PDA

View Full Version : A few newbie questions on IL-2 Sturmovik (Original)

rijnton1944
11-22-2004, 12:54 PM
Before you think my questions are stupid, I would like to tell you that I am completely new with games/flight sims.
The other day I bought Il-2 Sturmovik and Forgotten Battles as well and I started to install Il-2 Sturmovik and tried to play a little with it.
Of course I understand that I have to practice a lot, especially because I am a complete newbie. However I have 2 questions already and I hope you can give me some advice.
1) With setup I have to choose a setting for the videocard under Video. However I don't find my recently bought XFX Geforce 6600GT there. As far as I understand this brand new card should be a rather fast medium class card. The only Geforce I find there are Geforce 2 and 3. Which setting would be the best for me ? (For what it is worth: My system is with a Pentium 4 2,26Ghz and 512MB RAM)
2) Although I have to practice of course and study the manual, I already tried to play a Single Mission. However it is not clear to me how I should proceed. Under briefing I find a map with some goals. Am I supposed to fly in the given direction using the compass and how do I know that I have reached the goal, because there are no distances given ? Should I look at the landmarks on the map and find them on the ground below ?
Like I said I am a complete newbie, so I hope you forgive me when the questions are dumb

ZG77_Lignite
11-22-2004, 02:27 PM
First chose the GF3 option, then chose the Custom option. In the drop down lists, try S3TC and Bilinnear filtering. You may turn up the filtering (trilinnear, Aniso) however be aware that higher settings give a significant hit in performance, I'm guessing you won't want to do that (opinion only, feel free to try)