PDA

View Full Version : need help hosting plzz read this and repley if you can



Mr-Tino-
07-17-2005, 06:25 AM
hey pilot's

I have a little problem (maybe its sounds n00bis)
but i like to host a little server whit one or two friends.
My problem is .. i can join server like FB and PF
i installed the games as standalone and in different directories
but as soon if im in game or at ubi i can't host a server myself
i have read about Dedicated servers and poorts i need to open
but i eant have see something easy how to make a little server (private)
i have broadband internet connection and my hardware is also good

(AMD 64 3000+ , 1024 ddr , ATI raidon 9600 pro 256ddr , and plenty of neon)
(the last is only to make the hole thing look more nicer... )

but anyway i have posted before but nobody seems able to help my out.
i try to shutdown fire wall / and antivirus (Norton)

i can start a server YES but i people can't get in !!
my mates are getting server time out .. and if i try to join my friend i get a,
Server time out .. so Yes i can join at ubi server and Yes i can start hosting a server
But when i started a server no body can join .. so please
it driving my nuts and I€m in need of some good help

Just think I€m a 10 years old kid .. So plz make it understanding for my
o and i have read forums after forums but i cant find the problem

greetings from holland ..

Mr-Tino-
07-17-2005, 06:25 AM
hey pilot's

I have a little problem (maybe its sounds n00bis)
but i like to host a little server whit one or two friends.
My problem is .. i can join server like FB and PF
i installed the games as standalone and in different directories
but as soon if im in game or at ubi i can't host a server myself
i have read about Dedicated servers and poorts i need to open
but i eant have see something easy how to make a little server (private)
i have broadband internet connection and my hardware is also good

(AMD 64 3000+ , 1024 ddr , ATI raidon 9600 pro 256ddr , and plenty of neon)
(the last is only to make the hole thing look more nicer... )

but anyway i have posted before but nobody seems able to help my out.
i try to shutdown fire wall / and antivirus (Norton)

i can start a server YES but i people can't get in !!
my mates are getting server time out .. and if i try to join my friend i get a,
Server time out .. so Yes i can join at ubi server and Yes i can start hosting a server
But when i started a server no body can join .. so please
it driving my nuts and I€m in need of some good help

Just think I€m a 10 years old kid .. So plz make it understanding for my
o and i have read forums after forums but i cant find the problem

greetings from holland ..

VFS-214_Hawk
07-17-2005, 08:15 AM
Do you have DSL or a "box" for your connection? If so there is a "block" on it. This is to protect you but it does not allow you to host a server.

If so, you need to go to your enternet provider's websight and enter your account. In there you can enable ports 21000 to 21001. If you do not do this, you will not be able to host ANY server.

I may not be explaining this 100% correctly but nevertheless, you need to enable ports 21000 to 21001 on your connection.

Bearcat99
07-17-2005, 01:09 PM
Make sure everyone has the same version... are you going through a router? If so open those ports like Hawk mentioned.... try it on Hyperlobby... the link to it is in the Sturmovik Essentials thread in my sig.

Mr-Tino-
07-17-2005, 02:24 PM
Yes we al have the latest version , we doint have a router , we have cable conection.

but tanxx for the tip Hawk http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

9th_Spitin
07-17-2005, 02:32 PM
Do you have a firewall? If so that may be what is blocking you.

VF-29_Sandman
07-18-2005, 06:00 PM
if u have a firewall, make sure u set permissions in the firewall to allow game to act as a server. if u dont, the firewall will block all that try to join as it will see them as 'intruders'.