PDA

View Full Version : Installation Question



XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 02:39 AM
I just purchased IL2 Sturmovik and installed it on my Windows 98SE PC. During the installation, it suggested that I do a full install (all 522 MB) and would not let me change it. I went ahead and installed it this way and noticed that you do not need the disk inserted to play the game. Is this normal for this game? It seems like a large install size for a game. (It takes up more space than my OS) Is there a way to change it so that less is installed and the rest can be read from the disk? Thanks for any and all responses!

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 02:39 AM
I just purchased IL2 Sturmovik and installed it on my Windows 98SE PC. During the installation, it suggested that I do a full install (all 522 MB) and would not let me change it. I went ahead and installed it this way and noticed that you do not need the disk inserted to play the game. Is this normal for this game? It seems like a large install size for a game. (It takes up more space than my OS) Is there a way to change it so that less is installed and the rest can be read from the disk? Thanks for any and all responses!

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 02:42 AM
522 Mb is not all that uncommon for a game. some games, like bf1942, take over 1.2 Gb and still require a CD in the drive

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 02:45 AM
The original Il2 had a copy protected key CD that needed to be in the drive. How do you get it to work without one ?????

<center> http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SQDLAtUWiWZ3BKw19!aryp7v3C1h1DuNwpHOOuqhlraGSyMAY KiPEOZAA1OBgsLu*Sa0UQ2my0PiFyvNkJ5K7Clsoy7yNtEvOXY nHDuPNiotpZACY2oJxw/aircraftround.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 02:48 AM
just checked the size of my bf1942 folder and with mods, expansion, extra maps and all, its 2.27 Gb and the CD must be in to play. if theres a way to get il-2 to work without the CD its probably illegal or unsafe, you might not want to get into all that nastiness...

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 03:32 AM
You will probably get a smoother running game with it all loaded on your machine.The game will not have to go and read the cd every time it needs some info.(as with a minimal install)

XyZspineZyX
08-12-2003, 03:54 AM
Is it possible that the version of IL2 that is being packaged now for $19.95 is set up to run without the cd? I bought the jewel case version of WWII Fighters, and there are some definite differences over the original.

http://www.cherokee.org/Culture/images/proctorZeke.jpg
"My ancestors didn't come over in the Mayflower--they met the boat."


http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612345111