PDA

View Full Version : Anybody having any luck with MSFFB2?



XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:19 AM
I just bought one last night, and I'm having no luck with it. The software for it constantly resets itself to whatever it pleases, and the self-centering force seems sort of intermittant, leading to some fancy unplanned manuevers. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Is it just me, or is this things not very compatible with XP and FB?

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:19 AM
I just bought one last night, and I'm having no luck with it. The software for it constantly resets itself to whatever it pleases, and the self-centering force seems sort of intermittant, leading to some fancy unplanned manuevers. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_eek.gif

Is it just me, or is this things not very compatible with XP and FB?

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:31 AM
You do not need install any programs for that in XP.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:34 AM
Wait for the Master of MSFFB2: RayBanJockey.
He knows everything abouth this joystick and he'll help you for sure!

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:35 AM
Strange...

I'm using this stick since IL2 on the third PC now, From Win98 to XP. Installed the standard 4.0 software (it works in XP, and without it I had no possibility to configure the forces...) and never had any problems with it. Can't imagine how it would be without FFB.

But I really have now idea how to help you, sorry.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:51 AM
The programming software is not supported by XP. Microsoft stated a while ago that they will not make further updates for this stick...ever. Consequently they suck. But the stick works well on XP without the programming software since the drive is allready installed but the only major downside to it is that you wont be able to map buttons and stuff. Im runnin it on 98 and works well.

LUFTWAFFE (R) is a copyright of Hermann Goering, (c) 1935. All rights reserved.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:54 AM
Hi. First if you have trouble with the forces ( too har forces or too lame ) go here and get fedit http://yaim.host.sk/

you can change the force effects with that program.
(remember to make back up copy of your original force settings)

Secondly try these sensitivity settings

Pitch 5 13 23 33 43 53 64 76 88 100
Roll 5 9 15 23 31 42 54 67 83 100
Yaw 3 7 11 17 28 38 49 65 82 100

And 3dr as said you do not need the program that came with the joystick. Some people are having problems with it and XP. I´m using it but hey, it works for me.

Those sensitivity settings are mine and not ready yet but they can get you started if the default dosen´t feel right. Those sens settings are for german planes.

Good luck

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:56 AM
wont center properly = dead and cant be adjusted http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

msffb are good paperweights or fun to kill ants with

<center>http://www.freewebs.com/leadspitter/LS1.txt
Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter</center>

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 09:57 AM
I think the FFB2 works with XP just fine! Been flying mine now for two years! Did it come with the update? Mine came with second update disc! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif if not check for the update/patch on the web!

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 11:15 AM
MSFFB2 and Sidewinder 4.x works fine in XP.

Tip:

Install the software BEFORE you plug stick in.

If you go to desktop for any reason from FB the centre force dies. This is a FB issue (doesn't support it) but reflying will bring forces back.

Some other games have problems with the forces, evident from the MS Knowledgebase, but my personal experience and that of several others is good with the MSFFB2

MSFFB1 does not have software that works under Win2k or XP, I think this is too often misinterpreted to mean all sticks.

In previous communication with Raybanjockey he stated that he had a particular issue, and accepted that this may not apply to all.

I guess the rule is:

1. If using Mobo with VIA chip set get update (http://www.gamevoice.com/swdownloads/swupdate/ff2/ff2download/65180/swff2qfe1.exe)
2. Uninstall stick if already installed (unplug it too).
3. Install Sidewinder software V4
4. Plug in stick
5. Configure/Profile.

If issues then arise repeat above and skip step 3.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 11:30 AM
do not useb the softwarw that comes with the stick...uninstall it unplug your stick,,re boot.. plug in the stick DO NOT INSTALL SOFTWARE..itll work fine ..mine does after this simple process

http://images.ar15.com/forums/smiles/anim_sniper2.gif
U.S INFANTRY 1984-1991

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 11:45 AM
Installing the software is fine and recommended. The benefit is profiling, setting stick forces, etc...

As correctly suggested:
Be sure to install the software first as the instructions say.

