff. Let me know if you have any other
-


Thanx TyCha the only part about this that is not clear is

First go to the control panel and open up "sound
- speech and adio devices". Next select the "change
- sound scheme" funtion. You can also click on the
- sound device icon

When i go to sound sheme there is no sound scheme to change. it is just blank. also where do you find the sound device icon your talking about? Other then that everything else is where it shoulb be.. I made the other adjustments. Btw i also use ts.

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 06:16 AM
It might depend on what version of windows you are running. In XP, you can use the new style control panel or revert back to the old style (I think they call it the"classic" control panel. If the change sound scheme does not work, just click the sounds and audio device icon.It is located in the control panel, usualy looks like a speaker. Hope this works for you




<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig05.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 06:17 AM
It might depend on what version of windows you are running. In XP, you can use the new style control panel or revert back to the old style (I think they call it the"classic" control panel. If the change sound scheme does not work, just click the sounds and audio device icon.It is located in the control panel, usualy looks like a speaker. Hope this works for you




<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig05.gif </center>




<center>http://777AVG.com/sigs/sig05.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 11:51 AM
Wing Walkers have been through most, if not all (except the newer Ventrillo -might still give that a try) of the voice comms programs. We've settled on TeamSpeak2-RC2 as our default voice comms program. The servers we use aren't on the same machines any game server is on so there is interference with the server's bandwidth.

We've been very pleased with TS over the last 12 months or so that we've used it. TS2 is highly recommended.

Your concern about TS2 being "under developement" is warranted, but only in that TS2 is not a dead-end. The developers are constantly working to improve the program. It does mean there are occasional updates required, but that's fine by us. I like to see a software package that is being continually polished. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

TS2 also offers free servers to the public, if you want to test it out. They're listed on the main TeamSpeak web page - http://www.teamspeak.org/ - in a box on the right. Clicking any one will automatically open TS (assuming you've installed it) and you can start chatting away.



WW-V-TFW CO

[email="wwsandman@wingwalkers.org>Email</a>
WW Forum (http://www.wingwalkers.org/Forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
08-11-2003, 04:55 PM
WWSandMan wrote:
- TS2 also offers free servers to the public, if you
- want to test it out. They're listed on the main
- TeamSpeak web page - http://www.teamspeak.org/ - in a
- box on the right. Clicking any one will
- automatically open TS (assuming you've installed it)
- and you can start chatting away.
-
-

This is a great idea. I used it for months like this and set it up with a pw. When I would join a room there was usually a squad on one color and they were on comms. If even two or three guys on the other color would join it could go far in leveling the playing field and made it more fun. As it turned out, three of the original guys that used to join the com channel are now together on a squad.



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/p47atm.gif