PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question



ShanghaiJack
12-08-2005, 10:53 PM
Gents,
Can the pilot photo be modified, or replaced?
I am speaking of the pic that is used when looking at career stats, etc. Thanks for your aid, and reply.

SJ

Stackhouse25th
12-08-2005, 11:29 PM
yes....but it has to be in the right format....whichever it is.

16 bit 8 bit, 256 color, etc...

ShanghaiJack
12-09-2005, 03:05 AM
Great! but in what folder does it go?

polak5
12-09-2005, 03:59 AM
SJ ok soo u want to replace the pic.
im supposing that u want to replace it with a pic of urself? or David Hasselfhof? either way this is what u do.

Make the pic 192x256 pixels in size and have 256 colors. Now go to ur dgen folder in ur fogotten battles folder and replace the photo.bmp file with the pic u want. I dont know if the name of the file matters but just to be safe, name the file u made "photo"
Ok soo that will change the pilot picture in ur pilot campaign.
Alright thats out of the way...

Now if u want David Hasseloff to fly ur plane, go to ur forgotten battles folder/paintschemes/pilots folder and choose a pilot. I choose sk_22.
When u choose the pilot that u want to edit take the file and edit it by copying and pasting "the new pic" over the old pilot pic. Here is an example.
http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/3835/erasehelp4rh.jpg

Now before u fly a mission choose the pilot that u edited in the loadout screen.
Hopefully it should look like this.
http://server2.uploadit.org/files/polok26-109face.jpg
And thats it ur set, good luck. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Skycat_2
12-10-2005, 03:15 AM
If you mean you want to replace this guy:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/Photo_orig.jpg

1. Look in your "DGen" folder for a file named Photo.bmp
2. Your replacement picture must have the same dimensions (192x256 @ 72 ppi) as the original and be saved as a bitmap with indexed colors, 8 bits per channel to work.

If you'd like to experiment a little, try changing one of the pictures below from .JPG to .BMP format -- they're in the proper dimensions otherwise. You'll have to rename whatever you use to "Photo" for it to appear in the game:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/Photo_USN.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/Photo_JN.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/FB%20Pilots/Photo_GB1.jpg

ShanghaiJack
12-10-2005, 11:37 PM
Thanks! I'll give it a try!
The default pic, whew...
that guys nose is
far more crooked
than my own.. lol

Thanks for helping a noob out,
I do appreciate it!

Tails Up!
SJ