PDA

View Full Version : Correct rudder usage

DmdSeeker
12-09-2004, 06:56 PM
And side slip...

I'm not a pilot; but I've "had a go" a couple of times in a Cessna and took a couple of gliding lessons. I've been flying sims of one sort or another for 8 or nine years now....

I've always been told to keep the ball/needle/cotton thread centered; and in both Airwarrior and Aces High I don't really use rudder much in general flying; though I rely heavily on the rudder in turn fights and for gunnery.

However; I fly AEP offline a lot; and I've noticed the AI use; by my standards; and inordinately huge amount of rudder; with the ball or needle way off from centre.

What's up with that?

BuzzU
12-09-2004, 07:16 PM
The AI do lots of goofy things. Ignore it.

Tully__
12-09-2004, 08:46 PM
Further, though you should keep the ball centered while flying "correctly" in civil aviation, there are times in combat when a big dose of rudder can help. You can use it to make last minute aim corrections or make your plane appear to be flying in a slightly different direction to confuse someone attempting to get a shot on you.

Don't overdo it though, un-coordinated flight increases drag a bit and makes it easier to lose energy when you may not want to. You may also find that the person shooting at you knows the rudder trick and the apparent change in direction wont confuse him/her at all http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif.

jugent
12-10-2004, 06:22 AM
The rudder function was better in IL2. In FB/AEP/PF you can roll and it doesnt inflict yaw and it doesnt reduce speed due to increased drag.
I think that this is because most user got joystick that corrects rudder by twisting the stick.
German planes got a fixed rudder tab and it made corrected the yaw a a fixed speed.