PDA

View Full Version : Perfect Video Setting Unavailable



XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 07:59 AM
Hi there

I am running a lower end system /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif and just noticed that the following video options are actually "grayed" out and not selectable on my machine.

1. Landscape Lighting - Excellent
2. Landscape Detail - Perfect

Not that I could play the game with those settings but wondering what is limiting their selection. I am guessing it is a memory issue, does the game check to see what sort of hardware there is installed and gray it out if things are not up to speed? I plan to build a new P4 3.06Ghz system in about 2 months /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif and hope I can use some of my existing drives/video card?? any ideas??

System Specs.

PIII 850Mhz
384M SDRAM
GF4 4200 Ti 64M
C: 8.5G WD
D: 60G 7200rpm WD
SB Live 5.1
Abit BE6 MB
Samsung 957MB 19" monitor
Win XP Pro with SP1

Home of "Beggar's Canyon" Mission Download
http://home.comcast.net/~robertvv/

Message Edited on 08/22/0312:04AM by Barra-Cuda

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 07:59 AM
Hi there

I am running a lower end system /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif and just noticed that the following video options are actually "grayed" out and not selectable on my machine.

1. Landscape Lighting - Excellent
2. Landscape Detail - Perfect

Not that I could play the game with those settings but wondering what is limiting their selection. I am guessing it is a memory issue, does the game check to see what sort of hardware there is installed and gray it out if things are not up to speed? I plan to build a new P4 3.06Ghz system in about 2 months /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif and hope I can use some of my existing drives/video card?? any ideas??

System Specs.

PIII 850Mhz
384M SDRAM
GF4 4200 Ti 64M
C: 8.5G WD
D: 60G 7200rpm WD
SB Live 5.1
Abit BE6 MB
Samsung 957MB 19" monitor
Win XP Pro with SP1

Home of "Beggar's Canyon" Mission Download
http://home.comcast.net/~robertvv/

Message Edited on 08/22/0312:04AM by Barra-Cuda

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 08:09 AM
Perfect-setting is available in open-GL mode in your setup

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 08:11 AM
im not sure if u can run perfect settings. but to have those options avaiable, play in : open gl, 32 bit, stencil buffer on, see if that works...

<center>

http://members.cox.net/jakevas/thepic.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 08:56 AM
Ahhh - Stencil buffer! That's the culprit!!!!! Got it and it is now selectable but the thing runs it like a slide projector /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif , need that new P4, mem and Mobo. Should have it all working by the time V1.1c/d/e/... comes out! LOL!!!

Thanks!


Home of "Beggar's Canyon" mission Download.

http://home.comcast.net/~robertvv/

XyZspineZyX
08-22-2003, 09:08 AM
no prob. i couldnt get mine to work at 1st either.

<center>

http://members.cox.net/jakevas/thepic.jpg