PDA

View Full Version : Hardware shaders(perfect landscape) DirectX



FA_Whisky
02-20-2007, 10:43 AM
Why is this rule in the ini file when you cannot use it?
"HardwareShaders=0"
I've set it to 1, but the game resets it to 0.

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=1
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0
Water=1
Effects=1

jurinko
02-20-2007, 11:36 AM
"Perfect" mode is running under OpenGL only. DX does only the excellent mode.

WWSensei
02-21-2007, 07:01 AM
It's because the game doesn't ever really run in DX mode. It's just a DirectX wrapper that converts DX calls into OpenGL calls. DX is there mainly for compatibility rather than full support. Calls not supported in DX where the ones to use hardware shaders and vsync.