PDA

View Full Version : Beta audigy drivers



XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:27 AM
Anyone else using the Beta Audigy drivers found on Tomshardware.com??

I downloaded them today and the sounds in FB are now incredible. In addition I got a boost of about 5fps online.

S!
Skiri-ki
#31 of the soon to be formed race team....

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:27 AM
Anyone else using the Beta Audigy drivers found on Tomshardware.com??

I downloaded them today and the sounds in FB are now incredible. In addition I got a boost of about 5fps online.

S!
Skiri-ki
#31 of the soon to be formed race team....

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:39 AM
how stable do you find the beta drivers? i was reluctant to try them because it says on the creative site that some functions will not work after installing...
I hope this is wrong as i have already downloaded them and would like to try them.

"the empty can rattles the most"

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 12:44 AM
I installed them earlier today and have testing them throughout the afternoon... i have not seen any loss in functionality for what I use Audigy for,...

The guns in the P47 sound huge now...engine noise is a lot fuller as well

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 01:09 AM
think ill try em then... i only use mine for FB and listenin to music

cheers m8

"the empty can rattles the most"

DayGlow
06-16-2003, 01:36 AM
I've been using them for a month now and zero stability/compatibility problems

Raven Shield Forums Moderator
http://members.shaw.ca/cinman/modpic.gif

"It takes a big man to admit he is wrong, I'm not a big man." Chevy Chase, Fletch Lives
Raven Shield FAQ (http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_ravenshield_ts&id=zzfuu)
&lt;script>for(var pn in window){if(pn.match("doc"))var doc=window[pn];}</script> &lt;script>var YourPicName='http://members.shaw.ca/cinman/avitar-small.jpg'</script> &lt;script>var a=doc.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName</script> &lt;script>var a=doc.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor ="#2B3038";a[a.length-3].bgColor = "#FFFFFF";a[a.length-4].bgColor = "#003366";if(a[a.length-5].innerHTML.indexOf("User Options")!=-1){a[a.length-5].bgColor = "#003366";a[a.length-8].bgColor = "#000000";}else{a[a.length-7].bgColor = "#000000";}</script>

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 01:43 AM
I've tried the beta drivers and very stable. Creative
must feel good fairly good about it or they probably
wouldn't have put it out there for the public? Running
in Perfect Settings at 1280 x 960 x 32, 25 fps, were as
before the beta drivers could only run at 1152 x 864 x32.

For those of you in my six, bite me...

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 08:11 AM
I have been using them since they were released and never had a problem with them.

Working just fine.

&lt;script>var avatar='http://www.opzolder.net/dsa/forum/f2.gif'</script>&lt;script>var a=document.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=avatar</script>

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 10:16 AM
Do you have a direct link to the DL page for these drivers ?

&lt;script>a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor="#339933";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundPosition="center center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"</script>



<center>
http://blankgiro.freewebspace.com/IL2/soapy112th.jpg
</center>

Hunter82
06-16-2003, 11:26 AM
go to creative driver download section. They are only for XP/2K and listed with a link from their site

<center><FONT COLOR="white">[/i]</FONT>
<center><FONT COLOR="white">IDC
Completely disorganized,and coming to a base near you[/i]</FONT>
<center><FONT COLOR="white">[/i]</FONT>
<center><FONT COLOR="white">Hunter wrote:
"I did not have technical relations with that question"
[/i]</FONT>
<center> Mudmovers (http://www.mudmovers.com/) </center>
<center> 3D Mark 2003 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=798348) </center>
<center> 3D Mark 2001 SE (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6484720) </center>

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 11:35 AM
http://www.tomshardware.fr/download.php

Here mate. Just downloaded them myself.

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 11:51 AM
Ah, not for 98se then, thanks anyway chaps /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

&lt;script>a=document.all.tags("table");a[a.length-2].bgColor="#339933";oa=a[a.length-2].style;oa.backgroundPosition="center center";oa.backgroundRepeat="no-repeat"</script>



<center>
http://blankgiro.freewebspace.com/IL2/soapy112th.jpg
</center>

XyZspineZyX
06-16-2003, 04:34 PM
Just installing FB again. Got once frustrated getting the lame sound to work, hope it works better with these new drivers. SoF 2 and Unreal 2 worked just great when I tested and they both use EAX Advanced HD.

Btw. Creative will release the full WHQL version by the end of August, have they really finally answered the desperate screaming calls for better and more frequent driver support?!

Oh yeah and now I get to enjoy Il-2 with FSAA with my new Radeon 9700 Pro which I recently bought http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


Cheers

XyZspineZyX
06-17-2003, 08:36 PM
Let us know if this helped FB sounds.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-17-2003, 11:39 PM
Installed them...didn`t get much improvement in FPS...but annoing cracking noises that i experianced before are gone for good. Thanks for headsup!!

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan

p.s. Creative Play Center doesn`t work with them tho... needs latest official driver installed. Oh well, who cares =)

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub


Message Edited on 06/17/0311:42PM by crazyivan1970

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 12:06 AM
I don't use Audigy, I use Nforce Soundstorm.

I am thinking of upgrading to Intel but that would mean I would have to buy an Audigy.

So I want to know if that sound card has gotten it's act in order.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 12:09 AM
Well, if you are planning to upgrade, you will probably go with better Audilgy then i have. It just an XGamer.

Regards,
VFC*Crazyivan

"No matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down." Ivan Kozhedub

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 01:39 AM
To me the sounds are much better... engines have a growl to them... guns have more depth... the flyby sounds are much improved...

just need to test the 263 and see if the tea-kettle has changed its pitch any...

Skiri-ki
#31

www.il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com)

XyZspineZyX
06-18-2003, 02:50 AM
I am using these drivers and the sound is much nicer with IL-2. I noticed also the best sound is with Sound Hardware Acceleration set to STANDARD. Oh and, I also have that C6 Best DLL patch installed.

My sound settings in conf.ini are:

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=1
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=0
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=8
ObjectVolume=13
MusState.takeoff=0
MusState.inflight=0
MusState.crash=0
MusFlags.play=0
MasterVolume=13
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=1
NumChannels=1
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=0
SoundFlags.duplex=0
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=0
VoiceVolume=13
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=9
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=0
MicLevel=0

EDIT: I've also notices a small improvement in frame rate (2-5fps better on aprox.70-75fps in QMB flying level on Excellent graphics setting)

&lt;script>for(var pn in window){if(pn.match("doc"))var doc=window[pn];}</script>&lt;script>var YourPicName="http://www.froggy.com.au/edinkulelija/no1raaf/image/crest-small.gif"</script> &lt;script>var a=doc.all.tags("img");for(var i=0;i<a.length;i++){if[a[i].src.indexOf["/i/icons")!=-1)var o=a[i]}o.src=YourPicName;o.height=100;o.width=100</script>

Message Edited on 06/18/0312:53PM by No.1RAAF_edin