PDA

View Full Version : Can you sink ships in PF?

JimStuart
06-03-2008, 08:43 AM
Hi, newbie here, I just bought the game as I missed playing old flight sims from my early days like Janes WWII Fighters, Hellcats over the Pacific (<----I doubt anyone on here remembers that one)

Ive tried both European warfare and Pacific Warfare and there is something highly rewarding with destroying a boat with an airplane that few other games have to offer. I dont even have a joystick yet so playing the game is all but impossible, but Im getting a cougar HOTAS soon and Thrustmaster rudder pedals.

I put the game on autopilot in the Pearl Harbor mission and watched how the computer played in 8x compression, and I could see boats catching fire and smoking, but not necesarily sinking.

Is it even possible to sink a battleship or aircraft carrier in this game or can you only make it smoke and catch fire?

Also, is it just me or do all the battleships in battleship row looked more like King George V's than the Oklahoma/Arizona/Utah etc etc.

SlickStick
06-03-2008, 08:59 AM
There are many ways to sink ships in PF, including torpedoes, skip-bombing, dive bombing and rockets. The smaller ships will go down with 2 - 250lbs bombs or 1 - 500lbs. bomb, although sometimes, it takes two runs. Larger ships need more hits to sink them, but as you continue to damage them, they will physically show signs of worsening damage, including smoke and holes in the hull.

I've sunk battleships and carriers with one F4U loadout of 1 - 2,000lbs. and 2 - 1,000lbs. bombs being skipped into the side of the hull or dropped directly onto the deck through dive bombing.

Sometimes again, it takes a second run, but I'm not sure why one time, one bomb run of the above loadout sinks an undamaged ship, and the next server it takes two runs, but maybe it's about proximity of explosions to critical areas of the ships.

Some of the smaller gunboats may take 2 - 500lbs. bombs as well.

TinyTim
06-03-2008, 09:04 AM