Ignore the ones that can't figure this out and do it right - doing it right is always the best way http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

S!
609IAP_Recon

Forgotten Skies Virtual War
Forum: http://fogwar.luftwaffe.net/forums/index.php
Website: http://www.forgottenskies.com
Visit 609IAP at http://takeoff.to/609IAP

http://www.leeboats.com/609/sig/609_recon3.jpg

Agnus Dei, Qui Tollis peccata mundi, Miserere nobis. Dona nobis pacem

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 12:03 PM
yep do as recon says BUT if it dont work do as i sugest ......~S~ recon

http://images.ar15.com/forums/smiles/anim_sniper2.gif
U.S INFANTRY 1984-1991

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 12:14 PM
I tried the software but it made my stick go "on top of the pyramid" Don't need the software anyway (with XP). You'll need a CH Pro Throttle USB to go with the MSFFB2 (requirement in FB to be an ace unlike IL2). And yes, you'll benifit from modifying each and every one of the FB FFB files (make sure you have all the defaults saved somewhere else though...the spring file once opened will not be anywhere near the same even if you don't touch anything). The default forces are way too hard. I modify each and every one, to where the most I will ever experience is a pleasant vibrating feeling. Also you can mod the spring file forward so you can fly with more back trim, and thus turn harder than most people. (calibrate the stick 1/5 back too for the other half of the RBJ ShiftT)

"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 12:20 PM
Isn't it amazing what a menagerie of disinformation a simple question elicits?

Thankfully some of the later posts are dead right: MSFFB2 DOES WORK with IL2/IL2FB and XP. Sure if you use native XP drivers you lose some functionality in key mapping, but if you install the old drivers before you plug in, you can do the key mapping. Also, stick centering DOES work, but if you ALT+TAB to desktop from within the game you lose FFB for the duration of your mission. And re RBJ's comments about editing FFB configs - I use stock standard configs and it feels fine to me - maybe I have muscles though!

The MSFFB2 stick is solid, durable (I've had mine for 5 years through Falcon4, IL2, IL2FB and a million demos and three OS versions). As long as you don't throw it at the cat and you power it properly, chances are you will get similar performance out of it to me.

Have fun!
IV/JG7_4Shades




Message Edited on 10/23/0307:23PM by FourShades

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 01:04 PM
I have been using an MSFFB for almost 6 years in combat sims. The FFB1 version had a problem where if you got a little "too into it" while playing you would break the stick by twisting it too hard to the left. The FFB2 solved this problem (heavier and more durable) but both versions suffer from buttons that wear out if you play hard (like me). I have gone through about 4 sticks. The worst is when your trigger button wears out, and you click it but nothing happens till you press harder. For combat aces this is a big no-no. You need the guns to fire on a hair trigger for those 500km/h deflection shots. I have stayed with MSFFB though because when it is going good it's the best stick in the world.

"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 01:29 PM
Did you try to check the solderings on the firebutton switch RBJ?

My FFB2 firebutton began to behave erratically, and all I had to do was to resolder the switch's connections to the printboard.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 02:03 PM
FFB2 works absolutely fine on my XP install over here. I use the software that came with it to map macros to buttons 3 and 4, again, no problem.

Don't forget that sometimes when flying the ffb and resisitance drop to simulate low air speeds.





<HR>
<center>http://www.misterwright.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/brockyaksig.jpg
<FONT SIZE="1" COLOR="#CCCCCC">Me on my hols in Russia</FONT></center>

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 02:09 PM
Thanks for all the input guys. This all started when I noticed yesterday that all of a sudden I couldn't a bull's posterior with a bass fiddle -- with any plane or guns. Turned out my old Logitech Wingman 3D had developed a bunch of play at dead center. Recognizing a plausible excuse to buy a new toy, I ran out and got the MSFFB.

While I was waiting to see what this thread turned up, I tore the Logitech open and put a washer under the center spring, effectively removing the excess play. So one way or the other I have a functional stick today.

One other question on the FFB; I'm also using a CH Pro Throttle and Pedals, so I don't need the Z-axis on the stick. Is there a way to lock it out? I'm not seeing anything obvious.

XyZspineZyX
10-23-2003, 03:19 PM
mswantak wrote:

- One other question on the FFB; I'm also using a CH
- Pro Throttle and Pedals, so I don't need the Z-axis
- on the stick. Is there a way to lock it out? I'm not
- seeing anything obvious.
-
-
Just don't map it to anything!

Or set it up as your rudder trim, as mine is.
I have to say though that I am aware that from time to time I do accidentally, or enthusiastically, twist the stick so I don't know where rudder neutral is any more /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif