PDA

View Full Version : A-20--B-25, can,t keep them straight..



potver
11-02-2004, 04:11 AM
I can,t keep them straight off the runway?
I select left eng., right engine, select both but after 50 meters it yerks to the right and with full opposite rudder I can,t keep it straight on the runway.?
The P-38 and Beaufighter are no problem.
Is this a bug or do I something wrong?
Thanks in advance

Von_Zero
11-02-2004, 04:44 AM
select engine #1
start it
set throttle to 0%
unselect engine #1
select engine #2
start it
set throttle to 0%
select both engines
push the brakes
move throttle towards 110%
and off you go... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

potver
11-02-2004, 04:49 AM
So you manege to keep it straight of the runway?

Vipez-
11-02-2004, 04:57 AM
Use the force, Luke! I mean the rudder

potver
11-02-2004, 05:13 AM
Tried but still touches the grass

Von_Zero
11-02-2004, 05:27 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by potver:
So you manege to keep it straight of the runway? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yup,
the A-20 is very docile, it stays on track with very little input from the rudder. the B-25 is a little more "stubborn", but still it is no big deal in keeping it staight.
check and see if there is everything ok with your joystick

potver
11-02-2004, 06:23 AM
With full rudder left it goes to the right whatever I do.
Checked inputs joystick but all,s well.

MA_Moby
11-02-2004, 06:34 AM
Make sure you select BOTH engines soon after starting them individually - othewise you'll get one pushing you off course.

Weather_Man
11-02-2004, 10:02 AM
After I start engines, I always hit "unselect all engines", then "select all engines", to make sure I've got throttle control linked for both engines instead of only the last one I started.

potver
11-02-2004, 11:05 AM
Unfortunatly it,s still the same, but thanks

fherathras
11-02-2004, 11:31 AM
do you have a track? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

potver
11-02-2004, 01:35 PM
I can make a track but (shame) I don,t know how to post things

Von_Zero
11-02-2004, 01:52 PM
there's nothing to be ashamed of, u would need some webspace to be able to upload files other than pics.

icrash
11-02-2004, 07:24 PM
Saw something in here somewhere about selecting both engines, stand on brakes and rev 'em up a few times from 0 to full power to get them both synchronized. I had same prob with the He111 and this worked for me. I cut off the separate engine start though so I don't have to worry about it.

WTE_Galway
11-02-2004, 07:34 PM
turning off the left engine will stop it going to the right http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

scootertgm
11-03-2004, 09:48 AM
Instead of going to 110% throttle, go to 50% throttle till you get rolling them smoothly increase throttle.

If it jerks to one side, then you can compensate with rudder and tapping teh brakes.

JtD
11-03-2004, 01:55 PM
Is the weather okay in this mission?

potver
11-04-2004, 02:43 AM
Thanks guys, the weather is fine(no bad weather)it still is terribly difficult to throw the AC back on it,s trail

1.JaVA_Hornet
11-04-2004, 04:26 AM
Potver,

Did you link the correct joystick settings in
your hotas. 2 days ago I had linked the
aerial trim to the rudder trim so i kept
rolling to the left untill i found my own mistake.

potver
11-04-2004, 06:12 AM
Java-Hornet,

I never used the hot-as controls yet.
only the arrows.
But when everybody can take-off straight (A-20Havoc) without using full left rudder there has to be something wrong.I checked everything joystick settings OK, selected Both engines.
BTW how did you make that beautifull G-3 picture?

mortoma
11-04-2004, 09:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Von_Zero:
select engine #1
start it
set throttle to 0%
unselect engine #1
select engine #2
start it
set throttle to 0%
select both engines
push the brakes
move throttle towards 110%
and off you go... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>You do not have to unselect anything, nor do you even have to bother mapping keys to any of the 'unselect' engine commands. I never have!! If you have selected engine #1 for example, then simply selecting engine #2 will automatically 'unselect' engine #1!!! The use of any of the unselect engine commands is a total waste in this sim. Try it for yourself. It not only works, it's easier and less complicated procedure-wise.
Simply use select and cut out a step in the process!!!

mortoma
11-04-2004, 09:54 AM
Here's my procedure:
Set throttle to zero 0%
Select engine #1
Start engine #1
Wait until it fully fires up ( very important step with jet engines! )
Select engine #2
Start engine #2
Wait until it fully fires up
Then I use the command 'Select All Engines'
Then I take off when my turn to do so.
Never need any 'unselect' commands, never will.

Von_Zero
11-04-2004, 09:59 AM
hmmmm if u select engine #1, then push "i", then select #2 and push "i" again, engine #1 will stop. you have to select and start each engine separately otherwise when starting one of the engines, the other one will stop.

MOhz
11-05-2004, 04:08 AM
potver, how about trying this: to me it sounds like because the a/c is accelerating quickly you need to push down the nose so that the front wheel has enough traction to control the aircarft's yaw movements. it happens with some aircrafts that one has to push the nose down so that the rudder is effective enough. but dont forget to relax and then pull back the stick when its time to take-off!! btw i dont have PF yet so i dont know if it works on carriers...

PS tried posting yesterday but had that stupid server error message... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

Spitf_ACE
11-05-2004, 05:56 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Von_Zero:
hmmmm if u select engine #1, then push "i", then select #2 and push "i" again, engine #1 will stop. you have to select and start each engine _separately_ otherwise when starting one of the engines, the other one will stop. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've never found this the case.

Selecting engine #2 deselects #1, so pressing "i" starts #2, and does nothing to #1. I then select all engines before taking off.

JtD
11-05-2004, 08:59 AM
I made a short track of some ground handling in a A-20.

http://mitglied.lycos.de/jaytdee/quick0000.ntrk

200k

If anything is different on your rig, you probably have an input problem.

potver
11-05-2004, 02:40 PM
I can,t open it unfotunatly. Windows doesn,t recognize it?!(WMedia Player)
Sorry I was a bit late due to Errors?!!

Ketalar
11-05-2004, 05:05 PM
potver:
Copy/save the file to your X:\Ubi Soft\IL-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles\Records\-catalogue, then start IL-2:FB ACE PF and click View Track, select quick0000.ntrk and Play Track. If you want to change views yourself then select Manual View. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I must admit I find your problem a bit strange too, I've never had any problems taxiing the He-111, TB-3, P-38, A-20 or B-25 (or any of the single engine planes). Watch the track, and good luck! (You should mail a track of your own experiences to the person who volunteered to host it so we can see what's going on with your plane.)

JtD
11-06-2004, 12:31 AM
Yes, it's Pacific Fighters internal record/playback function.

I'm also curious to see what's wrong with your take off's. If you have a track you want to share with the communtiy but no webspace, I can certainly host it. Just tell me and you'll get my email adress.

potver
11-06-2004, 03:14 AM
Jtd, I have a record so send me your E-mail

JtD
11-06-2004, 01:30 PM
I sent you my adress in a private tpoic / message.

JtD
11-09-2004, 08:11 AM
So I got the track and it's really strange.

Can't make out any inputs, but the plane does a lot of shaking around the vertical axis.

If this happens on more than one map, I still suppose it's a hardware/input problem. I am no expert there, my system is simple and works.

http://mitlgied.lycos.de/jaytdee/funnya20.ntrk
About 1 meg.

potver
11-11-2004, 06:45 AM
Thanks for looking in to it!

JtD
11-11-2004, 07:56 AM
Sorry I couldn't help. Spent some time thinking:

Have you tried to take off with your joystick uninstalled?

Also, does it happen only on these two planes?

potver
11-11-2004, 09:06 AM
Well I,m used to take off with P-38 and Beauf. They also have the tendency to go right (or left) but I suppose that,s normal and rudderinput corrects it directly.