PDA

View Full Version : How do I conduct a patrol

blubalou
08-08-2006, 11:57 AM
I'm new to SH III Last night I conducted my first career mission. Didn't have much luck, but at least I made it home alive.

I need advice. How do I patrol? Do I just cruise on the surface looking for prey or should I be cruising submerged listening for my targets?

For that matter how should I come and go from my home port? Is it ok to just chug along at Full or Standard speed from home to my patrol zone or should I be submerged most of the time surfacing at night to top off my air tanks and recharge my batteries?

Help please!

blubalou
08-08-2006, 11:57 AM
I'm new to SH III Last night I conducted my first career mission. Didn't have much luck, but at least I made it home alive.

I need advice. How do I patrol? Do I just cruise on the surface looking for prey or should I be cruising submerged listening for my targets?

For that matter how should I come and go from my home port? Is it ok to just chug along at Full or Standard speed from home to my patrol zone or should I be submerged most of the time surfacing at night to top off my air tanks and recharge my batteries?

Help please!

Fish40
08-08-2006, 12:44 PM
Patroling at full speed is a great way to end up running out of fuel! I usually plot a coarse useing the map which came with the game as a guide. You will find well known convoy and single ship routes on it. After leaving port, I usually travel at 1/3 speed, or about 9kts to my assigned patrol area. Remember to plot a coarse which will take you through the shipping lanes. You may, and usually do find action befor you reach your patrol grid.

When I reach my assigned grid, I will drop down to slow speed. No need to hurry here. The orders say to patrol for 24hrs, but stay longer. Every couple of hrs, dive to 30m and do a sound check. I have picked up alot of contacts that I would have never seen this way!