PDA

View Full Version : How to automatically engage/target aircraft?



thekegalman
03-17-2005, 01:22 PM
Even though the game offers options to engage aircraft and target aircraft, it appears that I have to choose the targets myself with my binoculors....I thought the selection of aircraft was supposed to be automatic.

CCIP
03-17-2005, 01:47 PM
just curious, is that in Campaign or Academy?

thekegalman
03-17-2005, 02:09 PM
i think both

Aviar
03-17-2005, 02:19 PM
This is becoming a big issue, as players are just finding out. I already reported it in the 'Known Issues' topic. Looks like a bug.

Aviar

fordfan25
03-17-2005, 02:34 PM
yes i have this problem to http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Fitz505
03-17-2005, 03:22 PM
If your talking about the training missions, they won't shoot at friendly aircraft, without direct orders from you via the binoc/designate command. All the commands work fine against enemy aircraft. Guess they don't want to join you when your standing in front of the firing squad.

Fitz

HouseElfDobby
03-17-2005, 04:04 PM
It works all right. They just don't engage neutral units by themselves.
I created a quick mission to try it out, get it here:
http://www.efler.net/sh3/air-test.zip

unzip it and place the folder named "air-test" in your \game_directory\data\singlemissions\english folder (or german). Then you can access it via single missions.
Description: you're off the Azores. Man your Flak and order it to engage incoming at any range, any type. Then use time compression if you want, after ca. 2 minutes you will be attacked by two Hurricanes. Your crew will open fire automatically as they should.

Cheers
Dobby