PDA

View Full Version : Ok, this game needs some serious optimization (graphic and sound) Yes or No?



fly_zo
02-23-2006, 03:24 PM

fly_zo
02-23-2006, 03:24 PM

CMHQ_Rikimaru
02-23-2006, 03:33 PM
If we will get optimisation it will be by FM cost, so i vote "HELL, NO WAY!"

fly_zo
02-23-2006, 03:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by CMHQ_Rikimaru:
If we will get optimisation it will be by FM cost, so i vote "HELL, NO WAY!" </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

How can sound and graphic optimization effect Flight model?

fly_zo
02-23-2006, 03:46 PM
Just downloading 4.04 (56k 1:30 min) so maybe in this one.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

VW-IceFire
02-23-2006, 04:06 PM
Its fairly well optimized actually. Most performance issues are related to the way that a system is setup and the hardware/driver combinations involved.

I don't know about DGEN but the traditional benchmarking method in Pacific Fighters is to load the Kamikazi02.ntrk file in the Tracks area and reference the FPS.

When the track starts, press Shift-Tab and then type fps START SHOW (pay careful attention to upper and lower case). Press Shift-Tab again and note the high, low, and average FPS.

On my 3 and a half year old rig I can get about 32fps average with my variety of settings in Perfect mode. I can get just over 40fps in Excellent mode.

Chuck_Older
02-23-2006, 04:42 PM
flyzo, you have 1/4 more RAM and 1/3 moreCPU power than me, and the equivelent video card. I don't use 2X AA, but then again, I have onboard sound still. I'm running Perfect mode quite easily with water=2, and I'm not even using Beta dlls to do it. I have no slideshows, but I do drop a frame now and then when 40 or so planes are in the air, and there's an explosion...and I've turned the shadows under the flak burts off, but it's literally a nanosecond, it's gone before you even half blink. 40 a/c in the air in a fight taxes this PC a bit, but still...

Something's up with your soft/hardware. Have you tried posting in the Community Help forum? Coastie can probably help http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Treetop64
02-23-2006, 04:45 PM
The patch series 3.X had great optimization in regards to frame rates. The 4.x series have a FM that uses significantly more system resources, however.

I'm running a Prescott 3.8, ASUS P5LD2 PCI-E board, 2 GB 5300-667 RAM, and an ATI X1900XTX. Even with that setup, I'm still looking for ways to get even better performance, even though my fps average is in the 90s (low = 30s, peak = 150+, Excellent settings).

It's like, the more you get, the more you want!

fly_zo
02-23-2006, 05:51 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by VW-IceFire:
Its fairly well optimized actually. Most performance issues are related to the way that a system is setup and the hardware/driver combinations involved.

I don't know about DGEN but the traditional benchmarking method in Pacific Fighters is to load the Kamikazi02.ntrk file in the Tracks area
and reference the FPS.

When the track starts, press Shift-Tab and then type fps START SHOW (pay careful attention to upper and lower case). Press Shift-Tab again and note the high, low, and average FPS.

On my 3 and a half year old rig I can get about 32fps average with my variety of settings in Perfect mode. I can get just over 40fps in Excellent mode.[/QUOTE

first, thanks for trying to help.
ok here it is: patched to 4.04

with sound, perfect mode:
min:0#.....
avg: 23-25
max:101

disabled sound, perfect mode:
min:0#.....
avg: 23-26
max:102

i will kill myself, really whole day of work and no results http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

fly_zo
02-23-2006, 06:04 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
flyzo, you have 1/4 more RAM and 1/3 moreCPU power than me, and the equivelent video card. I don't use 2X AA, but then again, I have onboard sound still. I'm running Perfect mode quite easily with water=2, and I'm not even using Beta dlls to do it. I have no slideshows, but I do drop a frame now and then when 40 or so planes are in the air, and there's an explosion...and I've turned the shadows under the flak burts off, but it's literally a nanosecond, it's gone before you even half blink. 40 a/c in the air in a fight taxes this PC a bit, but still...

Something's up with your soft/hardware. Have you tried posting in the Community Help forum? Coastie can probably help http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

glad to see (read you) Chuck, really it is f**** unbelievable, the game should run smoothly and it runs in every way except in this game (and this is the only game i care about). I get slideshows and CPU usage is 62%, free physical mem is 1G (available) at the time it starts.

I believe your Asus 6600GT have much quicker clock than mine N6600 so , I really don't know...

thanks for your time, really i need to solve it before You and Obelix finish new AVG campaigns.

Xiolablu3
02-23-2006, 07:01 PM
The 6600 graphics card is not a very good one. It is a LOT slower than the 6600GT which is the budget gamers card. The 6600 is slower than a Radeon 9800Pro.

Oleg wont optimise it any more because he is busy with his new game.

Your system should run the game at Excellent settings without it being a slide show.

What setings are you trying to run it at? If its a slide show then turn the resolution and graphics settings down.

If you cant run it at 1024x768x32 and excellent settings then you have something wrong with the way your system is set up.

My 2500+ , 1.25gb Ram and Geforce Ti4600 runs the game great at Excellent settings , 1024x768. Hardly any stutters at all, only when the server lags. It must be pretty well optimised to run well on this.

Tully__
02-23-2006, 07:19 PM
I get playable rates on a 2.0GHz P4 with 1GB PC2700 and a GF4 Ti4600 on Excellent video settings. Must be some system tuning yet to be done if you're getting single digit framerates on your system fly_zo.

Kyril1959
02-23-2006, 10:21 PM
You're using perfect mode with that card and it's not up to the task, drop down to excellent mode and you should see a marked improvement.
No AA or AF and you should be golden.

fly_zo
02-24-2006, 03:38 AM
So it is the wrong graphic card i spent my Christmas bonus for! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

I thought that it will handle perfect with water:0; efect:0( water 2,3,4 didn't even try ).

----------------------------------------
I get playable rates on a 2.0GHz P4 with 1GB PC2700 and a GF4 Ti4600 on Excellent video settings. Must be some system tuning yet to be done if you're getting single digit framerates on your system fly_zo.
----------------------------------------

I had playable rates on Excellent with my old FX5600, just wanted that perfect water (even 0, would be enough).
System tuning, I dont know what more there is.As i wrote i have clean Xp installation (no antivirus, no office, nothing) and FB+AEP+PF. Drivers are all up the date.

For N6600 i tryed AGP apparature size 32,64,128,256(in bios); tryed lowering latency to 32. Didn't try overclocking yet but if nothing else helps i will.

For Audigy2 : installation with or without EAX console, tryed turn off all effect, CMSS 3D, everything there is i tryed. Must admit that i get FPS increase with lowering direct sound to standard acceleration but then i get 1-2 seconds stutters with introducing new sound into the game.

Processor and memory are tested and no problems found. Power is 400W ATX, Temperature CPU and MB are normal. It is funny, i have 62% processor usage and 1G free phys.memory with slideshow in PF. It is like the game don't use all available memory. I do have virtual mem (page file) set to system managing and only on system drive.

What more could i try? Some old drivers? ( i tryed 81.94; 81.95; 81.98 forceware)


Thanks all of you for your effort http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

FlatSpinMan
02-24-2006, 04:04 AM
I'm sure you already tried it, but have you fiddled around with your Set-up? Corvino's Set-up guide sped things up for me considerably.
It is stickied at the top of this page under Essentials, or something.

fly_zo
02-24-2006, 04:13 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FlatSpinMan:
I'm sure you already tried it, but have you fiddled around with your Set-up? Corvino's Set-up guide sped things up for me considerably.
It is stickied at the top of this page under Essentials, or something. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks FSM, i looked for some advice for my Asus N6600, setings(game) and tweaking for it but without any success. (Airwarfare essentials, this forums...) All i found is for 6600GT which is F1 comparing to what i bough, as i learned.

TooCooL34
02-24-2006, 04:28 AM
Play Lomac, CFS3, and BOB2:wov for a while and tell us again. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
I was fps geek a few years ago and really really hate below 60fps,
but IL2+AEP+PF runs really smooth now if you invest proper amount of money on right PC components.
I have average 80~90fps with excellent in WC 44 players server. (AMD64 3200+, 1G ram, 6800GT. 6600GT was not that different. it provided me about 70fps avg)

Your problem :
Prescott s**ks in gaming.
normal 6600 is little short in IL-2.

Wilburnator
02-24-2006, 05:37 AM
I have a 3 ghz Prescott and an x800 pro with 2 gigs of ram. I run 1280x768, perfect mode with water=0, 2x AA, 8x AF. Offline I average around 100 fps or more, online around 80 or so, unless there's alot of stuff going on around me.

So the Prescott may not be great, but that ain't his problem.

FlatSpinMan
02-24-2006, 05:49 AM
Here is the thread I was particularly thinking of. It refers to the set-up options accessed from your desktop.
here is the link:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/6651075613

fly_zo
02-24-2006, 06:42 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by FlatSpinMan:
Here is the thread I was particularly thinking of. It refers to the set-up options accessed from your desktop.
here is the link:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/6651075613 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks, i have pdf file created from this excellent post and i tryed most of things he pointed in it.

hey FSM, not so long ago you took my frustrations with bad english away and now you trying to help again. What can i say if you ever wisit Zagreb, i will buy you a drink! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

p.s. that includes rest of you guys, thanks.

Bearcat99
02-24-2006, 06:55 AM
Go Here (http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/il2optimisation_guide.htm).

fly_zo
02-24-2006, 10:25 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Bearcat99:
Go Here (http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/il2optimisation_guide.htm). </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks, been there and didn't help me. Must face the truth Asus N6600 256Mb is just no good for this game! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

Just finished new clean inslallation by the book (restart and test after every part and patch), over clocked with Riva tuner ( 15% clock and mem boost)tryed every option and no good. Think that my old FX5600 has better performance in Excellent mode than N6600.

Oh, after 4.04 Pacific islands looks heavently even with water:0. Well there is allways next year...

once again thanks

Jumoschwanz
02-24-2006, 12:58 PM
If you cannot run this sim smoothly, it is sure not the fault of the software.

Jumoschwanz

Xiolablu3
02-24-2006, 07:20 PM
Shouldnt you use water=1 to get the simple pixel shader?

Thats the setting I use and the water looks very nice, not a big FPS hit either.

Try it, I am sure water=0 is not using a pixel shader. I could be wrong tho.

Jetbuff
02-24-2006, 07:28 PM
That 6600 is definitely your bottleneck. I very much doubt it would reliably handle perfect with playable framerates. That said, try defragmenting your installation and setting a static page file. (minimum size = 2048kb, max size= 2048kb) I find that helps prevent texture loading stutter. (which I'm guessing you have by the min of 0 fps)

fly_zo
02-25-2006, 03:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jetbuff:
That 6600 is definitely your bottleneck. I very much doubt it would reliably handle perfect with playable framerates. That said, try defragmenting your installation and setting a static page file. (minimum size = 2048kb, max size= 2048kb) I find that helps prevent texture loading stutter. (which I'm guessing you have by the min of 0 fps) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks, will try it. I menaged to get AVG:45-30 but minimum still drops very low at the end 27-8

OldMan____
02-25-2006, 06:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by fly_zo:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Jetbuff:
That 6600 is definitely your bottleneck. I very much doubt it would reliably handle perfect with playable framerates. That said, try defragmenting your installation and setting a static page file. (minimum size = 2048kb, max size= 2048kb) I find that helps prevent texture loading stutter. (which I'm guessing you have by the min of 0 fps) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

thanks, will try it. I menaged to get AVG:45-30 but minimum still drops very low at the end 27-8 </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Tha is common. Above berlin not many systems can ahndle more than 30 fps.

fly_zo
02-25-2006, 12:15 PM
I found it!!!!!!!!!

First my deapest apology to everyone for makin' this fuss. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif

And now solution: In bios i found "spread spectrum" option and when i disabled it woooow, it runs smooooth now AVG: 42- 30 fps !
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

hey Chuck bring WTCF II on i am finali ready!!!!

Stafroty
02-25-2006, 01:02 PM
i care for FM and playability over graphics. voted for optimisation, which i understood is for makin gun run better with high fps and lotsa stuff in it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Xiolablu3
02-25-2006, 02:15 PM
Glad you got it sorted Fly_Zo, I dont even know what 'spread spectrum' setting does?

Does anyone else?

Dont worry about asking for help with any problem. Some of us are nice guys who will help you out.

So many people are quick to blame the game when something isnt right on their computer, or theur computer simply cant handle the game at the settings they are trying to play. You are not alone, but you will know now not to jump to conclusions before you have tested everything http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Kyril1959
02-25-2006, 02:31 PM
Spread-spectrum clock generation (SSCG) is used in the design of synchronous digital systems, especially those containing microprocessors, to reduce the spectral density of the electromagnetic interference (EMI) that these systems generate. A synchronous digital system is one that is driven by a clock signal and because of its periodic nature, has an unavoidably narrow frequency spectrum. In fact, a perfect clock signal would have all its energy concentrated at a single frequency and its harmonics, and would therefore radiate energy with an infinite spectral density. Practical synchronous digital systems radiate electromagnetic energy on a number of narrow bands spread on the clock frequency and its harmonics, resulting in a frequency spectrum that, at certain frequencies, can exceed the regulatory limits for electromagnetic interference (e.g. those of the FCC in the United States, JEITA in Japan and the IEC in Europe).

To avoid this problem, which is of great commercial importance to manufacturers, spread-spectrum clocking is used. This consists of using one of the methods described in the telecommunications section in order to reduce the peak radiated energy. The technique therefore reshapes the system's electromagnetic emissions to comply with the electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) regulations. It is a popular technique because it can be used to gain regulatory approval with only a simple modification to the equipment.

Many personal computers have a BIOS setting to turn spread-spectrum clocking on or off. See external links on the bottom of this article.

It is important to note that this method does not reduce the peak electrical or magnetic field strength emitted by the system, nor the total energy, and therefore does not make the system any less likely to interfere with sensitive equipment such as TV and radio receivers. It works because the EMI receivers used by EMC testing laboratories divide the electromagnetic spectrum into frequency bands approximately 120 kHz wide. If the system under test were to radiate all of its energy at one frequency, then this energy would fall into a single frequency band of the receiver, which would register a large peak at that frequency. Spread-spectrum clocking distributes the energy so that it falls into a large number of the receiver's frequency bands, without putting enough energy into any one band to exceed the statutory limits.

Even more problematic, the existence of spread spectrum clock generation in PCs may substantially increase the radiated EMI. For this reason, the FCC certification testing is done with the spread spectrum function enabled, but the preferred BIOS settings for actual use typically turn off the spread spectrum feature. Thus, the PC may emit up to 20 dB higher EMI than permitted by the FCC Part 15 rules. This loophole exists because the BIOS writers include the ability to disable spread spectrum clock generation as a user setting, thereby defeating the object of the EMI regulations.

NonWonderDog
02-25-2006, 03:26 PM
Blargh... I even know what spread spectrum does and I can't make sense of that wikipedia article.

Simply, it just varies the frequency of clock pulses by some small percent so your computer doesn't cause a lot of interference at one frequency. Instead, your computer will cause less interference at more frequencies.

The long and the short of it is that spread spectrum is a ploy used by pc manufactures to get by FCC regulations. It has no benefit to the home user whatsoever, and should always be disabled. If you have something that's sensitive to EMI near your computer, you should move it.

fly_zo
02-26-2006, 08:26 AM
Thanks to all of you guys! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

Xiolablu3:
-------------------------
Dont worry about asking for help with any problem. Some of us are nice guys who will help you out.
-------------------------

Nice is too small word for you guys ! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Chuck_Older
02-26-2006, 08:31 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by fly_zo:
I found it!!!!!!!!!

First my deapest apology to everyone for makin' this fuss. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/halo.gif

And now solution: In bios i found "spread spectrum" option and when i disabled it woooow, it runs smooooth now AVG: 42- 30 fps !
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

hey Chuck bring WTCF II on i am finali ready!!!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I'm still tweaking missions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and making a few new ones (maybe 20 new ones)

Glad to hear you've solved it. can you explain what you did in more detail?

fly_zo
02-27-2006, 02:40 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I'm still tweaking missions Smile and making a few new ones (maybe 20 new ones)

Glad to hear you've solved it. can you explain what you did in more detail? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hi,Chuck.

Well as you know, I tried everything starting from defrag. ,clean install, seting virtual mem, lowering to excellent, all sets of drivers from 66.93, all sets of Dll's, every advice i could get from this great community and... no results. Fps started with high 85 and droped to 5 no matter what i did.
And than i went into bios, Asus P4P800E Deluxe with Intell Prescott 3.06. First i tried to update bios but Asus didn't offer any newer version. In bios there is option to set proc clock to auto, standard and turbo. Mine was set to auto so i changed it to standard and woow there was big difernence in fps. Still there was occasional drop to 8-5 but game worked smoothtly(right word?!). Than i found this "spread spectrum" option and disable it. Wow fps are lock to 42 now(perfect, water:0;effect:0), game runs like EAW now(if you remember it)with lots of bombers and action going on. I know it makes no sence ( as guys here explained what that option means) but, somehow it works for my system.Ah yes, must say that my proc temperature went to 80 deg C, so i installed one more fan on the side with PVC tube pointing directly to proc and that solve it. I will get me some fancy cooler when i rise the money( my Christmas bonus went on N6600 and 1G of DDR).

Is that ok?

p.s. sorry for late answer but i just couldn't stop myself from flying. Its like whole new game now, runs smooth, no woobles for me since 4.04.(been waiting for this since IL2 demo)

--------------
just spoted that nine guys voted in favor so to all of them please check your systems and don't be afraid to ask for help. This community will help you out as they did for me.
Thanks