PDA

View Full Version : New to Game, cannot Play



Creature2U
07-23-2006, 10:59 PM
OK, I will try to be brief. I installed Pacific Fighters (stand alone) on a relatively new Dell XPS that is equipped with both a DVD ROM (Dhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and a CD-RW (Ehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif drive, both provided by Dell at the time we purchased the machine. I can install the game from either device, but when I try to play it will not recognize the CD (either disc 1 or 2), and terminates the application. The game is trying to read the D: drive even if I install using the CD-RW (E: Drive). I have had this game for 18 months waiting to play (my older system would not handle it).

I can provide you more system specs but I do not think that is the issue.

Please help.

Creature / Dave

Creature2U
07-23-2006, 10:59 PM
OK, I will try to be brief. I installed Pacific Fighters (stand alone) on a relatively new Dell XPS that is equipped with both a DVD ROM (Dhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and a CD-RW (Ehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif drive, both provided by Dell at the time we purchased the machine. I can install the game from either device, but when I try to play it will not recognize the CD (either disc 1 or 2), and terminates the application. The game is trying to read the D: drive even if I install using the CD-RW (E: Drive). I have had this game for 18 months waiting to play (my older system would not handle it).

I can provide you more system specs but I do not think that is the issue.

Please help.

Creature / Dave

Waldo.Pepper
07-23-2006, 11:09 PM
Ubi Solution Center (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1109&p_created=1046901133&p_sid=-4h4qkBh&p_lva=10061&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29yd D0mcF9yb3dfY250PTEyJnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9c2VhcmNoX25 sJnBfcHJvZF9sdmwxPTg4JnBfcHJvZF9sdmwyPTIyNCZwX2Nhd F9sdmwxPSZwX2NhdF9sdmwyPSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=)

M2morris
07-24-2006, 01:28 AM
Somebody will probably say this is a simple dumb idea, but I found it worked for me when I had your problem so the hell with them;
I went to: my computer, then to C drive, then to program files, then to ubisoft, then to IL2FB, then Il2 setup, then I chose directX instead of openGL, and it worked.

slipBall
07-24-2006, 03:33 AM
Hi, follow the direction's at this link
http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/end...ZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li= (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1109&p_created=1046901133&p_sid=-4h4qkBh&p_lva=10061&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29yd D0mcF9yb3dfY250PTEyJnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9c2VhcmNoX25 sJnBfcHJvZF9sdmwxPTg4JnBfcHJvZF9sdmwyPTIyNCZwX2Nhd F9sdmwxPSZwX2NhdF9sdmwyPSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=)

good luck

Creature2U
07-24-2006, 07:42 AM
Thanks but my rts.dll file is 1,279 kb in size, and we are talking PF not IL2 FB (maybe it is not suppose to matter?)

slipBall
07-24-2006, 09:37 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Creature2U:
Thanks but my rts.dll file is 1,279 kb in size, and we are talking PF not IL2 FB (maybe it is not suppose to matter?) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I think that you need the 104kb, move the 1279kb some where, you could alway's move it back, if 104 does not work. Remember to also put the 104 in your ubi folder, as well as in the pf folder

steve_v
07-24-2006, 01:15 PM
Well known error to PF, both standalone and merged. Fix is here Ubisoft Solution Center (http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=10061&p_created=1099077749&p_sid=3_uGGxsh&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PWRmbHQmcF9ncmlkc29yd D0mcF9yb3dfY250PTQmcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1zZWFyY2hfbmw mcF9wcm9kX2x2bDE9ODgmcF9wcm9kX2x2bDI9MTEyOCZwX2Nhd F9sdmwxPSZwX2NhdF9sdmwyPSZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=)

Creature2U
07-25-2006, 12:39 AM
Thanks folks, that file did the trick. Now I have a joystick issue to work through, looks like a hardware problem with the Z rotation on my old FFB2 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif