PDA

View Full Version : Main Menu Background.tga



Carl1781
12-14-2008, 03:54 PM
I visited a friend on Friday and he was playing 1946 when I arrived and when he quit back to the in game main menu it brought back memories as he was still using the original pacific fighters / 1946 background.tga for his menu BG. Now I create a new one and change mine every couple of weeks so I dont get bored with it and it got me thinking I would like to see what everyone else uses for the menu backgrounds if nothing else it should produce some good eye candy for the forum.

Please if you are a member of the Anti MOD Nowhere League please dont winge here. My BG does not give me auto aim assist (if it does its doing a **** job). lol

Anyways here is my lastest bg to start it off.

http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/3316/gamegbnewli1.jpg

Uufflakke
12-14-2008, 04:07 PM
Here is mine. Quite basic but I like it. I have had others with lots of explosions and dogfights but returned to this one.

http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh195/Uufflakke/Splashscreen.jpg

I have to add that AFAIK only the initial loading screen is a mod and the Single Mission, Pilot Carreer etc. loadings screens are not.

na85
12-15-2008, 03:16 AM
Uufflakke, could you post that image in full resolution?

Uufflakke
12-15-2008, 06:18 AM
Originally posted by na85:
Uufflakke, could you post that image in full resolution?

Here it is(1024x768).

http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh195/Uufflakke/background.jpg

I downloaded this loading/ splash screen from "the other side" so credits for it goes to Zaelu.

Bearcat99
12-15-2008, 06:29 AM
http://file.walagata.com/w/bearcat/Splash_1.jpg

http://file.walagata.com/w/bearcat/Splash_2.jpg

These are mine...

That is one of my favorite mods...

dirkpit7
12-15-2008, 08:21 AM
Originally posted by Uufflakke:
I have to add that AFAIK only the initial loading screen is a mod and the Single Mission, Pilot Carreer etc. loadings screens are not.

That's right, changing the background image does not requre any mods.

I use the same background as seen in this pic:

http://www.61shap.com/files/background-1.jpg

Carl1781
12-30-2008, 12:27 PM
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/399/f4ui2bgpw1.jpg

Ba5tard5word
12-30-2008, 12:45 PM
How do I change the image, and how do I modify the image for a campaign? A link to a page with the info is fine.

Carl1781
12-30-2008, 01:19 PM
Background images for il2 are in .tga (Targa) format and are all 512 x 512. they are all called background.tga so just rename the ones you want to change to background_original.tga or something and put your new background.tga in that folder.

The main menu screen background.tga is in the \IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\Missions folder and the campain/single mission backgrounds are in there respective country folders ie \IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\Missions\Single\GB folder.

Obviously you would need to create your own .tga files using software such as photoshop etc, I save my .tga as 24 bit as I know that works not sure if the game supports any other bit depths.

Enjoy

Mr C

Low_Flyer_MkIX
12-30-2008, 01:21 PM
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y231/Low_Flyer/background.jpg

Carl1781
01-14-2009, 07:51 AM
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/9476/barbarajanexx4.jpg

jannaspookie
01-14-2009, 03:22 PM
Here's my splash screen, menu screen, and menu background respectively:

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r8/jannaspookie/Splash.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r8/jannaspookie/Menu.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r8/jannaspookie/Background.jpg

TinyTim
01-15-2009, 12:42 PM
Wow, is Yak-23 available as flyable somewhere?

Quelty
01-15-2009, 01:37 PM
Splashscreen;
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/smeefarkya/splash.jpg
Menu screen;
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/smeefarkya/IL2Screen.jpg

jannaspookie
01-18-2009, 05:20 PM
Originally posted by TinyTim:
Wow, is Yak-23 available as flyable somewhere?

Hehe... good eye! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif No, it's not, but I used the image because of it's general similarity in appearance to the Yak-15 and Yak-17. I was having trouble finding 1946 themed pictures. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Thekid321
01-18-2009, 07:58 PM
how do i set an image to be the main menu background?

Thekid321
01-18-2009, 08:03 PM
nvm

Tab_Flettner
01-18-2009, 08:35 PM
Good thread. I'm spending all my time on FSX these days, but what the hay.....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v712/mr_coffee/bckgd.jpg

Doolittle81
01-24-2009, 01:15 PM
http://i440.photobucket.com/albums/qq121/Doolittle81/SMTotheVictor.jpg

Hangman68
01-25-2009, 09:37 AM
Ok i must be doing somthing wrong here. I whent into my paint shop program and renamed my background but it will not work, i did try adding it to my mission folder and countrys folder. do i also need to make a new background mat file?

Uufflakke
01-25-2009, 10:56 AM
Did you save it as a tga, 24-bits, 512x512? And you should save it as: background. The original background can be saved as: background-original, -background or whatever you like. I think you got mixed up with that. No need to make a new background mat file.

Hangman68
01-25-2009, 11:37 AM
ahhh i found out what i did wrong, i didnt follow the directions you laid out aghhhhhh thanks for the help http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hangman68
01-25-2009, 12:43 PM
anyway to change the main splash screen? you can if the game is moded but can you do it on the non moded version?

Uufflakke
01-25-2009, 01:10 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/disagree.gif
Only possible when modded, not in the original "immaculate" version.

Hangman68
01-25-2009, 03:31 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif