PDA

View Full Version : Cam2Pan?



orkan_3d
08-19-2006, 10:24 PM
Anyone tried it?
Better or worst than FreeLook?
Or TrackIR? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

FritzGryphon
08-20-2006, 12:18 AM
I found some limited success with Cam2Pan, but only under the brightest lighting conditions.

It wasn't very useful, as I can't play with all the lights on. Not a replacement for TrackIR, by any means.

Dew-Claw
08-20-2006, 12:40 AM
They both work if your willing to put the time and effort into them to get them calibrated.

beefy1966
08-20-2006, 03:25 AM
i gave up with it , now got tir http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif what a difference http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Abbuzze
08-20-2006, 04:16 AM
I think it ist not that bad, but you need to use the mode with the red light-so you also need a red light at your head http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif And you have to force your webcam to run with 30fps at least. It´s nice to look around, but in dogfights I usual just use the cooliehat.

Billy_BigBoy
08-20-2006, 05:17 AM
Tried it yes, but I used too much resources.
But the red-light thing I haven't tried yet, could be an option.
Anyway, my experience with Cam2Pan are better than Freelook.

orkan_3d
08-20-2006, 07:45 AM
Thanks for answers guys!
I was shocked to see that freelook and webcam use some 30% of my CPU!

isooAntti
08-20-2006, 12:55 PM
I've been using Cam2Pan for years now. As I mosly play after dark, I use the 'flashlite' mode. I also use the Newview together with C2P,

Smooth and nice http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

skissors
08-20-2006, 09:52 PM
I use Cam2pan and Newview with Led light stuck to my cap and it works incredibly well for me.

But i have just bit the bullet and ordered a TrackIR4. As I can't get cam2pam to work with Lomac and with BobII its a bit dodgey. If you are just using it for IL2...go for it.

STENKA_69.GIAP
08-21-2006, 04:50 AM
Cam2pan with Flashlight - after tuning works perfectly. Will only go to TIR when 6DOF is enabled. Tested freeview - seems to work OK.

Negligable CPU usage - if it's using 30% I presume you are using a Commadore 64?

Reduce cam resolution to minimum and put it in B&W.

Abbuzze
08-21-2006, 11:02 AM
I forgot to mention, yes the version 2 need to much resource! 20%+ at my 2600 Athlon XP. Version 1 is much better it need around 8-10%!

orkan_3d
08-21-2006, 01:13 PM
I`m using it on Athlon XP 2200, but cam is Logitech with very idiotic driver with no option to change resolution, and that switches back automatic exposition when i turn it off.
By the way, how much is TrackIR resorces hungry?

NP_Vincent
08-21-2006, 02:52 PM
Generally, in a game i've only seen it use at most between 0 and 3%.

orkan_3d
08-21-2006, 08:28 PM
Thanks, good news, I only need to figure out how to get it!

Divine-Wind
08-21-2006, 08:36 PM
Originally posted by orkan_3d:
I`m using it on Athlon XP 2200, but cam is Logitech with very idiotic driver with no option to change resolution, and that switches back automatic exposition when i turn it off.
By the way, how much is TrackIR resorces hungry?
About... -1% to 0%. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif Not much of an FPS hit.