PDA

View Full Version : Which is Better for a someone totally new to flight sim

sucka28
02-18-2005, 07:05 AM
WOuld enjoy Pacific Fighters more or IL-2.

I am totally new to flight and flight sim.

EURO_Snoopy
02-18-2005, 07:11 AM
Try the demo first IL2 demo (ftp://ftp.ubisoft.com/games/il2sturmovik/demo/il2demov20.zip)

If you like that have a look through this site (http://www.airwarfare.com/) to learn about IL2 FB and PF, then you will be able to decide what you want

sucka28
02-18-2005, 07:17 AM
Is Pacific Fighters a stand alone game or an add-on to IL-2?

Sorry if I sound stupid, but Like i said im totally new to this

indylavi
02-18-2005, 07:19 AM
Depends on certain things like if you have a flight stick or not. You could get the IL2FB gold pack and a cheap stick for about $50. So you kill two birds with 1 stone there. You'll also get a lot more content with the Gold Pack than with just PF by itself. However, it really depends on what your interests are. I perfer the Eastern and Western front myself. Other perfer Naval Aircraft and the PTO. PF is a STAND ALONE sim. However if you do buy The Gold Pack along with Pacific Fighters you can merge them into one big game. But PF is a Stand Alone product

DeerHunterUK
02-18-2005, 07:20 AM
Can't argue with trying the demo 1st, if you enjoy it then I'd buy PF (and try to get IL-2 Forgotten Battles Gold pack to use the aircraft that that game has) that way you'll have no problems finding people to play with\against online.

sucka28
02-18-2005, 07:21 AM
Actually I have a flight stick (some logitech one that works well for me).

I have IL-2 and Ace Expansion pack. I don't have Pacific Fighters though.

I've had IL-2 for a few days, and find it pretty difficult. I suck at it. I've just been practcing with the custom "make your own" missions.

Thanks again.

sucka28
02-18-2005, 07:27 AM
Also im confused about If i wanted to get pacific fighters, is it a separate game or an expansion pack?

WOLFMondo
02-18-2005, 07:32 AM