PDA

View Full Version : how do I get a screenshot?



XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 02:39 PM
Ive read the manual and I cant find how you get a screenshot or where its saved too. I know its written somewhere how is done but Im damned it I can find it again. Help someone!!

XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 02:39 PM
Ive read the manual and I cant find how you get a screenshot or where its saved too. I know its written somewhere how is done but Im damned it I can find it again. Help someone!!

XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 02:47 PM
Press the "printscreen" button, the .tga file will be saved in the FB general dierctory



/This relatively meaningless post has been brought to you by Ackackman.

Duh!

[No scripts and no Pilots lounge make Ack a dull boy]

XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 02:52 PM
It's saved in your FB folder as a Trga file and is usualy labeled as grab1, grab2 etc. You will need a program like Photoshop to open and save as a jpeg or to rename them.

Also, everytime you leave the game and start it back up again, the trga files will be overwritten . So you'll want to move them to a different folder.

btw...are you using the "print screen" key?

As an alternative you can DL Fraps (free at http://www.fraps.com ) and use its screenshot key.

Hope this helps.
Good luck!



http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/TBolt.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 10:52 PM
in paintshop pro 6 or 7 u can watch them too. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
save them as .jpg so they dont take up so much space.
(if u save many).

XyZspineZyX
07-11-2003, 11:02 PM
Irfanview is a nice free utility for viewing and altering file formats.


<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/bp_geminiCombined.gif

<center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Warning: My intense sense of humor may tug at the stick crammed in your shaded spot.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">If you treasure your lack of humor please refrain from reading my posts as they may cause laughter.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Heaven Forbid.</table style></center>
<table style="filter:glow[color=black,strength=1)">
<font size=+2><font color="black">Still loving my P-39</font></font> </table style>
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif
<table style="filter:glow[color=green,strength=4)"> www.blitzpigs.com</center> (http://www.blitzpigs.com</center>) </table style>

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 02:07 AM
OR...you could read the Community Created FAQ!

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif





http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/rcafpost.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 02:14 AM
Well, for viewing there is another alternative to Irfanview, called Xnview (I actually use both). Go to either one of these sites to download:

http://www.xnview.com

http://www.irfanview.com

Both programs are freeware and both run very good and even offer a few simple filters for adjusting the pictures.

<p align="center">http://hometown.aol.de/Deathbrng/Sigfinal.jpg</p><p align="center">'Hmmm? I wonder what the red button is for........'</p><p align="center">HL Nick = BLUE_Schnitter</p>

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:21 AM
Hey chadburn your not really a helpfull guy , why didnt you just type RTFN isnt that what people like you normally do?

To the rest of the guys thanks for the help, problem sorted, I apreciate it.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 05:25 AM
The best is yet to use IL2 manager. Every time you start it, it automatically looks for TGA files and converts them into JPGs.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 06:23 AM
Here's my method:

When you get to a shot/scene you like hit 'P' to pause it. You can then use your mouse to 'twizzle' the subject around trying to get the best angle. Then hit your 'print screen' button.

I then open up MSPowerPoint to a blank presentation and pick 'paste' from the edit menu. Size to fit then save as a .jpg file.

As others have said the shots are saved as files within FB itself but are lost if you exit the sim. But there are several ways of doing the job and mine is but one of those ways. For me it works........


Johann

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 06:58 AM
Also to make realistic screen you will need to turn of all HUD options and also in config.ini file.

If you do it correctly you can make them look like this.

<img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/P47-postthisone3.jpg>

And I'd like to see you post your good ones online /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/normal_K4-sig2.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 07:46 AM
what program you using Rogo? photoshp 7?

if so, how do you blur everything BUT the center object?

<Body bgcolor="red">

http://www.vfa25.com/griffon/newsig.jpg

www.vfa25.com (http://www.vfa25.com/)

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 07:57 AM
Griffom

I use photoshop elements but I'm running a 9700 with 6xaa 16xquality AF and perfect settings.

I use radial blur set to object at best and 3.

<img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/P40M.jpg>



rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/normal_K4-sig2.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 08:10 AM
thanks

<Body bgcolor="red">

http://www.vfa25.com/griffon/newsig.jpg

www.vfa25.com (http://www.vfa25.com/)

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 10:20 AM
Why does the print screen button crash the game? This used to happen in a few games on my old computer and I put it down to WinMe being typically annoying. However, first time I tried to grab a shot in FB on my new system (WinXP), the same happened.

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 10:23 AM
I remember being in the same perdicerment as u!

Wheres that plane? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm. WHAT THE *?/! <<plane explodes>>

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 11:35 AM
Download fraps. Search for it on google.The trial version is free, and can even make low-res movies. If you have a Radeon9700 Pro and are unlucky(as I am), then youwon't be able to use PrintScreen in the game. All you'll get is a blue file. Rogodin, can your card play Perfect settings, or do you turn them on only to make screen-shots?



http://www.student.richmond.edu/~vk5qa/images/sig.jpg


"Come on in, I'll treat you right. I used to know your daddy."

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 01:03 PM
Rogodin, I tried folling around with Photoshop, and while my result is nowhere near as good as yours are, I'll post it anyway. Perhapsyou could give me some advice.

http://www.student.richmond.edu/~vk5qa/images/The-Early-DaysCopy.jpg




http://www.student.richmond.edu/~vk5qa/images/sig.jpg


"Come on in, I'll treat you right. I used to know your daddy."

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:22 PM
Spinne-I can play perfect (for screens I turn on 6xaa 16xaf and perfect)-it's flyable.

Use fraps to take your screens.

rogo

<center><img src =http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/normal_K4-sig2.jpg>


"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-12-2003, 04:36 PM
Another good editing program is Gimp.

Download:
http://www2.arnes.si/~sopjsimo/gimp/
Online manual:
http://manual.gimp.org/manual/GUM/GUM.html

It's not as good as Photoshop, but it's free.
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<center>
http://home.comcast.net/~argylestransom/Pics/A10Bun.jpg
</center>