PDA

View Full Version : Having trouble playing PF in perfect? Try this!



PF_Coastie
10-27-2004, 05:41 PM
Ok, This may not be new to some, but it may help a few getting perfect to run. I have posted a thread in the community help forum with some settings that may help ATI users.

I have only had the game a short time and I am testing these settings on PF stand alone. I need to do some cleaning up on my HD before doing the copying and installing the combo.

HERE (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=4201039432)is the link to the thread if you want to give it a go.

Buzzer1
10-27-2004, 06:00 PM
Have a P4 3Ghz, 1gig ram, 9800pro w/4.10 drivers.
Imreasonably happy with the perforamnce in PF.

Will try your hints... but you say:
*"Anisotropic filtering is a killer in this game. I am advising to turn Aniso completely Off for best possible FPS. To do this, you will need to use Trilinear filtering in PF setup and check Application preference in the ATI Control panel beside the Anisotropic filtering slider."
I turned off aiso... but I cant find where to set Trilinear filtering in PF.
EDIT-figured I had to use the custom-setting... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

Then:
*""force 24bit Z-buffer in the API specific settings." ...not sure where to find this either...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
And Im NOT running the ATI control centre as I had all kind of problems with it. Im using the 'ol 3D TAB in desktop->properties->settings->advanced->3D...and cant find any API settings...
Do I need the control centre?

And btw, I too have the scrambled desktop issue...

BR,
Rune

PF_Coastie
10-27-2004, 06:44 PM
Buzzer, For the old CP, click 3D tab, then Open GL then at bottom should be a button that says Compatability. If you are not seeing the banding issues, you don't need the 24 bit z-buffer.

Use S3TC compression to get rid of the scrambled desktop issue.

Buzzer1
10-27-2004, 06:52 PM
Ahh...there it is.
Dont really see any banding - so Ill stick with 32bits, unless there is anything to gain in fps.

No idea where I set S3TC compression http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif ...only get the distorted desktop a few times.

The No Antistrophic filtering SEEMED to give me better FPS though.

PF_Rory_O_Moore
10-27-2004, 06:55 PM
It works for me, Coastie. Thanks!!!!


http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

PF_Coastie
10-27-2004, 08:15 PM
Buzzer, The S3TC is in your PF setup. Go to the video tab, choose custom and it is under texture compression. Did you download the zip file with all the pics?

Rory, Glad it worked bud.

PF_Coastie
10-28-2004, 03:59 PM
Bumpage!

FRstone
10-28-2004, 07:03 PM
wow my 9600pro/256 handles xcelent mode fine pc is a amd and i got 1.25gigram whers the problems i had none i cant get get over the fact that the 6800 is the only card able to show off the waves or can the asus ax800xt do it to? i hope so coz
thats wot im getting and it out performs the 6800 in evry otheraspect xcept for ps3.0

FRstone
10-28-2004, 07:17 PM
i fellover bakwards and nearl had a stoke findin out that my ax800 wont be able to run the waves coz it only has ps2.0b and it still creams the 6800 oh well Au$950 spent the wrong ways as i thought that by out performing the 6800 id be able to have my buetiful rolling waves :"(

PF_Coastie
10-28-2004, 08:36 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by FRstone:
i fellover bakwards and nearl had a stoke findin out that my ax800 wont be able to run the waves coz it only has ps2.0b and it still creams the 6800 oh well Au$950 spent the wrong ways as i thought that by out performing the 6800 id be able to have my buetiful rolling waves :"( <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

As far as I know, There is not a machine on the planet that can run this game maxed out with playable fps and in any situation right now.

Did you even try my settings?

Supr
10-28-2004, 09:38 PM
I still get the scrambled desktop, even with the st3c(or whatever) compression on. But overall, its been great.

PF_Coastie
11-02-2004, 08:38 PM
Bumpage^

Weather_Man
11-02-2004, 10:05 PM
Nice tips. Though I like the AF on for screenies, this is a great setup for playing. My BlackDeath went from 19fps to 26fps at 1280x960. Seems quite playable on average. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif