PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion for a good stick



XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 02:40 PM
Hi!
I'm gonna buy a new stick but I will keep the x45 throttle.
Could you please suggest an accurate stick with enough buttons?
Thx!

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 02:40 PM
Hi!
I'm gonna buy a new stick but I will keep the x45 throttle.
Could you please suggest an accurate stick with enough buttons?
Thx!

Tully__
07-27-2003, 04:03 PM
Stick choice is a lot to do with personal preference so it's hard to be right with a single recommendation. Anything from the following that feels good to you will do:

Microsoft
Saitek
CH Products
Thrustmaster

I recommend you test fly before you buy if your local stores offer the service.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> The "under performing planes" thread (http://www.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=35;t=007540) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </center>
<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 04:16 PM
Thanks!
You see I got a X45 but my stick broke!
I don't wanna change the setup of how I'm playing, so I'm looking for a stick like the one X45 has with the same buttons approximately (programmable if possible).

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 04:48 PM
Why don't you just buy another X45? You seem to like it.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
Gunther Rall

<center>
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/rall4.jpg

Tully__
07-27-2003, 04:56 PM
Or contact Saitek, I've heard they're quite good with hardware support.

<center> ================================================== ========================= </center>

<center> <img src=http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg> </center>

<center> The "under performing planes" thread (http://www.simhq.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=35;t=007540) /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif </center>
<center> Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm) </center>


Salut
Tully

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 06:59 PM
yep, they make a good FFB stick for a good price:


http://www.saitek.com/


http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_01.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 07:09 PM
Hello,

I have the Saitek X45 and the Microsoft Sidewinder FFB 2.
I use the Saitek's throttle with the MS stick and it's a very good combination. The MS Sidewinder FFB2 is very precise and has good FFB effects. Also, you can use its throttle for prop-pitch and the sliders on the X45's throttle for trimming. It has 8 buttons, so in combination with the throttle you have enough of them. If that aren't enough buttons for you, you can still put the X45 stick next to its throttle and use its buttons, too.

I hope this is helpful for you,

Pilot99

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 07:49 PM
Best Buy's MSff2 49.99,Buy MS new Flight Sim.I had mine for 3yrs. no problems.love it!

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 07:52 PM
Pilot99 wrote:
- Hello,
-
- I have the Saitek X45 and the Microsoft Sidewinder
- FFB 2.
- I use the Saitek's throttle with the MS stick and
- it's a very good combination.

How do you use both controllers at the same time?

http://utenti.lycos.it/AEREOFAN/images/saetta.jpg

caccia buon!

<center>http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/images/mash_henry_blake.jpg (http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_quiz/)</center>

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 08:13 PM
mike_espo wrote:

- How do you use both controllers at the same time?

Hello,

it's very simple: Plug both controllers in the USB scart (and install the drivers, of course), and open IL2 (FB). Go to the "Controls" menu (I think that's its name because I don't have the English version of the game) where you can assign the buttons and axis. Go to the end of the list to the "HOTAS" section where you can assign the axis. Click e.g. next to "throttle" and move the Saitek's throttle. Now you can use the throttle for IL2 (FB). You can do so with all other axis (e.g. proppitch, trim, flaps...). If the axis is moving the wrong way (you push the throttle forward, in game it's moved backwards) go to the HOTAS section again and move it in the oter direcrion. You can do so with all buttons in the "Controls" menu, too

I hope this answers your question and isn't too long /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Pilot99

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 08:15 PM
How is it broke? i emailed the UK support after mine had a microswitch go well out of warranty and they popped a freebie in the post for me /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

There are 2 good sticks

One is the X45 and the other is the one you cane RBJ with.

XyZspineZyX
07-27-2003, 09:47 PM
Taylortony wrote:

- There are 2 good sticks
-
- One is the X45 and the other is the one you cane RBJ
- with.
-

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-28-2003, 02:54 AM
I have the same setup...there is a profile for the setup on my site..... you are welcome to try it if you like. I do have CH pedals so if you dont have pedals you may have to reassign the rudder axis.

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
07-28-2003, 01:29 PM
Hello Bearcat99,

thanks for your homepage and the profile, but I think I can't use it because I use the Y-axis of the X45 for Rudder control.
It's because I have some Simped-rudderpedals which don't work, so I linked them with the X45 stick so if I move the pedals they move the X45 stick. So the stick is on the floor with the pedals and I can't use its buttons.
I use the buttons on the X45 throttle and the ones on the MS SW FFB2 ,the sliders on the throttle for trim and the Sidewinder's throttle for Proppitch. I still use the keyboard, but I think that's realistick because in reality there weren't many buttons on the sticks.
How did you arrange your joysticks? I have a desk with a plate under it for the keyboard. On this plate are on the left the X45 throttle, in the middle the SW FFB2 and on the right the mouse. On the upper plarte I glued the keyboard in front of the monitor, so it's easy to reach. I chose this positions for the parts because I think it's more realistic for old planes that the stick is in the middle than on the right.

Pilot99