PDA

View Full Version : Tempest tips?

crucislancer
05-20-2007, 07:37 AM
So, I'm playing around with the Tempest, does anyone have any tips for this one?

EiZ0N
05-20-2007, 08:07 AM
Taking rockets slows you down a lot.

It's not that fast (compared to what you might expect), so stay as high as possible.

Climb climb climb!

Don't bother turning with anything.

I'm not an expert though.

Talking of rockets, about a year ago I was playing with the tempest a lot, using rockets. I shot down quite a few enemy fighters with rockets, it was good fun. Get really close and wait for a good deflection shot.

Also works a treat for bombers. Rockets are also funny when the enemy goes low and fast..just shoot the ground http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

VW-IceFire
05-20-2007, 08:28 AM
If the search is still working there have been many good threads in the past on how to fly the Tempest.

Generally speaking you need to stay very fast and zoom in on any opponent you see. Never stay to dogfight...rolling scissors might work for one or two rotations at which point you've bled your speed...so avoid all of that. Stay fast, respond rapidly to an enemy plane, and learn how to hit with the first burst. The advantage with the Tempest is how fast it is down low and its huge firepower. If you can get good at hitting your target in the first shot...then you can guarantee a fair number of kills simply due to the immense firepower.

EiZ0N
05-20-2007, 08:33 AM
I've a question.

When employing BnZ tactics, often the enemy will take evasive action just as you swoop in. Often, for me at least, this throws my aim off and I can't get a shot.

What's the best advice? Swoop back up and keep trying, until they mess up their evasive action?

JtD
05-20-2007, 08:54 AM
That's what I do. Most pilots also have their fav evasive, so when you come in a third time you know where they are going and you nail them.

crucislancer
05-20-2007, 09:51 AM
Originally posted by VW-IceFire: