PDA

View Full Version : engine cutting out

hoodoouk
11-24-2008, 12:52 PM
Hello, I am still pretty new to IL2 FB and despite going easy on the throttle, not ticking 'complex engine management' and flying the game in 'easy' mode,I get my engine cutting out about 50% of the time, which means ending the mission early - does anyone have any advice?
Thank you!

VF-17_Jolly
11-24-2008, 01:02 PM
You are flying I-16 or early Hurricane?

dodgy fuel feed via carburetor if you apply negative G to your aircraft you engine will get flooded and stop, get into the habit of doing a half roll before you dive and all will be well

FoolTrottel
11-24-2008, 01:22 PM
You do not have to end the mission.
You can try and restart the engine, throttle back, press the engine start key, and keep trying...

Mr_Zooly
11-24-2008, 02:54 PM
and trying....and trying....etc
it can take quite a while to get your engine restarted, if like me then you are..erm..whats that word again http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

WTE_Galway
11-24-2008, 02:59 PM
Originally posted by hoodoouk:
Hello, I am still pretty new to IL2 FB and despite going easy on the throttle, not ticking 'complex engine management' and flying the game in 'easy' mode,I get my engine cutting out about 50% of the time, which means ending the mission early - does anyone have any advice?
Thank you!

There is a reason why in this old war movies the planes did a rolling dive rather than just pushing the nose down. It wasn't just because it looked cool in formation it had a purpose http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Try it .. not only does the engine not cut but you can see where you are going better as well http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

TX-EcoDragon
11-24-2008, 03:03 PM
Originally posted by Mr_Zooly: