PDA

View Full Version : I need impressions about a "smooth" 6800 Nvidia and FB ! PLS!!



Jim81
10-06-2004, 04:11 PM
Hi mates..im considering to give my old great 9700 pro to my brother in the place of his raddy 8500 and i would like to buy a new 6800..but..i think i ll catch a normal 6800 and then with rivatuner i ll try to enable the other pipelines and vertex shader unit... i hope i ll benefit of this change !

i d like to know impressions of a person who s actually playing with a 6800 (not GT neither Ultra ) and FB !

Hunter82
10-06-2004, 04:54 PM
Just a FYI... most new cards both from Nvidia and ATI are not overclocking well due to memory. Basically most are able to do slight overclocks on them due to poor yields... You may want to reconsider the 128 card and get the 256 as most games in the near future will need the extra memory.

Jim81
10-06-2004, 06:39 PM
i see...but you think that with this sistem a 6800 would be wasted ?

Barton 2500@3200

512 + 512 Mb Ddr 400Mhz Geil (Dual Channel)

NF7 - S

you know my choice now would be an AGP card..so i should keep this sistem for long..cause i will not be able to upgrade Cpu and Mobo with a old AGP video Card !

don t know what to do http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

By the way i think i ll wait for the Release of Pacific fighters and i ll choose the video card in order to see the highest level for water http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

PS: i would love to change my entire sistem in time for BOB when is it expected ? is it a complete different game with much more heavy requirements ?? sorry..for all this questions !

thanks you all !

LuckyBoy1
10-06-2004, 06:48 PM
Absolute waste of money as it relates to this game to try and run that 6800 and get the good out of it with that CPU.

SlickStick
10-06-2004, 07:51 PM
Wow, graphics card manufacturers must LOVE gamers, lol.

With that system, set-up correctly, that 9700PRO should be smoking in this game as it is right now, before PF.

I've been flying a GF2 GTS since IL2 and although I have to run at 1024x768x32, with Stencil Buffer off, S3TC on and no vert sync, I can achieve a respectable frame rate on all Excellent, except for terrain on medium.

Perfect mode is over-rated, IMO. I'd rather be on all excellent and have that extra graphics bandwidth power for heavy dogfighting or co-ops when the action gets heavy.

But, that's just me. I'm an online competitor first, eye candy enthusiast a distant second. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Jim81
10-07-2004, 05:26 AM
Well the 9700 pro..still rocks at this game infact i give it to my brother to make him play with perfect mode !

hei luky boy..if you think a 6800 gt would be wasted..what CPu should i get ??

a person on this forum told me there s no difference between a 3000 64 bit and a 3200 barton with this video card ! and higher cpu are very expensive now..considering also the fact i should buy a new motherboard..so maybe would be better waste some power than some money http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

The.Tyke
10-07-2004, 12:54 PM
Hey Jim,
You've got a similar set up to mine,although I exchanged my 5900 U for 6800GT. But I am dissapointed that the 6800 GT has'nt been much improvement.

LuckyBoy1
10-07-2004, 03:40 PM
I'm making the grand assumption your CPU has less cache than a higher clocked from the factory chip. I don't know, nor will I investigate what your motherboard will support. That would be your job. However, my advice is to always, and especially now, get the most out of what you've got. Still, even the strongest of your chips that will go on that motherboard are about as strong as a 2.8 GHz Intel 800 MHz front side buss chip and that's just barely, and just, just barely good enough to push the good out of the new cards. Put the responses you get to the contrary completely out of your mind. I'm giving you the lowest possible figures it will take to really get the true jumps in performance you are looking for. As far as this one or that one being "as good " as a "AMD64..." which AMD64? I'd avise holding off on going AMD64 until you can get the 1MB cache 939 one. The rest I beat with my Intel 3.2 Prescott (me little stir fry cooker!) (which by the way, I wouldn't advise as well). You don't see steve v getting stupid with upgrades right now do you? I only did it due to catastrphic failure of the old rig. You have three choices and I'd take the first and wait for the whole buggy 64 thing to settle out...

1) Get the fastest, mostest of cache CPU your motherboard will take and don't get cheap on this one.

2) Northwood Intel 3.4 or better

3) 939 pin AMD64


Sorry about the harsh tone of this post because I just know that regardless of how I phrase it, the whiners will cry. However, I'm speaking plainly as a good friend would if he was telling you something very important, ok?

Jim81
10-07-2004, 05:37 PM
Thanks mates ! really..you re very competent people and i feel really in good hands !! well for now i would prefer not to change my mobo and Cpu , cause i would prefer waiting for lower prices for the newest cpu and new kinds of motherboards ! October will be really a hot month for new mobos ! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

so my choice its for now to buy a "normal" 6800 that s enough for me and hoping to enable more pipelines with Riva Tuner.

but i dont know what is the best version for a 6800 128 mb : i have these choices :

1 - leadtek
2 - Albatron
3 - PoV (point of view)
4 - Asus

who is the best ?? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

LuckyBoy1
10-07-2004, 07:24 PM
The odd, but when you think about it, not so odd thing about motherboards or any other of these components is that reading reviews and getting advice in the end is very general. Why? Because the manufacturer gets a good reputation and rides on it until they lose it and then they put out another good run of boards and without even changing model numbers, they start to backslide on quality again. So, what to do? Well, I hate to promote one company over others. I get absolutely no favors from them by doing so and it would be nice to have a list of them, but it ain't so. If anyone knows of another company that does this, please let me know! You need a seller that tests the lot runs in the game of IL-2 FB and I know of only one company that does this....

www.magnum-pc.com (http://www.magnum-pc.com)

and then, if you go and buy that model number board, but not from the lot recommended... well, like the preacher said in the movie "Blazing Saddles"...


Son, you're on your own! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif