PDA

View Full Version : home made rudder pedals?(i have problems need help please read last posts)



slo_1_2_3
03-20-2006, 03:19 PM
I'm curious how to make some, can I make some out of a old stick?? If I can does the stick need to have a twist axis? The one i have is old and i have a better one and this one needs an adapter to connect to usb port but anyway can I make some rudder pedals out of them and if i can could some one explain please?
Like somebdy who has done before.

dbillo
03-20-2006, 03:49 PM
Yeah, just search the forum for rudder pedals (and peddles ... and petals ... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif) There are lots of threads with pictures. You can make them using an old joystick and map whichever axis you want to rudder in the game.

slo_1_2_3
03-20-2006, 04:31 PM
Dude! That's freaking awsome!

Unburied_Nat
03-20-2006, 05:21 PM
I built these rudder pedals;

http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/howto/rudped.htm

and hooked them up using a USB adaptor

http://www.mycableshop.ca/sku/JSGSUSB.htm

they work great.

Nat

slo_1_2_3
03-20-2006, 09:52 PM
Umm, quick question. IS it a problem that my computer doesen't read the stick when I plug it in?
O and if I screw something up will it go boom?

Also the stick is Raider Pro p210 model its kinda old but same age as the logitech I'm using which also plugs into a usb adapter.

AVG_WarHawk
03-20-2006, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
Umm, quick question. IS it a problem that my computer doesen't read the stick when I plug it in?

Yep, that's a problem http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

rnzoli
03-20-2006, 11:17 PM
FWIW, I did one like this, actually connecting it to the twist axis of my stick.
http://web.axelero.hu/rnzoli/pedal.JPG
So this pedal was plugged into the stick, not directly into the PC. However, I am working on another one, improved angle detector, metal construction, with toe-braking possibility.

If your computer doesn't recognize your old stick in the control panel, well, it has probably died in its sleep.... But never mind: you may be able to grab an old stick for cheap at the nearest flea market.

slo_1_2_3
03-20-2006, 11:27 PM
Ok I thought so not to worry theres a couple at rescue mission for couple of dollars to bad its sold as is as in it dont work your stuck with it . Go figure about the other stick I never used the dang thing. O well it can be practice on taking apart .

slo_1_2_3
03-21-2006, 08:44 PM
So will it read it like its another stick or what ? and if it does how do I make the stick and the probable poor attempt at rudder pedals work together?

F19_Orheim
03-22-2006, 12:16 AM
Ive seen these before.

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b191/notmuppet/PEDAL3.jpg
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b191/notmuppet/PEDAL2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/Rudder1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/PedalsV2-01.jpg

dbillo
03-22-2006, 06:03 AM
Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
So will it read it like its another stick or what ? and if it does how do I make the stick and the probable poor attempt at rudder pedals work together?
Well, it's quite simple: In the game, go to "Hardware Setup...Input...HOTAS Control", and you'll be at the bottom of the controls screen. Just click to the right of the control function you want to map (e.g. rudder) and then move the controller axis you want to map to it. BINGO! It's done!

There are some issues that may crop up. The direction you initially move the controller may sometimes be opposite to the direction you actually want, and then you have to do it over. Also, some controllers will take over the position of controller ID1 in windows. I use an X-52 with twisty rudder normally. I've been thinking of building rudder pedals using a spare Attack2 I have. So just to test I plugged in the Attack2. It immediately seized ID1 position, so I not only had to map the rudder to my Attack2 X-axis, but I also had to remap all my X-52 aileron, elevator, and throttle controls because they were now being controlled by the Attack2. Also if that happens, you won't be able to adjust sensitivity profiles for your stick in the game, because the sensitivity sliders will only work for controller ID1. You can cut and paste in the conf.ini, or download FoolTrottels IL2Sticks utility and use that.

rnzoli
03-22-2006, 07:35 AM
So just to test I plugged in the Attack2. It immediately seized ID1 position, so I not only had to map the rudder to my Attack2 X-axis, but I also had to remap all my X-52 aileron, elevator, and throttle controls because they were now being controlled by the Attack2
Isnt' that a huge PITA, huh? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif I had the same thing, but I consider myself lucky as I successfully experimented where to re-plug what, so that to keep my controller IDs in the right sequence. I think only the USB plug positions mattered, not the plug-in sequence, in fact.

dbillo
03-22-2006, 08:15 AM
Originally posted by rnzoli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">So just to test I plugged in the Attack2. It immediately seized ID1 position...
Isnt' that a huge PITA, huh?...I successfully experimented where to re-plug what, so that to keep my controller IDs in the right sequence. I think only the USB plug positions mattered, not the plug-in sequence, in fact. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Oh, really! I didn't know that! I'll have to do the same experiment then.

slo_1_2_3
03-22-2006, 11:51 AM
Aparently the sticks at the thrift store which we call rescue mission are 8 dollars each,so I think if I make an attempt at some rudder pedals I'l' probably get the 20 dollar one from wal mart and give it a go.
I was just gonna try to make somthing quick out of the stick I already had but it's aparently a little more complicatd I will probably hurt myself in the process but o well.
And f19_orheim thanx for those pics I thought I hadta take it all apart and get into all that stuff but you showed me I can just leave the stick whole thanx.
Also out of those three picswhich pair do you think would be the easiest? I was thinking the last set, am I right?

notamuppet
03-22-2006, 12:07 PM
Hello there http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif Its fun to do! here are a couple more pix http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b191/notmuppet/PEDAL4.jpg http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b191/notmuppet/PEDAL1.jpg
They are made from steel shelving brackets and a TV swivel. the stick is moved by the plastic pipe clip which can rotate and allows the stick to slide through it. Try it you`ll like it

slo_1_2_3
03-22-2006, 12:50 PM
I'm still pretty sure I'll probbly end up hurting my self or just breaking something expensive in the process. O well its still worth a try. ALso way better than spending 100 dollars to get something I know works. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

slo_1_2_3
03-22-2006, 07:05 PM
I think I have my own plan for this but one qustion is how do I make them return to center?

Also the part where the bar connects to the stick how do I do that is the bar fixed to the rest of the swiveling parts?

Its gonna look pretty horrible when its done but I hope it will work ok after I get those two questions outa the way.

slo_1_2_3
03-22-2006, 10:41 PM
I have them almost done but I'm still having trouble with the recentering can someone walk me through that perhaps?
After that all thats left is a stick to find I think I may get the one at the thrift store cause after buying the gold pack I'm broke.
I'll put a picture of the big ugly things up tommorow maybe. Is it bad that they way 30 pounds?

pourshot
03-22-2006, 10:51 PM
Is it bad that they way 30 pounds?

Not bad, mine way around 20kg http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

http://members.optusnet.com.au/~andycarroll68/Peddals/pours%20peds%20014.jpg

rnzoli
03-23-2006, 12:23 AM
Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
ALso way better than spending 100 dollars to get something I know works. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif
With 100 dollars spent on factory stuff you conveniently join the group of dumb customers. If you try to build some simple things at home by yourself, you immediately join the club of creative people. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Post the pix of what you have now, it's easier to understand that way.

rnzoli
03-23-2006, 12:24 AM
Originally posted by pourshot:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Is it bad that they way 30 pounds?

Not bad, mine way around 20kg http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Excellent when playing, terrible when you have to move, or when it falls off the shelf.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 12:32 AM
Mine are horrifyingly ugly heavy and they have dirt and bugs all over them , I maade them out wood we had in the backyard(not exactly top shelf stuff) and they look like a kindergarten class did it but if they work which they might then its all good, I guess I'll go take a pic or two now I guess.

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by rnzoli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by pourshot:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Is it bad that they way 30 pounds?

Not bad, mine way around 20kg http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Excellent when playing, terrible when you have to move, or when it falls off the shelf.... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
maybe I"ll add a few pounds to it and hope they fall on the cat.

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 12:44 AM
As I said here they are in all there ugly glory.
Keep in mind they need a bit more work before I waste $ on a stick .

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/s1.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/lbums/c110/slo123/s2.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/s3.jpg

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 12:46 AM
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/s2.jpg

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 12:49 AM
Hey before the fun making starts , Let it be know I found all that stuff and did it in 20 minutes with hand toold in the dark outside where its 30 degrees .

pourshot
03-23-2006, 01:23 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif They rock http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

rnzoli
03-23-2006, 02:37 AM
I see you figured out how to solve the centering http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

BTW, looks don't matter, especially at first attempts, because funcionality rules. If it works well, doesn't matter how it looks. This is war, not some beauty contest http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 10:27 AM
I'm finished now I just gotta get a stick so the saitek at walmart for $20 i good?

notamuppet
03-23-2006, 12:10 PM
Hello again. I removed the grip on my cheap stick and this left a tube about 13mm diameter. I used a pipe clip that pivots on bolt A and bolt B is tight. As the stick is pushed to one side the pipe clip can allow the shaft of the stick to slide http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b191/notmuppet/PEDAL1.jpg

slo_1_2_3
03-23-2006, 10:56 PM
Ya metal ones woulda been nice but I only had wood so bolts and plastic pipe clips all that stuff ... not me. I just used a board with a groove in it and the used ruber bands to keep the stick in it of course I used the dead stick as a stand in cause I don't have the saitek yet.
I will post some pics of my reworked pedals I fixed some stuff today with power tools,much better than the hand stuff, I'll see if any of you can spot the changes

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 12:27 AM
Ok here are the big ugly things I hope they don't hurt your eyes,or give me a splinter for that matter. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gifI hope they fit under the computer table.

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/p.jpg
http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/p1.jpg
I think it may be time to clean up my room to http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

El Turo
03-24-2006, 01:06 AM
Major props to you for even attempting this. Have you plugged it in yet? Does it work?

I have to say though.. that has to be the ugliest thing I've ever seen. So ugly, it wraps back around the spectrum to uber-cool. LOL.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

I dig it!

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif

JG52Uther
03-24-2006, 02:23 AM
They are sooooo cool!I have been planning on making a set for some time,just for the fun of it (I already own CH pedals). http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 09:43 AM
Nope that stick is dead its just a stand in while I was building them thats all.I'm off to wal mart later to get a new one. I just gotta figure out which stick to put in the pedals the new or the old.
And how does this work do I just plug both sticks in and then go to the config and map the rudder to that stick on the pedals or what? I'm a bit confused on that one.

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 09:57 AM
I put did this just to clarify what I did if anyone wants to make the ugly cheap quick pedals. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c110/slo123/p3.jpg

msalama
03-24-2006, 10:37 AM
S, S & S! is what I say http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif And the environment (your room) seriously r0Xx0rz too http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

But hey, that's a job done. What Zoli said - this is a war, not a ruddy beauty contest http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 12:11 PM
I think I will find some old carpet or something for the pedals part or I'll get covered in splinters.
Or maybe I might sand it I dont know.

JG52Uther
03-24-2006, 12:28 PM
If you fly early Russian planes its fine as it is http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif

rnzoli
03-24-2006, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by slo_1_2_3:
And how does this work do I just plug both sticks in and then go to the config and map the rudder to that stick on the pedals or what?
Well, install your new stick properly first. Inseet the factory CD and launch, when asked to do so, plug the new 'rudder' stick and calibrate it, if necessary.

If the new stick is fine by itself, start PF and go to Controls (Hotas section), click Rudder and push the right-side pedal. If all goes well, your new stick will be shown with ID2.

In case you have trouble with IDs (the new stick becomes the control of evelator, aileron etc.), try to interchange the USB plug positions of the 2 sticks, in order to keep your main stick mapped as is now, and force the new stick to take ID2.

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 03:03 PM
Ok thanx rnzoli that's a bit more simple than tullys thing on airwarefare. I should be able to try it in a couple of hours. They're getting ready to go to walmart.

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 07:43 PM
Dangit it all it keeps reading the saitek as id2 I want it to be roll and pitch and then old logi tech to be yaw but its not working dangit!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_redface.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif help please.
Rather than what rnzoli said I want to use the new stickk and have the old as rudder but new is being read as id2 how do I make it work I'm realy begging for help now .

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 09:53 PM
<bump fo help>

Waldo.Pepper
03-24-2006, 10:38 PM
how do I make it work I'm realy begging for help now .


You cannot modify which stich XP reads as ID 1 and which as ID2.

Just reassign your control.

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 11:03 PM
I do but stick one takes all the control even if number two is assigned pitch and roll I try it both ways and the number one stick just takes it , What now? I spent all that time on those pedals.

Waldo.Pepper
03-24-2006, 11:06 PM
the number one stick just takes it

By the number one stick I presume you mean your newly created pedals?

When you are assigning axis, make sure that you are not kicking them, or moving them in anyway.

For example: when you are trying to reassign your elevator inuput move your Joystick ONLY. DON'T EVEN TOUCH YOUR PEDALS! In the elevator field it should say something like "blah blah axis" ID2 (ID2 is the important part)

What you are describing, I think, can only happen if you are moving your new pedals creation.

slo_1_2_3
03-24-2006, 11:29 PM
Ok the stick I already had is in the pedals,I bought a saitek I'm using for other cotrols now,the logitech (number one) takes over even if I asign the saitek (number two) the controls.
Tully's the stick guro right? I hope he drop in

El Turo
03-25-2006, 12:41 AM
I think you need to clarify what's going on, because what you're saying isn't making complete sense. If you have two sticks, one will be ID1 and the other ID2.. so it shouldn't matter which is which. Go to the HOTAS section in your keymapper, highlight each area (including the pitch and roll sections) and wiggle your controller for each one.

?

FoolTrottel
03-25-2006, 03:17 AM
Pic of the HOTAS section El Turo mentioned:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/Hotas.jpg

Tully__
03-25-2006, 03:40 AM
Have you test flown it, not just looked at the Hardware Setup/Input screen? The Input screen only shows your ID#1 controller regardless of which controller is actually assigned to primary aircraft controls...

If you need to adjust sensitivity on controllers other than the ID#1 controller, click the link for FoolTrottel's IL2Sticks utility under my signature picture and download it. This gives you a utility with the same sliders as in the game, but for ALL of your controllers.

F19_Orheim
03-25-2006, 07:28 AM
I think you ought to clean up your room mate .. LOL

slo_1_2_3
03-25-2006, 01:56 PM
HAvent test flown I thought the input screen was for the controls but I will test fly thanx