PDA

View Full Version : OT any ATI tweakers here?



JG6_Oddball
10-18-2007, 10:46 AM
I just installed a x1650pro PCI-e x16 and was wondering if anyone here knows how to get the best performance out of these cards, the backend is 2 gigs of ddr2800 ram AMD 3800+ 64, post my MB modle later, its a gigabye with full x16 pci-e.

thnx for any help

S!

p.s with all settings turned up to excellent im geting 35-60 sustainable FPS

Inadaze
10-18-2007, 10:57 AM
Set the Catalyst AI to advanced (it's in the 3d section of the CCC) That should help your frames http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
Oh, and make sure effects is set to 0 in your conf.ini file http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

CPT_Iceman
10-18-2007, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by Inadaze:
Set the Catalyst AI to advanced (it's in the 3d section of the CCC) That should help your frames http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
Oh, and make sure effects is set to 0 in your conf.ini file http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

You have to have effect to 0 .. I would say return that pick of junk and get a 2nd hand nvidia card . we use effects 2...

Zoom2136
10-18-2007, 11:22 AM
Every thing you need to know about ATI and conf.ini setup here:


http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html

VMF-214_HaVoK
10-18-2007, 05:16 PM
make sure effects is set to 0 in your conf.ini file

Why would you do this? The 1650Pro will effects=1 easily.

Inadaze
10-18-2007, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by VMF-214_HaVoK:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">make sure effects is set to 0 in your conf.ini file

Why would you do this? The 1650Pro will effects=1 easily. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah, it can manage effects=1, but I find with my 1950pro that effects=0 helps my minimum frame rate quite a bit, especially when near lots of AAA on carriers and such like. I don't see much difference in effects being set to 0 except for losing some shadows from smoke and reflections in the sea from gunfire etc, personally I go for as smooth a game as possible and the 0 setting helps that.

Persecutor_352
10-18-2007, 06:35 PM
Ignore the Catalyst Control Center entirely, but do not disable the ATI Key Poller that runs in memory.

Visit Guru3d (http://www.guru3d.com/article/atitraytools/189/) and download and install the latest version of the ATI Tray Tool.

Then visit this link (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=33) to learn the ins and outs of the options. The "Advanced Tweaks" open up a lot of power in the ATI Drivers and most folks don't know about them.

Hope this helps.

hkg36sd
10-18-2007, 07:03 PM
You have to have effect to 0 .. I would say return that pick of junk and get a 2nd hand nvidia card . we use effects 2...[/QUOTE]

I've had both cards. Each one has advantages and disadvantages. Started with Nvidia and when I got an ATI (same as above), I was pleasantly surprised.. .almost wish I had an easy modular option to switch out the cards!

JG6_Oddball
10-21-2007, 10:54 PM
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=1
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=1
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

with the avove setting's (stock I think) I get this which i am very happy with.

http://jg6.net/images/werwe.png


p.s anti-aliasing=4x Anissotropic filter is 4x , all other settings are set to quility http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif this card is the best bang for the buck as far as i can tell .

S!

JG6_Oddball
10-21-2007, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by Zoom2136:
Every thing you need to know about ATI and conf.ini setup here:


http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/IL2setup.html

thnx zoom