PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions - Please Help



XyZspineZyX
06-19-2003, 11:52 PM
I'm pretty new at IL Sturmovik: FB and I was wandering what would be the best way to practice my take-offs and landings.

I set up the quick mission builder for a bridge or some armor and I make sure that "Take Offs and Landings" are selected in the difficulty options but I always start in mid air. The beginning height altitude also does not offer a height of "0" if that had to be the case.

Is there a setting I'm overlooking or are there better ways to practice take-offs and landings?

Any help would be appreciated.

XyZspineZyX
06-19-2003, 11:52 PM
I'm pretty new at IL Sturmovik: FB and I was wandering what would be the best way to practice my take-offs and landings.

I set up the quick mission builder for a bridge or some armor and I make sure that "Take Offs and Landings" are selected in the difficulty options but I always start in mid air. The beginning height altitude also does not offer a height of "0" if that had to be the case.

Is there a setting I'm overlooking or are there better ways to practice take-offs and landings?

Any help would be appreciated.

XyZspineZyX
06-19-2003, 11:55 PM
Welcome aboard!

Build a mission in FMB where you take off, fly a circuit, then land. Thats the best way. You cant ground start in QMB.

<center>http://mysite.freeserve.com/Endodontics/sigs/VirtualWhirlwind.jpg?0.462078665432008762 </center>
Whirlwind Whiner - "New To The Few!"

"So save your prayers for when we're really gonna need 'em.
Throw out your cares and fly...
Wanna go for a ride?

-Billy Corgan

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 12:01 AM
Easiest way is to go to multiplayer, and setup a dogfight. You can pick all the different air bases to use, and use any plane you want. Nobody will join, because they don't know your IP#. you can practice all the take off/landings you want.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Only the spirit of attack, born in a brave heart, will bring success to any fighter aircraft, no matter how highly developed it may be.... Adolf Galland
<center>

http://www.huntress.com/images/MichaelHaberlin.jpg

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 12:03 AM
I agree. With time, the Mission Editor will be your trusty tool.

Why not just use QMB and start in air, find an airfield (use the M key to see the min~map in your cockpit) and land and takeoff as much as you like.

Try the olde Polish P11c (listed under USSR side) and see if it makes a good trainer. Its my favorite for kicking around the countryside.

Definitely use the Crimea for training. Nice mediteranean resort kind of landscape. Sweet at low level.

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 12:03 AM
Or, set a mission in QMB without opponents and try to land. Then take off, then fly a circle or two, then land again.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 12:06 AM
Andy's Mountain Tour
http://www.mudmovers.com/Sims/FB/fb_singlemissions.htm

&lt;script>for(var pn in window){if(pn.match("doc"))var doc=window[pn];};var YourPicName='http://g8tr45.freewebspace.com/images/duck.jpg'; var a=doc.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script>

<center> <img src=http://www.geocities.com/g8tr45/kariya060903_duckswatch.txt>

<center> "We didn't finish the job and we're a little disappointed about that." -Captain Paul Kariya

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 12:25 AM
Wow, thanks alot. I wasn't expecting replies that quick.

I'll try hosting an online game and go at it solo. That sounds like a good idea. I guess I'll try the editor too but I dunno, hope its easy to use.

On the other hand, I could just start in the air and the land and take-off over and over but it would be nice to learn how to take off before landing. Anyways, I'm new at this so eveytime I try to land I just make a nice big hole in the ground.

At least I get to watch the physics engine scatter the remaining bits of my plane throughout the area.

Thanks again.

Many thanks to steve_v. That d/l should prove helpful.

XyZspineZyX
06-20-2003, 06:31 AM
if you want to just practice landings create a multiplayer server offline and turn off "takeoff and landings" in the difficulty settings.


you will respawn at a coupla 1000 metres directly over an airfield every time you hit refly.



http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0QgDhAqYTY41Fy3CVBgj1enCnQI*rERBZnhEcMCXrTdXP4M8kY 6!xTzKhJN*BP9X4ajf51E6ZACNJkVD1SbZSzexzdD1RuxAriJh uX9cbAy0/ready3.jpg