PDA

View Full Version : Does the P-38 accelerate too slowly??

mortoma
03-05-2005, 01:04 PM
I'm no expert, nor have I ever flown a P-38 and no, I don't have any data either. But my impression of the P-38 in this game is that maybe it accelerates too slowly. I may be wrong though. Just seems like maybe with the small frontal area ( for a twin ) and those two powerful engines, that just maybe it should pick up speed better than it does. It seems to pick up speed almost painfully slowly, even if you dive it slightly, say maybe 1,000 FPM down. Like I said I may be wrong so what the heck. Seems like it's one of the slower accelerators in the game for the mid to late war period. Does anyone have any data on it's acceleration???

Blackdog5555
03-05-2005, 01:20 PM
The P38 was the dragster of the allied planes. I saw some data once on its acceleration. Im looking for the file /web again. At sea level the P51 gained about 1.7 mph/sec when the P38 gained about 2.5 mph/sec. I agree that it seem a bit slow on the go. I was interested in doin a drag race with a P51 to prove my "feelings".

VW-IceFire
03-05-2005, 02:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
I'm no expert, nor have I ever flown a P-38 and no, I don't have any data either. But my impression of the P-38 in this game is that maybe it accelerates too slowly. I may be wrong though. Just seems like maybe with the small frontal area ( for a twin ) and those two powerful engines, that just maybe it should pick up speed better than it does. It seems to pick up speed almost painfully slowly, even if you dive it slightly, say maybe 1,000 FPM down. Like I said I may be wrong so what the heck. Seems like it's one of the slower accelerators in the game for the mid to late war period. Does anyone have any data on it's acceleration??? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>