PDA

View Full Version : ATI 9800 PRO Hecules 3d Prophet - 3D Tweaker



XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 03:43 PM
Hi guys,

I just got my 9800 PRO on Hercules and...wow ! it ROCKS !!!
You won`t notice the difference between 9700 PRO and 9800 PRO until you go for FSAA and AF at high res - but with these options on it`s really faster and I`m happy I switched from 9700 pro. Esp. that i go for Vsync on.

Anyway, I got a software called "Hercules 3d tweaker" with the card. I guess it`s the overclocking utility. Did anyone use it ? How does it work ? Can I use it without risk of smoking the card ? What`s the optimal seting ?

cheers

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 03:43 PM
Hi guys,

I just got my 9800 PRO on Hercules and...wow ! it ROCKS !!!
You won`t notice the difference between 9700 PRO and 9800 PRO until you go for FSAA and AF at high res - but with these options on it`s really faster and I`m happy I switched from 9700 pro. Esp. that i go for Vsync on.

Anyway, I got a software called "Hercules 3d tweaker" with the card. I guess it`s the overclocking utility. Did anyone use it ? How does it work ? Can I use it without risk of smoking the card ? What`s the optimal seting ?

cheers

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 03:50 PM
I have a Hercules card but use the Rage3D Tweak instead of the one from Hercules.

And yes, overclocking your card can cause damage.

&lt;script>var avatar='http://www.opzolder.net/dsa/f2.gif'</script>&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=avatar</script>

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 03:59 PM
I knew it would by you to come back first...when it comes to ati, must be cappadocian /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

so what settings would be safe do you think ?

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 04:04 PM
What you can try if your serious with overclocking your card is to install the Drivers from Omega, it has an Artifact tester program in it. (Or you can only install the Artifact tester since you get an option to proceed with driver install yes or no /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif )

The overclock the memory first, a few mhz at a time and test if you have any artifacts after each step, when you get artifacts simply clock it down a few mhz and then do the same with the GPU.



&lt;script>var avatar='http://www.opzolder.net/dsa/f2.gif'</script>&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=avatar</script>

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 04:08 PM
Ok, I`ll try that. Thanks

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 04:10 PM
NP, I forgot the links btw.

Omega driver: http://www.omegacorner.com
Rage3D Tweak: http://www.rage3d.com

GL and don't fry your card dude.



&lt;script>var avatar='http://www.opzolder.net/dsa/f2.gif'</script>&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=avatar</script>

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 04:19 PM
A little extra thermal protection wouldn't hurt either /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


www.cardcooler.com (http://www.cardcooler.com)



rogo

&lt;script>a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor="#0099FF";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundPosition="center center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"</script>


<img src =http://photos.msn.com/imageserver/image.aspx?Image=HcZNnT9kkUh6!cx8ceVWZkKNAKsDzGc27 yo18gNw1CKT8kM46WJ1Emnlk3DV5msFg!0wLfeO*qsKKeJJQBn 5XroPZdt9iQsxpalipBvhyBY8Yyk5LceXqrSxSGSRv3i7Igwcz CK9CM127Bkvzb40Jw$$>



"Those who long for exaltation look upwards. But I look downwards for I am the exalted." This was a quote from Nietzsche as he flew in his FW190 @ 20,000ft looking downwards.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 04:48 PM
thnx a lot guys !

when it comes to thermals - I got AMD 2700 XP + and had to get CoolerMaster to maintain it at approx. 52 deg. C - standard fan did not handle that at all and I was getting consatnt system resets and lock-ups.