PDA

View Full Version : 262 Engine Restart in Mid Air



XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 06:56 PM
I was flyin the 262 yesterday and had a flame out by throttling to fast. One engine quit but the other one was fine. I tried restarting the engine that quit several times with no sucess. So I flew to the nearest airbase and made a perfect landing. Came to a stop a then was able to restart the engine that quit and I took back off and got back to the fight.

I was wondering if the 262 engines could be restarted in mid air sucessfully or not.

Anyone know? Is this a bug in the game?

I have had problems also where i would shut one engine off in the air but could never get it restarted even after landing.

Got to love that 262 now since the patch you can fly with one engine now.

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 06:56 PM
I was flyin the 262 yesterday and had a flame out by throttling to fast. One engine quit but the other one was fine. I tried restarting the engine that quit several times with no sucess. So I flew to the nearest airbase and made a perfect landing. Came to a stop a then was able to restart the engine that quit and I took back off and got back to the fight.

I was wondering if the 262 engines could be restarted in mid air sucessfully or not.

Anyone know? Is this a bug in the game?

I have had problems also where i would shut one engine off in the air but could never get it restarted even after landing.

Got to love that 262 now since the patch you can fly with one engine now.

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 07:07 PM
I've never successfully re-started an engine while flying, i'm not sure if it's a "safety" feature or a bug, and i've never heard of it really being done in real life, so maybe it can't be done at all. And, yep, i love the one engine fly now too! Eventually you start to lose power and height, but it doesn't occur straight away unless you don't conserve energy as a general rule. I managed to tear an engine off during combat and after reaching a near stall point managed to correct myself and limp away from battle with pride intact, just made it to my airfield in time too!

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 07:51 PM
If I remember correctly, and my memory is very fuzzy on this, the 262 needed some sort of external rig to get it started (?battery pack), so without it you couldn't do a re-start.

Haven't flown post-patch yet /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif (arrrgh...cable modem's down.)



cheers,
Tony
(flying as "wombat" on HL)


< !--image map -->
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~tonybirchill/sig.jpg
<map name="main">
<area shape="rect" coords="0,0,200,54" href="http://www.il2airracing.com/" alt="Il2 online air racing">
<area shape="rect" coords="200,0,400,54" href="http://pub82.ezboard.com/b1ejava" alt="skinners heaven">
</map>


oh yeah, and I'm a Whirlwind whiner too /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 09:03 PM
The 262 engine could be restarted in midair. It was common procedure both during testing and operationally, given the fact the engines were always flaming out.

AFAIK there was a special type of fuel carried onboard specifically for starting the engine. Once combustion was started, and the turbines spun up, it would switch to the normal fuel.

However, there were 2 conditions to restarting the engine. One, the aircraft had to be at low altitude (below 3000m), and two, the speed had to be low, to prevent the engine from flaming out again. Even under these conditions, pilots noted that it sometimes took many tries to restart, and other times worked immediately.


http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb06894.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb57471.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb11726.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb75733.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb80477.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb64472.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb59442.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb80347.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb73057.gif http://www.smiliedb.de/s/sdb48642.gif

Message Edited on 08/26/0302:05PM by StG77_Fennec

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 09:06 PM
It actually had small two-stroke engine build into each jet engine front cover to initially spin the turbine. I would guess it should not be needed in the air.

AKA_Bogun

---------------
The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.

- Tom Clancy

---------------
Ilsa: "That was the day the Germans marched into Paris."
Rick: "Not an easy day to forget. The Germans wore grey, you wore blue."
Ilsa: "Yes. I have put that dress away. When the Germans march out, I'll wear that dress again."

- Casablanca, 1942

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 09:10 PM
True, the first jet-engines where started with electricity. Just like piston engines but, when jet engine's got bigger and bigger, they began to use pneumatics, because it took too much electrical power.

The T-33 (P-80 2 seat) allready needs 600 amps!!

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye
shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be
measured to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
08-26-2003, 11:22 PM
If you are going to be technical about it the 2 stroke engine was located in the spinner at the front of the compressor and spun the compressor not the tubine.

"A Riedal 2 cylinder 2 stroke starter engine is mounted in the air intake co-axially with the compressor shaft. It can be started electrically or by means of a cable and pulley. Fuel foor the starter motor is contained in a tank of 3 litre capacity mounted in the nose forward of the oil tank. Starter fuel for the turbo jet is contained in a semi circular tank mounted forward of the oil tank. Starter fuel is petrol."

Janes fighting aircraft of WW2

"They Gave All Their Tommorrows So That We Can Have Our Todays"

"Whirlwind Whiner"
First Of The Few